Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is outrageous
Stephane Hessel is one of the most important personalities and thinkers of our time, and he is still with us. But maybe not for long, as he himself says. What he has to say is so clever that it's really simple, like e.g. the invention of the wheel, and you may yourself have even thought and said the same things (Congratulations!). Nonetheless what he has to say is...
Published on 16 May 2011 by John Doe

versus
12 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty content, good marketing
This brief burst of hate-mongering plays to France's lowest prejudices. That is, unfortunately, the secret of its success.
Well-marketed, attractively priced, it's been a hit.
Three reasons (other than the marketing) explain this.
1) Flattery of the French unifying myth. Hessel writes in the firm belief that the French resistance liberated France in...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Bookish


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is outrageous, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
Stephane Hessel is one of the most important personalities and thinkers of our time, and he is still with us. But maybe not for long, as he himself says. What he has to say is so clever that it's really simple, like e.g. the invention of the wheel, and you may yourself have even thought and said the same things (Congratulations!). Nonetheless what he has to say is essential, true and necessary and whoever has not had any direct contact to the ideas of Hessel ought to grab the chance to observe this planet and the species that struggles along on its surface from his point of view while Staphane Hessel still struggles along with us. A wise old man - in the very best sense of the word - makes us aware of the problems and dangers and points out a way how we just might keep ourselves and our futures safe. He does this briefly, in a factual way and yet with the emphasis experience adds to his plain words.
Maybe you will be wanting to read more by this great remarkable man. BTW I just say Mr Hessel on TV, very alive and kicking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We can clean-up our world., 7 Jun. 2011
By 
M. Mudie "Malcolm Mudie" (North east Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
This small book has been the trigger for a mass movement in Spain. This movement could and should spread to the rest of the planet. The message in the book, and the movement it has spawned, could be the start of a real change in our way of living. Nothing mystical. Simply facts that we have to know. The book explains very simply how our present administration and way of life can and must change. Our present profit based, competitive and basically immoral society cannot continue unless we accept the inevitability of our own destruction, something which our present system will cause.

This book must be read, and acted on, by all people who want a future for our children. Buy it, read it, lend it to your friends, and act on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We won't stand for it anymore!, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
Brilliant little book,expressing what the majority of people in the world think of the the mess politicians and bankers have got us in and the solutions politicians and bankers offer,which is more of the same for them and more suffering for the rest of us.Marvellous it was a best seller in France,hope it does as well over here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vital message in a concise statement, 3 Dec. 2011
By 
CJ Mclean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
This concise book contains an important and timely message of wisdom written by Stèphane Hessel - a foremost figure in the fight for freedom within the twentieth century. It's rare to encounter someone with nine decades of experiences wrought under most extreme circumstances, who still retains the lucidity to express what they see happening to society and the passion to strive to make us aware of the challenges and risks we face. I bought two copies and passed one on. It's that kind of book. You can read it in an hour, yet it gains with each revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ime For Outrage, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
D. PRESTON "Book Lover" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
This is a fantastic reminder of how our "Masters" ie Politicians and Bankers are using us
without any controls or checks on them. They are totally without scruple. The present unrest
was forecast as long ago as the 1940s' and everyone should read this, including the Protesters
to validate their actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'open your eyes', 31 Oct. 2011
'time for outrage' asks young people to 'open their eyes' and the tent town outside st pauls is part of a movment to there ~but will anyone heed?satus (the head of sas software said in ft not long ago the west is sleepwalking to disater
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book on the current global situation, 21 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
This is an inspiring book in the midst of the current global economic and ecological crisis. It is a powerful call for global action to change the present economic system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking book, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book! short, sweet, to the point, and relevant to everybody. everybody should read it. it'll take you half an hour and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wake up call, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Time for Outrage! (Pamphlet)
A powerful wake up call for us all. There is more need than ever of guarding the foundations of democratic countries, based on freedom, justice, social security and equality. Not many have realized that we already live in a world where the welfare of millions of people is put at risk everyday by speculations on financial markets, where whole countries are being sold out to banks (see Greece) and where little attention is paid on the systematic violations of human rights carried out in many parts of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope for the future, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book reflects what people think every day when they read about what our politicians are doing. We might not be interested but welfare is part of a good policy. After reading this short book, you might be interested in reading Engagez-Vous !("Get Involved!").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time for Outrage!
Time for Outrage! by Stéphane Hessel (Pamphlet - 1 Feb. 2011)
£4.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews