Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous utopian book!
Connie has struggled all her life with poverty. Her husband is dead, killed by gang wars: her lover died in prison, her child has been taken into care, and she herself is constantly in and out of mental institutions. When her niece Dolly is attacked by her pimp, Connie defends her, is arrested for assault and locked up yet again in another mental hospital, where they...
Published on 8 July 1999

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Speculative politics and patriarchy
An important (if flawed) example of feminist SF, Women On The Edge Of Time escapes that old cliche that nothing dates so quickly as visions of the future, which really speak only to the time of their imagining. But this might have more to do with the persistence (or resurgence) of the patriarchy which it critiques than with any quality of the book itself. The alternation...
Published on 12 Aug. 2008 by The Pamphleteer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truely depressing stuff, 12 July 2007
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
I found the characters, particularly in Connie's time, to be rounded, and the story to be compelling (which gets it 3 stars). However, I think by combining the Utopian ideas with the issues about mental health, Piercy was trying to do too much and it doesn't really hold together.

One of the main problems is that the book is terribly dated (for the publisher to claim otherwise is ridiculous) and so it has to be read in its historical context. As a reader in 2007 you are looking back at the `present' in the book and the future utopia presented is a 1970s ideal, not a contemporary one. The result is that both timezones seem equally terrible. The choice is presented as brutal capitalism or de-sexed communism - which is a bleak outlook for humanity.

I'm not sure what other reviewers found in this book that was life affirming - I found it one of the most depressing books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dope, 18 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
This book is dope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Women's wrighting at its best, 13 Oct. 2010
By 
Woman on the edge of Time is an excellent read. Well written it compels the reader to turn the page. A thought provoking glimpse of human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A truly depressing read....., 1 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Heynes (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
I read this book as part of my book club. I forced myself to finish it, I found it almost torturous. I have only read one more depressing book than this, and genuinely am not feeling the love for this book that most other reviewers do.

A story of a woman's fight against the social system, her absolute powerlessness over the authorities/her family who wish to insert electrodes into her brain to 'control her violent urges', this is a bleak novel with no glimmer of hope for Connie.

The future she visits - is this a manifestation of her madness or something 'really' happening? - is hard to read at times with the language employed. I personally found this to be almost as depressing as Connie's current time storyline. Babies born to 3 mothers from pods, left to their own devices as they start their teenage years as they are too troublesome to parent at that stage, most people living a kind of nomadic lifestyle in an open community where resources are pared back to the minumum because of the overuse by the current generation. And the alternate future glimpse where lower classes are allowed to survive only for their use as organ donars to the rich who live to be 200+, women are turned into sex dolls whose enjoyment is watching/experiencing real life rape, beastiality and murder 'films'.

I feel I have endured this novel, and thank heavens I will not have to read it any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
It was in a good shape, I like this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please read this book!, 31 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) (Paperback)
Woman on the Edge of Time
Please do read this book, I wasn't sure what to expect but I loved it so much. I read this book about 10 years ago and it still stays with me because it's so well written and really different. This is a stay up all night read. I hope you love it as much as I did, and I know you'll want Connie to win through. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic)
Woman on the Edge of Time (A Women's Press Classic) by Marge Piercy (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2000)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Effect (Modern Plays)
The Effect (Modern Plays) by Lucy Prebble (Paperback - 9 Nov. 2012)
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12)   
Buy new£9.29
In stock

Herland
Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman (Paperback - 15 July 2013)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)   
Buy new£3.50
In stock

The Female Man (S.F. MASTERWORKS)
The Female Man (S.F. MASTERWORKS) by Joanna Russ (Paperback - 11 Nov. 2010)
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   
Buy new£7.19
In stock