Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars68
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2002
Let me first say that anyone interested in sexual psychology should read this work. An unprecedented collection of the sexual thoughts, desires, fears and, of course, fantasies from women in 70's USA and UK.
However, it is more a book concerned with erotic fantasy rather than an erotic read, despite being promoted as such on many adult sites. Many of the accounts are from women who had anxieties & inhibitions about their sexuality, or failings in their relationships, which comes across in their accounts as pathetic & sometimes pitiful revelations. Most are written in a bland & unarousing style when compared to much of today's literature. This was an era where women's sexual confidence was still embryonic, the fact that some can still relate to these women may show that their evolution is still not complete.
It's only failings are the author's self confessed, autobiographical leaning which gives some bias to the objectiveness of the research & a journalist's amateur, over simplified generalisation to some of the analysis. Other than this, Nancy Friday has to be applauded for this book.
This is a must for anyone wanting more insight into the female sexual psyche, but if you're looking for titillation I would try something else more fitting from the now bulging erotica bookshelves.
0Comment|125 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
Very informative, could hardly imagine that this contains really true stories of womans fantasies.Good entertaining read a must for men!.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
i am a busy mum who was losing interest in sex. this book was just what i needed to get motivated again. some of it is a bit much but if you just need a wee help to get in the mood this is the book for you! hope you enjoy it.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Interesting read, a bit dated in parts, but passed a few rainy afternoons, would recommend to anyone with an open mind...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I bought this book because I am interested in psychology and I really found it interesting. I love reading books which are about anything not commonly written about. This book isn't afraid to really be honest and is very shocking in places (many places actually). Whatever the reason you may be interested in purchasing this book, it makes for an intriguing read!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Recommended to me and was curious enough to look it up on Amazon. Some uncomfortable moments when reading about animal fantasies, as I didn't find much that felt erotic. However, fascinating subject material.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Bought as an item for us as a couple and the reads are informative and exciting. Does the job and sometimes weird and funny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
reading this, I find the narrative by Nancy really interesting as are many of the thoughts that women have during moments of passion and other times of day. I recognise myself in some of them! It is obvious that this was written a while ago and it would be interesting to know if and how much fantasy has changed since this was written. I would imagine the use of technology means these thoughts are more often shared, so as with many things in life have become more and more extreme to get the thrill from them. I am sure somebody out there is looking in to this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
lovely lovely reading the short stories to open my mind to be able to think enjoyment and imagine another world of fun,, just remember to keep one hand free and enjoy
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2001
There's only one word to describe this book: Fantastic! It's bright, insightful and very, very interesting. The only problem I had with it is that I wanted it to go on for about another hundred pages! I would HIGHLY recommend this book along with Playtime (Kim Corum) as both deal with innermost fantasies and are very well written.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)