Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour De Force
This book demolishes the claim that our planet is threatened by global warming. It is beautifully written and witty.
Some 4 years ago Christopher Booker began the demolition process in his excellent book:'The Real Global Warming'.He exposed bogus computer models that were used by the likes of Al Gore and others to 'prove' we were facing disaster. He quoted the first...
Published 18 months ago by Dr Barry Clayton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting history of the debate.
Rupert Darwall writes well and his argument is consistent. But this book is primarily a history of the politics of the climate change debate. I would have liked a stronger grip on the recent science.
No peer-reviewed modern scientific text would dare add 'guesstimate' graphs from the 1920's as page fillers. 90 year old historical data on coal production only...
Published 5 months ago by R. J. Farrer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tour De Force, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This book demolishes the claim that our planet is threatened by global warming. It is beautifully written and witty.
Some 4 years ago Christopher Booker began the demolition process in his excellent book:'The Real Global Warming'.He exposed bogus computer models that were used by the likes of Al Gore and others to 'prove' we were facing disaster. He quoted the first IPCC Chairman, Sir John Houghton admitting that:'Unless we announce disasters, no one will listen'.Booker showed how, contrary to all expert predictions, global temperatures had not continued to rise, instead they had flattened out or even fallen. Furthermore, he exposed the fact that the IPCC's brief was not to objectively weigh the evidence, it was to begin by assuming climate change as proven, and then go on to promote and inspire the political response to a threat which had never been proved! He demonstrated that the cost of the measures being suggested in order to combat the 'threat' would be 'astronomic'.

In this new book by Rupert Darwell the author supports Booker's thesis with superb arguments and facts. He shows how an increasing number of leading scientists are admitting that earlier forecasts of global catastrophe were exaggerated.
Darwell exposes the dubious claims of the green movement, in particular the meaningless idea of 'sustainable development'. He describes computer predictions as a prime example of Popper's famous term:'pseudo-science' or Marx's historical materialism. He explains why this is. It is because the claims predicted cannot be proven or falsified by scientific experiment or evidence.

Few politicians and well-known scientists emerge with credit from Darwell's analysis. Both were, and still are, guilty of mutually reinforcing an evangelical debate. That well-known actor Tony Blair was at the forefront of exaggerated claims about global warming when occupying number 10.
Darwell brilliantly exposes the discredited 'hockey stick' graph that is still used to show, it is claimed, that current temperatures have not been experienced for thousands of years. He shows how the manipulation of statistics is used to support the graph.

Darwell's superb book focuses on an analysis of what he calls the:'Global Warming Policy Paradox', namely that the proposed solutions are more damaging than the problems they are meant to solve.

This book is a must-read. It is a very timely reminder of how careful we need to be when listening to the claims of politicians and those scientists who wrap their claims in impenetrable jargon backed up by the evidence of computer models that have been fed with dubious statistical data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, scholarly and important, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Darwall is an extremely talented writer with an enormously impressive analytical mind. He tells the tale of the growth of the idea of Global Warming and its place in the world today in a detailed but thoroughly entertaining way. There is a great deal to learn and to smile at here.

The Global Warming debate divides opinion absurdly. You are either a believer or a non-believer, and most writing on the subject reflects that: it's either Monbiot-esque vitriol for anyone who dares question the political orthodoxy in any way, or it's Daily Maily ranting about how it's "all a load of rubbish...so-called scientists...etc." The author rises way above that sort of passion and ignorance. I could well imagine that, in time, this book could turn out to be something of a turning point for the whole debate. I certainly hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically important capturing of political history, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As others have noted, this is not always an easy read. The author has been meticulous about coverage and documentation (pages 351 to 416 contain supporting notes), but he has also displayed many insights of his own in this intelligent, fair-minded, and compelling account of the decades of delusion and manipulation that have led us the current sorry state of climate-related politics, policies, and the further promotion of alarms without adequate foundation. As Darwall says, right at the end of the book, "When it comes to learning from their mistakes, collectively scientists vie with the Bourbons.". This might seem unfair on the vast majority of scientists who have never spoken out on climate, and whose views have not been systematically consulted by the leaderships of such bodies as the Royal Society or many other learned societies over many disciplines. Leaderships which have nevertheless spouted green propaganda and influenced politicians in their insanities over climate change. I think this book is a must-have for anyone with a serious interest in trying to comprehend what has happened around this fashionable topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent study of the political side of the story, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many good books already published that explain the real science behind climate change - Robert Carter's "Climate: The Counter-Consensus" being perhaps the best I've read. Rupert Darwall's book is different in that it focuses on the philosophical and political history of Global Warming. In order to do so, it necessarily spends its first third discussing the evolution of environmental thinking over the last 500 years or so, describing the development of the modern environmental movement in detail - this can be a little dry at times, so bear with it. When 1988 is reached and James Hansen ignites the real birth of the Global Warming scare, the book picks up pace, culminating in a riveting description of the failure of the 2009 Copenhagen conference.

Darwall's writing throughout is erudite and academic and supported by countless references. Rather than re-hashing the science to create another Climate Change pot-boiler, he's made an important addition to the literature and written an accessible and entertaining book. He also takes a balanced and dispassionate view of his subject, lending his ultimate conclusions much greater weight than if he had taken a more partisan position through the body of the book.

Like many, over the last few years I have undergone a complete reversal of my views on Global Warming. Up until 2009, I believed the hype and had been thinking about the future - mine and my children's - in a negative, fatalistic way. The political and media message about impending climate disaster had so convinced me that I envisioned the next generation contending with inundated coastal cities, food shortages and wars. Al Gore's film An Inconvenient Truth depressed me so much that I couldn't bear to finish watching it. I was genuinely pessimistic about the Human race's future. I felt sorry for my children.

In 2009 I decided I should find out more about this subject that had so affected me. I read two books from opposite ends of the spectrum of views - James Lovelock's "The Revenge of Gaia" and Christopher Booker's "The Real Global Warming Disaster". It was the latter that began my change of view - one that has been supported by devouring just about every book published on the subject, and paying daily visits to Anthony Watts's excellent blog. It's clear to me now that, far from the science being "settled", as we are told, the science behind the Catastrophic Anthropogenic Global Warming (CAGW) hypothesis is so debatable that it does not even meet the basic scientific qualifications to be termed a theory.

The most instructive thing for me has come from the behaviour and language used by those on either side of the debate. The Skeptical views are overwhelmingly presented in a reasoned way, typically by those with the courage to speak out against the prevailing consensus and look objectively at the facts. In complete contrast, the proponents of CAGW are typically shrill, hectoring, overbearing - rather than debate the facts (where they will founder) they will attack the motives of those who argue the Skeptical view, typically by accusing them of being in denial or in the pay of "Big Oil". The very use of the term "Denier", with its connotations of holocaust denial, should sound a warning about their motives and the underlying weakness of their arguments - if you cannot attack the argument, attack the person making it. What has appalled me even more is that organisations such as the BBC and Wikipedia, supposedly voices of truth and objectivity, have become utterly compromised. Bias permeates much of the BBC's coverage of climate issues - which I might expect from an overtly left-wing source like The Guardian, but not our treasured, supposedly impartial BBC! I am not in denial and I'm not in the pay of Big Oil - I have been systematically deceived and I am angry about it! Once any thinking person becomes aware of this bias that surrounds us, it is impossible to miss. The scales have dropped from my eyes.

Some reading this review may think I am just another selfish "denier" who wants to bury his head in the sand and carry on living my profligate Western way of life. If so, I urge them to read this book - and at least one of the many books on the science - and begin thinking for yourself rather than simply believing what the politicians and the media feed to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Game Changer, 14 May 2013
By 
Mr. David Holland "David Holland" (Northampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a documented history of a classic folie à plusieurs, Rupert Darwall's book may in time become the standard reference. It is not quick read though, which may explain why this is only the eighth review. Even for those who have followed this topic for years there is much that it reveals. It has many footnotes and endnotes to validate the evidence that Darwall describes and is clearly a product of the Internet age which is a `game changer' for many aspects of our lives.

Darwall reports Al Gore's Bali speech of 2007 and gives the Internet link to a transcript. Elsewhere on the Internet you can watch a video of it. Towards the end Gore told those present that they should feel privileged `to be alive at a moment when a relatively small group of people could control the destiny of all generations to come'. Indeed after reading the book it is clear that, in global terms, a tiny group have spent their entire careers pursuing their dreams of controlling mankind's destiny using the fear of climate change.

Fortunately other tiny groups, with no dreams of control, gave us the Internet, the World Wide Web, home computers and cellular telephones that allows the many to learn what the few are up to. It allows crowd sourcing to expose the fallacies and hypocrisy that pervades the global warming industry and makes it harder for it to keep its secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a bible for warming sceptics, 11 Jun 2013
By 
F. Robb (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This takes the lid off the whole awful sham (Yes, I am a sceptic) - demonstrating that science has little if anything to do with the emergence of the new faith that the alarmists are purveying. The origin of the great myth is set firmly in the 1988 Toronto summit, Mrs Thatcher's address to the Royal Society, Hansen addressing a congressional committee and the formation of the International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). This is a fluent, well researched historical account that will inflame believers and console the largely ignored sceptics. Of course it will not change minds; but it's worth a read whatever your views.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what information one needs, 17 April 2013
By 
Dan the Bug Man (Hilton Head Island, SC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hear the facts do not change ones mind but what would. It is nice to see everything in one place. Why are University Global Warming degrees still being taught as Science rather than Art or Religious Beliefs? Is there a similar book for health and safety to sort out what is happening in that field. Very well done and everything is in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for every policy maker and climate scientist, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book and should be compulsory reading for every climate scientist and policy maker and politician concerned with climate change. Darwall sets out the historical development of the idea of global warming and of the science that has provided the evidence for it. He does this with an analytical detatchment and objectivity which is seldom seen, particularly in the climate change debate. Darwall sets out complex arguments about the history and philosophy of science, the statistical analysis of climate change data, and the arcane protocols and procedures governing summit meetings of global leaders, in a clear and highly accessible style. He lightens the book with regular and amusing touches of gentle irony; and the book trips along at a pace conveying a real sense of the drama of the various climate change summits, and of the dramatis personae. Yet this is a real work of scholarship with over 60 pages of references and numerous interviews of key protagonists by the author. For anyone wising to gain a thorough understanding of the climate change debate, and of the science and the politics of climate change from an accessible, scholarly, and objective book this is a must read The Age of Global Warming: A History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of how unelected political cliques looked for a chance to force its ideology on the rest of us, 2 Aug 2013
By 
M. A. Woodburn "Mike" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author begins by covering the history of those who confidently make pessimistic predictions about the future, usually by assuming man is incapable of technological improvement or adaption from that point on. They then go on to get it spectacularly wrong.

The modern environmental movement holds in great reverence certain individuals, such as Paul Ehrlich. He wrote books endlessly predicting chaos caused by an increasing human population, and in them he made very specific predictions - none of which came true.
From these influences various non-elected groups were formed such as `The Club of Rome' and portentously made great pronouncements about too much economic development, too much growth, too many people etc. These anti-human beliefs chimed with the post mid-1980's Environmental movement, and they waited ... until there was thought to be enough science around to demonize CO2 and Man made Global Warming was born.
After spreading belief in this `new age' religion in the guise of science to the highest government levels; the attempts to control CO2 world-wide have been one laughable failure after another. At the end the computer model predictions of warming ( solid science ) have not come true and the rest of us are left wondering what the hell has been going on.

The author finishes the book with a very good warning, that even with the collapse of man-made warming/climate change ideology, the `types' who support this sort of thing will be back with another scare - scientifically based, of course - that blames wicked mankind for some sort of imagined catastrophe, and demanding unquestioning obedience and money from the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Age of Global Warming: A History (Paperback)
Okaky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Age of Global Warming: A History
The Age of Global Warming: A History by Rupert Darwall (Paperback - 1 Mar 2014)
£10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews