Customer Reviews


209 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A womanist triumph!
'The Color Purple' is an intriguing and insightful window into the life of young Celie. Expressed in letter form we journey with Celie through the torments facing her in the deep South of America. She suffers abuse at the hands of the man she refers to as her 'Father' and the easy-to-follow letter format of the novel means that almost anyone can tap into the world of...
Published on 16 May 2003 by michaelmcculley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a page turner
I was disappointed with this book. Had a lot of promise at the start but became repetitive and I found myself skipping 2/3 pages throughout various chapters to finish this book
Published 7 months ago by Dahviad Tierney


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For school`, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Paperback)
Has great notes and helpful tips, used it for school, college. Great item for studying, I would recommend it for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
This book was a really lovely journey of growing maturity and awareness through one woman's life, although you could see the same thing happening to other people in the book as well. Beautifully written. One of those books that stays with you after reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
So emotional and you can't put it down. Recommend to everyone. It's an easy read but so fulfilling, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Paperback)
I loved th movie so wanted to read the book, I was not disappointed the book is brilliant and heart wrenching as you follow Cellies life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
I never attempted this book as I felt it mAy be a bit old and dusty but it is fabulous! I still have Celie's style of speech stuck in my head and found the characters endearing...what a discovery for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Paperback)
Had read it from the library - so good, wanted to have a copy on my shelves. Received unexpectedly a brand new copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
What a book! I have seen the film many times but never read the book, till now. A fantastic story of triumph over adversity. Well written, good characterisation. Definitely should be on everyone's 'must read' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you just have to read., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
This book is brilliantly written. The characters are vivid and the story it's self is full of heart break but hope as well I would recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant story, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
I class this as a can't put down book..
The disgusting treatment of the black people in the South during the period of the story was quite harrowing.
The story of the treatment of the natives in Africa was probably quite true in the way that the British used to treat them.
I think that it was we who were the savages by our very treatment plus our feeling of superiority to good people.
By the way, we do have missionaries from Africa in our own country now...that is a 'wow;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Color Purple (Kindle Edition)
A beautiful piece of literature that everyone should read at least once. Walker weaves magic with this tale of suffering, love, heartbreak and empowerment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Color Purple
The Color Purple by Alice Walker (Paperback - 10 May 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews