Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to learn the Latin names of plants., 7 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Bill Neal has written a book which will help many people understand why plants are called what they are. He lists, alphabetically in Latin, words associated with plants. For example, 'bonariensis' means of, or from, Buenos Aires. This is an invaluable book for anyone wishing to learn about the botanical names of plants, and is formated in a delightful way. There are drawings, and notes on myths and legends, which add much interest. This is a highly informative, easy to understand book, which is also a pleasure to look at, and I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mystery unravelled, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Useful information and helpful to any gardener or student - would have been useful to know it is written from an American perspective before I bought it, however, that fact is not so noticable in this book as it can be in others - Many useful facts and snippets of information to accompany the botanic names makes this a very user friendly book - very well laid out in a logical order - takes the mystery away from the reasoning behind why Latin is used for naming living things. Even for those of us in the Horticultural trade this book is a useful reference resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
this book is a little gem,very useful with many descriptions as well as names,highly recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardener's Latin, 15 May 2013
By 
C. Denison (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Even though I studied Latin at university as part of my archaeological studies. I still find Latin in plants fascinating! After my studies I started working in gardening,because that was my 1st love. And I have always prefered the botanical Latin,to common names.because with the Latin you cannot go wrong,unlike the common names.For example. The european white water lily has 285 common names to it in europe alone. But only 1 Latin name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of treasures., 28 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
My husband bought this for me for Christmas and what a gem. Beautifully illustrated, with herbal and folk uses of some plants. Now I know that Fumarioides, Fumitory - Earth Smoke - refers to the odour of the leaves, burnt by ancient Britains to ward of witches and their evil spells. This is a hard to put down book and will always be in my reference section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lexicon., 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Really interesting book,invaluable.Helped me with my college, recommend.Lovely old style prints very good condition does exactly what I wanted it for an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardener's Latin: a lexicon (Hardcover)
Fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gardener's Latin: a lexicon
Gardener's Latin: a lexicon by Bill Neal (Hardcover - 30 April 1993)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews