Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
I have read Brian Sewell's autobiography, because I love his style and wit. He can be an acerbic old b*ug*er but he is all consuming. A friend bought this latest book for me and when it arrived I was glad to see it was a slim tome as I no longer have time to indulge in reading. However, once started I was hooked and finished it in two days. It would have been quicker...
Published 10 months ago by S. J. Parker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm
Clearly a lover of dogs. Any dog owned by the author was clearly a lucky animal.
I just found certain aspects of the book odd.
Published 2 months ago by D/S


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Dogs!, 22 May 2014
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
Brilliant and a wonderful read - well worth the effort (a very short book) which did not disappoint. Just shows how domestic animals exceed the hopes of their poor, often greedy, human owners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all dog lovers, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
If you love dogs you'll love this. Beautifully written and although not sentimental, will have you crying - and laughing at sewell's inimitable style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, insightful and moving, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
Written with frank honesty, this is a moving and perceptive account of Brian's life companions, each 'found', known, accepted, loved and howled over, when the time came.

Brian's account of his life, described as a 'peripheral autobiography' on the cover, is endearing in its openness, taking us from his boyhood and Prince, through to the time of writing, with Lottie by his side. It will be loved and understood by all those who have been lucky enough to enjoy canine companionship, with all its complexities, insights and rewards.

Recommended, along with a good-sized box of Cleenex, for the tears that will surely flow as each four-padded companion departs Brian's side and passes the story onto the next....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book written by someone who understands the bond between your pets and yourself most people think they are just animals not a family member
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A peripheral autobiography, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was so disappointed when I came to the end.Brian Sewell has made such a difference to so many dogs and his love of them shines from every page
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is disappointing from Brian Sewell whom I admire as a critic and person. The book is rather disjointed and rather forgetful and could be so much more interesting but I felt it was hurriedly brought to publication. However his love of so many many dogs and caring for them makes you realise what a kind person he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tissues at the ready, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
Like many people, I had unfounded preconceptions of Brian Sewell. This book , I am glad to say, has changed that.
Mr Sewell has shown remarkable devotion to his dogs and I admire him for that.As a forty seven year old male, I am not ashamed to say that I filled up at least five times while reading this. Beware, it will hit you unexpectedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love dogs you must read this book., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
This really is all about Brian's dogs — he's had so many, all living to a ripe old age.You don't feel so alone in your own admiration for your canine friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
What a beautifully written book, a must read for all dog lovers, especially those that have had the pleasure of a rehomed companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas present for my mother who couldn't put it down and thoroughly loved it. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography
Sleeping with Dogs: A Peripheral Autobiography by Brian Sewell (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2013)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews