Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to basics
With so many spell books available these days (which I take a small amount of responsibility for), you get the sense that many published witches (or non witches writing on the subject) are moving in an ever decreasing spiral, simply quoting and misquoting eachother. Doreen gives us the chance to open the circle.
She realised that for magic to remain meaningful we...
Published on 11 Jan 2001

versus
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rambling & superficial text. May be good if you know absolutely nothing about occult practices.
I was really quite disappointed with this book as Valiente is one of the great names in Wicca. I found the text rambles way too much, goes into the author's personal opinions and anecdotes way too much, and gives one only a very superficial insight into the various types of magic discussed (and I would suggest that this is by no means an exhaustive list of ways to commune...
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 131 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to basics, 11 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
With so many spell books available these days (which I take a small amount of responsibility for), you get the sense that many published witches (or non witches writing on the subject) are moving in an ever decreasing spiral, simply quoting and misquoting eachother. Doreen gives us the chance to open the circle.
She realised that for magic to remain meaningful we must understand its role in so many successive generations and cultures. Only then can we add to and develop the knowledge already gathered in print.
This book reminds us what magic is for: empowering and protecting ourselves, using our imagination, concentration and faith, and the Spirit present in all things natural. Really, we don't need madly expensive ritual tools and rare blooms, even if they do photograph beautifully.
This is also a liberating book for anyone who feels ungrounded or lost, due to something generally described as "progress". May it inspire you to move to the countryside or at least to visit occasionally. Once there, kick your shoes off and dance with bare feet. It might just change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for begginers and the more experienced witch., 28 July 2000
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
It has been said that Gerald Gardener was the father of modern day witchcraft, if this is true, then Doreen Valentine is certainly the mother ! Doreen Valentines books have a magical romantic quality, while teaching theory as well as practical magic and wiccan religion - This book is no exception. Though fairly old now, this book teaches most of the basics of witchcraft, with colourful histories and the theory behind each practise. Unlike most modern books, Doreen's books don't try to disguise what is basic principals behind lengthy rhymes and other such drivel. This book has some top quality poetry in it, as well as valuable information. I recommend it to those who are interested in witchcraft, I would recommend that those interested in high or ceremonial magick steer well clear. In short Natural Magic is a wonderful tome of poetry, history, theory and practical witchcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naturally Magical. )O(, 17 Jun 2009
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
Prior to this new release I spent months trying to find this classic text, it was well worth the search. I have an extensive collection of books on Witchcraft yet this book is one of the few I would not part with. It proved an invaluable tool to both learn from and return to. The writing is simple and genuine, no need for flowery language to make you believe the author is Fey. Doreen Valiente is the real thing. The book harks back to Witchcraft (pre Gardinerian and Alexandrian)that is the legacy of solitary practitioners, rather than Coven based. The spells are adaptable with the emphasis on drawing power from the earth, elements and above all yourself. If you feel drawn to a natural approach to magic rather than a more structured and ritualised path then this is the book for you. Blessed Be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not A How-to-Book, 13 Aug 2008
By 
Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
I bought this a very long time ago thinking it was a handbook of natural magic, but was surprised to find that it was actually a very interesting piece about various themes within witchcraft.

The title is a little bit of a misnomer seeing as it's actually describing magic itself as 'natural' rather than the book being about it specifically. However, 'Natural Magic' does go into a variety of what one would deem 'natural magic' topics, but Ms Valiente does so in a more mythological/historical context than a practical one. This is no bad thing; in fact I think this makes the book far more useful than any handbook could be! Importantly, Valiente expounds clearly and efficiently information of interest whilst leaving room for further study.

I particularly enjoyed the discussion of divination via playing cards a la the cunning folk -- she gives some instructions on how to read them from an older source. I also loved the bits on numerology where Valiente provides one with a reference on how to figure out ones lucky number. The engravings and illustrations also lend the piece a very arcane feel.

The topics covered within the book are many, and Valiente often goes off onto related topics under one uniform heading i.e. in the chapter titled `magic of birds and animals' she talks not only about animals but horned gods (Pan, for example) and his role in the wild woods etc.

The contents consists of: magic of the mind, magic of the four elements, magic of herbs and flowers, magic of numbers, magic of colours, magic of talismans and amulets, magic of sex, magic of dreams, magic of the weather, magic of the cards, magic of birds and animals and traditional spells.

Highly recommend for all Witches and Pagans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant grounding, 1 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
I first came across this book in my local library. It summed up everything I had felt and known for years about my spirituality. It is totally accessible and doesn't bog the reader down in heavy doctrine. The theory can come later. It is a perfect introduction to natural magic in the world around us and which can be used on a day to day basis as much of the thought can slip easily into your everyday life. If you have always felt at one with the earth, buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic,a classic., 30 May 2010
By 
M. Tomlinson "wickedwillow" (notts,sutton-in-ashfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
This is a great book,very down to earth style and full of lots of interesting magical bits and pieces.
It is not a 'spellbook' where there are lots to try (If looking for that,read Dorothy morrison's 'Everyday magic',Scott cunninghams 'Earth power' or Cassandra eason's 'complete book of spells')although it does contain a handful of traditional spells and a brilliant introduction to candle magic.It's a gentle,simple,'magic of the common folk' kind of book.
There are chapters on mind magic,the magic of dreams,magic of the elements(where scrying is mentioned),weather omens,charms and talimans,and a chapter covering playing card divination(where the author gives details of possibly the oldest method used in England)and more.
A must read for witches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely introduction, 12 Jun 2008
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
This is a lovely introduction to natural magic for people who are starting to explore witchcraft and paganism in general. It is always good to have a basic understanding of a number of practices, rather than trying out just one and this book will give the beginner a gentle introduction to various such ideas and practices. It is very much a beginners entry level book and as such would suit complete beginners as it is written in a gentle style typical of Doreen Valiente, it will also be easy to follow even for those slightly fearful of taking those first steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
Very good book, very instructive, received right on time and in a perfect state!
If you want to know more about Wicca, this book is one of the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Sep 2005
By 
E. Muhlhause (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
If I had to recommend one book to a person starting on the neo-wiccan path it would be this one. A wonderful collection of wisdom and information that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 7 Jan 2013
By 
S Linton "Igraine" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Natural Magic (Paperback)
I really like this easy-to-read book that gives lots of ideas about working with the natural world. I am not new to the craft but still got a lot from this book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Natural Magic
Natural Magic by Doreen Valiente (Paperback - 1 Jan 1999)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews