Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's on a precise heading to Earth."
Titan Books continue their series of novels based on Classic Star Trek with #14: Star Trek The Motion Picture written by Star Trek's creator himself - Gene Roddenberry.
Most novelisations of a film are usually somewhat dull, often filled with random thoughts on what the author believes the character is thinking. However, this novel is absolutely first rate. After...
Published on 22 May 2008 by TK-1308

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Well it's the first Star Trek movie in book form . Some slight differences as usual between a book & film . Ok for any fan .
Published 7 months ago by luikriako


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's on a precise heading to Earth.", 22 May 2008
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Titan Books continue their series of novels based on Classic Star Trek with #14: Star Trek The Motion Picture written by Star Trek's creator himself - Gene Roddenberry.
Most novelisations of a film are usually somewhat dull, often filled with random thoughts on what the author believes the character is thinking. However, this novel is absolutely first rate. After all, who knows the crew of the Enterprise better than the man who created them in the first place.
As much as I like the original Star Trek The Motion Picture, this novel actually reads more like the latest `director's cut' of the film and as such it is more satisfying than the original screenplay.
The story is classic Trek, a massive energy cloud is heading on a direct course to Earth and the only ship within interception range is the Enterprise. There are problems however as the ship is just finishing a massive refit, the systems are untested and the warp drive is not ready. Kirk, now an Admiral, uses the current crisis to get back command of the Enterprise, much to Captain Decker's (son of Matt Decker from TOS's The Doomsday Machine) disgust and the ship has only two days to stop the alien menace before it destroys the planet.
Roddenberry expands on all the characters in the novel and gives a nice amount of back story to fill in the events between the end of the Enterprise's first five year mission and now. Kirk's missions within the Admiralty are alluded to and his relationship with Admiral Lori Ciana also make a certain event have more impact and this in turn leads to a connection with the series of Classic Trek books which cover `the lost years' between the original series and this movie.
The characters of Matt Decker and Ilia are also given a fair amount of coverage in the story, slightly more so than in the film and again this makes certain elements of the plot have more meaning later on.
The dialogue itself is almost word for word as it is in the film but there are a couple of sequences in the novel which never made it to the final cut. The infamous crystalline antibodies inside V'Ger make a couple of appearances but the much talked about `memory wall' sequence which made it into the Marvel Comics adaptation is also absent here.
The story is a quick read, partially because you may have seen the film and also because Roddenberry keeps the pace going and avoids lengthy descriptions and keeps to the story focused.
A great novel and a must have for any Trek library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Enjoyable than the Film, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - The Motion Picture (Paperback)
I really like Star Trek, but The Motion Picture always seemed a little... well, slow and boring in places so it's not one of my favourite Star Trek films, but I decided to try out the novelisation. I obviously knew what was going to happen before reading it, but that didn't stop it from being enjoyable. The only criticism I would have is that there was a long build-up and then it all seemed to end very quickly. I think it's a great complement to the film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek - The Motion Picture (Paperback)
Well it's the first Star Trek movie in book form . Some slight differences as usual between a book & film . Ok for any fan .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The human adventure is indeed beginning!, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Nabil Hussain (LONDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story was well written and featured a lot of action. I thought that since the story was written in 1970's or 1980's that the version would be dated and the story hard to follow. I was pleasantly surprised. Gene Roddenberry does know the Star Trek mythos quite well! I was slightly disappointed about the length of the book. 206 pages is too short especially for a story dealing with its themes. A little more could have been made at the end. The story could have ended less abruptly. Overall it was a good novelization of the movie but could have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space... 25 years ago., 23 May 2012
This review is from: Star Trek - The Motion Picture (Paperback)
I bought this book nearly 25 years ago when Titan were the, then, main producers for all the Star Trek novels that were being released. This was one of the many books that I bought from them, but it also added to all the film novels of each film I had. It's now probably wrapped up in a plastic bag with all my other books, stashed under a bed at my parents' house. To get this and all the other books out... I could start a library. The book itself, an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek - The Motion Picture
Star Trek - The Motion Picture by Gene Roddenberry (Paperback - Dec 1979)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews