Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seductive, but also quite sick!
I had no idea of what I was reading, but the scenes described are so graphic and humiliating, all those interesting in SM will like it. The 'Prince' enforces a number of humiliating 'punishments' on Beauty to break her 'proudness'even though she has already been paraded naked for the villages they pass and made to travel about his palace on all fours, as other slaves are...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by hm202

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful
This was meant to be erotica but left me cold. Just seemed to be a shopping list of sexual shenanigans. Had no soul.
Published 16 months ago by Faraday94


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seductive, but also quite sick!, 27 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series (Paperback)
I had no idea of what I was reading, but the scenes described are so graphic and humiliating, all those interesting in SM will like it. The 'Prince' enforces a number of humiliating 'punishments' on Beauty to break her 'proudness'even though she has already been paraded naked for the villages they pass and made to travel about his palace on all fours, as other slaves are. (Mind you, all other slaves are Prince & Princesess from neighbouring areas!) The 'Queen' is also a nasty character too, and from what her 'favorite' slave says about her, she can be a very demanding Mistress to men.
Its a good read, and you wont put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars erotica BDSM, 3 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series (Paperback)
Who can say what Anne Rice's intention was when writing this book we can only look at the end result. In my opinion it encapsulates perfectly the descent of one person into a sexual life of submission. Yes the characters are dehumanized to a degree but that does not for me detract from the core theme of dominance and submission. This is after all fiction and I for one and perfectly willing to suspend disbelief to enjoy it.
If you are looking for a novel which deals with BDSM in a realistic setting this is not the book for you. However it is from start to finish a compelling and erotically charged novel which takes the reader on Beauty's journey with her.
On a passing note I am not sure I agree with the reviewer who states that women can never describe sex for men accurately. This novel deals largely with the feelings of the submissive men, not their dominant counterparts. I would think that submissive feelings are the same whether for a man or woman.
If you are looking for an erotically stimulating read and enjoy dominance and submission then I would recommend this book to you.I have also read the other two novels in the series and enjoyed them equally well. Anne Rice has managed to write a sequel without them simply being a tired replay of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A romantic view of a young slave learning to submit herself., 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series (Paperback)
A must read for anyone who is intrigued by the fantastic world of submission and domination. One learns, along with Beauty, the nuances of the master/servant relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
interesting!! anne rice is a fabulous author and the sleeping beauty books prove this too...... if 50 shades shocked you then this book will blow your socks off.... different twist on all your normal kinky books.... good read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Epic, Important Work of Erotic Fantasy, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Trent Evans (Washington State, USA) - See all my reviews
I've read this book multiple times over the past twenty years. I reread it recently in order to prepare this review, and it's taken me a few days to crystallize my thoughts about this book. First, I want to remark on how well it's held up in the three decades (!) since its release. The writing is still as fresh and accessible (and HOT) as it was the first time I cracked it open as a teenager in that crowded B Dalton all those years ago. The description, the emotion, and the lust still jump off the page. It still disturbs and fascinates in equal measure. It's a remarkable, incredible book ... but it's definitely not for everyone. Not by a long shot.

Ms. Rice, writing as A.N. Roquelaure, gets things started with a, er, bang, with the opening sequence of the Prince's claiming of the eponymous Beauty. This scene is not only incredibly brave (it takes guts to write fantasy this unflinchingly), but it's so true to the animal, primal nature of the sexual fantasies this book not only explores, but embraces. Is sexual fantasy "safe"? Is it politically correct? The answer is of course, `no', and this book both acknowledges this fact, and affirms the truth of the untameable, ever hungering nature of our sexual fantasies and desires. In its own understated way, this book is a subtle, yet emphatic refutation of the ridiculous notion that sexual fantasies and desires need to be safely within bounds, or even worse, politically correct. Does it make the reader uncomfortable at times? Of course. Does the line between "right" and "wrong" sometimes become blurred? Absolutely. But such is human nature; the complexities of sexual desire are not at all sunshine and rainbows, and the deeper needs and urges that drive sexual desire are sometimes simply inexplicable ... and there are more than a few of us who like it that way just fine:)

Many have faulted Ms. Rice for overwrought or flowery writing here, but I've never understood this criticism. I've read a LOT of erotic romance, erotica (which this story definitely is), and just plain porn, and I found the writing in this story to be not only comparatively spare, but refreshingly direct. Rice manages to be supremely literary, yet does so in a prose style that is so very accessible and devastatingly effective in stirring the passions of the reader. She knows exactly where she wants to go here -- and she knows how to get the reader there. To read this book -- regardless of your particular reaction to the content -- is to witness a writer at the top of her form, with a stunning command of language, and an enviable facility with description, and the eliciting of emotion.

