Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2009
Prior to this new release I spent months trying to find this classic text, it was well worth the search. I have an extensive collection of books on Witchcraft yet this book is one of the few I would not part with. It proved an invaluable tool to both learn from and return to. The writing is simple and genuine, no need for flowery language to make you believe the author is Fey. Doreen Valiente is the real thing. The book harks back to Witchcraft (pre Gardinerian and Alexandrian)that is the legacy of solitary practitioners, rather than Coven based. The spells are adaptable with the emphasis on drawing power from the earth, elements and above all yourself. If you feel drawn to a natural approach to magic rather than a more structured and ritualised path then this is the book for you. Blessed Be
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2000
It has been said that Gerald Gardener was the father of modern day witchcraft, if this is true, then Doreen Valentine is certainly the mother ! Doreen Valentines books have a magical romantic quality, while teaching theory as well as practical magic and wiccan religion - This book is no exception. Though fairly old now, this book teaches most of the basics of witchcraft, with colourful histories and the theory behind each practise. Unlike most modern books, Doreen's books don't try to disguise what is basic principals behind lengthy rhymes and other such drivel. This book has some top quality poetry in it, as well as valuable information. I recommend it to those who are interested in witchcraft, I would recommend that those interested in high or ceremonial magick steer well clear. In short Natural Magic is a wonderful tome of poetry, history, theory and practical witchcraft.
0Comment|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2001
With so many spell books available these days (which I take a small amount of responsibility for), you get the sense that many published witches (or non witches writing on the subject) are moving in an ever decreasing spiral, simply quoting and misquoting eachother. Doreen gives us the chance to open the circle.
She realised that for magic to remain meaningful we must understand its role in so many successive generations and cultures. Only then can we add to and develop the knowledge already gathered in print.
This book reminds us what magic is for: empowering and protecting ourselves, using our imagination, concentration and faith, and the Spirit present in all things natural. Really, we don't need madly expensive ritual tools and rare blooms, even if they do photograph beautifully.
This is also a liberating book for anyone who feels ungrounded or lost, due to something generally described as "progress". May it inspire you to move to the countryside or at least to visit occasionally. Once there, kick your shoes off and dance with bare feet. It might just change your life.
33 comments|140 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
This is a great book,very down to earth style and full of lots of interesting magical bits and pieces.
It is not a 'spellbook' where there are lots to try (If looking for that,read Dorothy morrison's 'Everyday magic',Scott cunninghams 'Earth power' or Cassandra eason's 'complete book of spells')although it does contain a handful of traditional spells and a brilliant introduction to candle magic.It's a gentle,simple,'magic of the common folk' kind of book.
There are chapters on mind magic,the magic of dreams,magic of the elements(where scrying is mentioned),weather omens,charms and talimans,and a chapter covering playing card divination(where the author gives details of possibly the oldest method used in England)and more.
A must read for witches.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2004
I first came across this book in my local library. It summed up everything I had felt and known for years about my spirituality. It is totally accessible and doesn't bog the reader down in heavy doctrine. The theory can come later. It is a perfect introduction to natural magic in the world around us and which can be used on a day to day basis as much of the thought can slip easily into your everyday life. If you have always felt at one with the earth, buy this!
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2008
I bought this a very long time ago thinking it was a handbook of natural magic, but was surprised to find that it was actually a very interesting piece about various themes within witchcraft.

The title is a little bit of a misnomer seeing as it's actually describing magic itself as 'natural' rather than the book being about it specifically. However, 'Natural Magic' does go into a variety of what one would deem 'natural magic' topics, but Ms Valiente does so in a more mythological/historical context than a practical one. This is no bad thing; in fact I think this makes the book far more useful than any handbook could be! Importantly, Valiente expounds clearly and efficiently information of interest whilst leaving room for further study.

I particularly enjoyed the discussion of divination via playing cards a la the cunning folk -- she gives some instructions on how to read them from an older source. I also loved the bits on numerology where Valiente provides one with a reference on how to figure out ones lucky number. The engravings and illustrations also lend the piece a very arcane feel.

The topics covered within the book are many, and Valiente often goes off onto related topics under one uniform heading i.e. in the chapter titled `magic of birds and animals' she talks not only about animals but horned gods (Pan, for example) and his role in the wild woods etc.

The contents consists of: magic of the mind, magic of the four elements, magic of herbs and flowers, magic of numbers, magic of colours, magic of talismans and amulets, magic of sex, magic of dreams, magic of the weather, magic of the cards, magic of birds and animals and traditional spells.

Highly recommend for all Witches and Pagans.
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2005
If I had to recommend one book to a person starting on the neo-wiccan path it would be this one. A wonderful collection of wisdom and information that should not be missed.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
Very good book, very instructive, received right on time and in a perfect state!
If you want to know more about Wicca, this book is one of the basics.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
I really like this easy-to-read book that gives lots of ideas about working with the natural world. I am not new to the craft but still got a lot from this book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
This book is a must have for all people with an interest in the planet and its mysteries. Herbs, oils, nature, wishes - this book is an old favourite.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)