The characters here, more than the plot (which itself is straightforward), are simply fascinating. Ms. Rice is content to paint most of the characters with broad, only selectively distinct strokes, and allow the reader the time, the opportunity, to fill in those negative spaces. It's something I wish more writers would do, for it's not only more thought-provoking, but it is (in my humble opinion) much more respectful of the reader; many of us do not in fact need everything spelled out for us. Where she does delve into more detailed character studies, her subjects are both unexpected and riveting. The character of Beauty (for the narrative stays with her POV for most of the book) is almost a sort of unwilling guide through this at once familiar, yet alien world of the kingdom of Queen Eleanor. The book does, as a whole, center on Beauty's journey, but there are several other characters whose stories are just as vital, and perhaps moreso, to the overarching theme of the book. It's through some of these other characters, particularly the sympathetic, almost martyr-like figure of Prince Alexi, that Rice explores the complexities of human emotion, sexuality, and the mysterious deeper motivations of human beings.

But it's in the character of Queen Eleanor that we find the dark, beating heart of this story. Her influence is everywhere, whether she's physically present in a scene or not. At once frightening and alluring, she's a perfect example of the dichotomy, even paradox, so often found in the origins of human sexual desires. Is she an evil woman, corrupted by power, determined to ruthlessly exert it over all she surveys? Or is she much more complex? A woman uniquely equipped to explore and revel in not only her own sexual desires, but the desires she suspects lurk, in one form or another, within most of us. Ms. Rice gives us hints, suggestions, but never answers these questions. As much I love that Queen Eleanor was written in this open-ended, even mysterious way, so many tantalizing, even profound questions are raised when it comes to her character. I know it's a fool's hope (my impression is that Ms. Rice never intends to revisit this world again), but I would so very much love to read more background on the Kingdom, and especially how Eleanor came to be the person she is depicted as here in this story.

As for the content of this book, readers need to be warned: there is almost every permutation of sexuality and BDSM that you can think of here. I've seen the descriptor `pansexual' used in other reviews, and I think that's a reasonable approximation of what you'll find here. But that word doesn't quite do this book justice, because though the varieties of sexual coupling are myriad, I think the general theme of the book is anything but pansexual. This is a book about the deeper meaning, the dichotomy, of sexual desire in the context of Dominance and submission, pain and pleasure, and much more subtly (though no less powerfully), love and hate. There is corporal punishment galore here, largely in the form of paddling, and though some reviewers fault the pervasive nature of it, it is not in fact in every scene, and does actually make sense where it's depicted. There is dubious consent, and non consent aplenty, and if the general idea of enforced sexual slavery for a period of multiple years is offensive to you, then you need to run away from this one, and quickly. If you are averse to the depiction of female/female and male/male sexuality, you're going to have a tough time with this one. Yes, the sex depicted is primarily heterosexual, but there is considerable same sex content as well. I had some trouble initially with the male/male content, but I kept an open mind about it, and though personally not my thing, I was able to see how it actually added to the narrative, and helped tell the story of these characters that you cannot help but care about.

If you are a person with a kinky bent, I would say this is indispensable reading; I can't think of any single work of BDSM erotica, save perhaps Story Of O, that I would recommend all kinky people read. I would say one can read this book both to see what you do like and to help determine what you don't like. This is not only an excellent, even important, work of erotic fantasy, but in my opinion it's a fascinating, insightful study of the human condition -- what we desire, what we fear, and what deep down drives us all.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious BDSM, 15 April 2013
It's no secret that Anne Rice is a superb storyteller, but the Beauty Series left me enraptured. It was probably my first taste of BDSM and it certainly made me want to read more. This is sexual fantasy, written exquisitely. I wish she'd write more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was meant to be erotica but left me cold. Just seemed to be a shopping list of sexual shenanigans. Had no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this book, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series (Paperback)
I was astounded by this book, mostly because I always thought of the author as a writer of vampire books. This book is one that when I started I simply could not put down, if you are broad minded and are looking for a book that holds you from start to finish, this is that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm...Yes!, 4 July 2014
Very, very sexy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Nov 2012
This is SO much better than 50 shades! I couldn't even get through the first book of 50 shades because it was SO stupid. This book is complete fantasy... naughty Sleeping Beauty, and it seriously pushes the boundaries of sexuality without crossing the line... Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series
The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty: Number 1 in series by Anne Rice (Paperback - 9 July 1987)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews