Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIPPOCRATIC PRIDE
If there is one book any type of Medical undergraduate (clinical or science) should purchase then this is it. Written in clear, concise and understandable English it details all aspects of Medical Science that encourage you to read further into specific or general areas without getting clogged up in complicated medical terms and syntax. The book would be suitable even for...
Published on 8 July 2011 by MEDSCRIBE

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Says in 1,000 words what others can say in 100
Parts of this textbook are excellent for pre-clinical students studying Medicine. The diagrams are generally excellent at synthesising information. Most information is up-to-date and relatively well proof-read.

However (in common with its sister textbook, Kumar and Clarke), it's incredibly - painfully - wordy. I have the Oxford Pocket Guide to Medical Sciences...
Published on 28 Feb. 2011 by E. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIPPOCRATIC PRIDE, 8 July 2011
If there is one book any type of Medical undergraduate (clinical or science) should purchase then this is it. Written in clear, concise and understandable English it details all aspects of Medical Science that encourage you to read further into specific or general areas without getting clogged up in complicated medical terms and syntax. The book would be suitable even for 2nd year A level science students providing them with a foundation for basic medical science studies as well as those areas of cell science, biochemistry and more specific subjects of human physiological systems.

A great credit to the authors for the written content and the invaluable graphs, tables and diagrams which set this book so much farther apart from other Medical Science books.

StudentConsult access is an invaluable bonus for those wanting a lighter back pack whilst on the move.

Treat yourself this summer or better still find someone to treat you with this inspirational offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 18 April 2010
By 
G. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm still a preclinical student, and this is as much a gold standard for me as (I've heard!) Kumar and Clarke's Clinical Medicine is for clinical students, and because of the rapid advances in Medicine it's so important to keep a grasp of the underlying physiological concepts behind symptoms and treatments. This why these two gold standard texts go hand in hand so well. You've got the easy to "dip in to" Medical Sciences text for the physiological information and then Clinical Medicine for the more in-depth clinical knowledge. The breadth, depth and visual appeal of this book are astounding. I just wish I'd had it 3 years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Says in 1,000 words what others can say in 100, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
E. Morris (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Parts of this textbook are excellent for pre-clinical students studying Medicine. The diagrams are generally excellent at synthesising information. Most information is up-to-date and relatively well proof-read.

However (in common with its sister textbook, Kumar and Clarke), it's incredibly - painfully - wordy. I have the Oxford Pocket Guide to Medical Sciences and it's almost comical that it manages to explain the same key concepts as this textbook - usually with greater clarity - in hundreds of fewer words.

This textbook tends to painfully chug through a standard format for each organ or system without thinking how the information could be presented more logically -by combining anatomy and physiology, for example, rather than using two separate sections and regurgitating information under different headings. Additionally, there are issues with style. Lots of the book is written in convoluted and unnecessarily complex sentences.

Having said that, the book is comprehensive and contains a vast amount of material that would be useful. Perhaps buy both this and the Oxford guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornerstone of medical study, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Miss B. K. Saini "Bee" (S.E London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is like the bible of 1st and 2nd year medical students everywhere. It gives you MASSES of information at a basic to intermediate level of detail on a MASSIVE range of topics. I would use this as a core text in the early years of study and just as a reference text later on. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an essential read, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my son is wanting to become a doctor and this is a vital piece of at hand reference for his studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE accessible physiology textbook, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
A. Lindsay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It may not be the most complete textbook, but for those of us splitting our time between desk and ward, it is comprehensive and very preparatory for exams in the time we have for studying. It is more indepth than similar titles e.g. excellent section on bilirubin metabolism including biliverdin pathways and glucuronidation pathways often overlooked in even the most celebrated of texts.
This is the textbook I would keep with me for reference and study, it also has indepth discussion about clinical issues, in particular some of the discussion about diabetes is truly refreshing to see in a primarily physiology textbook.
For me, there is no alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Sciences (Kindle Edition)
The book is top draw. Really clear and build concepts neatly. I its my go to reference book when trying to get some context on medical conditions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars overall a good book, 28 Sept. 2013
A good general medical textbook. But this text lacks sufficient anatomy and pharmacology for an undergraduate medical degree. However if you want a general introduction to the organ systems and some basic biochemistry then this is an excellent text. I have been a doctor for 4 years now and still enjoy reading the odd chapter. It gives a good physiological basis to medical practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 16 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. Perfect for the basic sciences of medicine.
If you're in the first or second year of medicine, this book will come in handy.
Explanations are simplistic and understandable. Definitely recommended it
to medical students in their preclinical years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was in very good condition and is an amazing book - really helps ..., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Sciences, 2e (Paperback)
Was in very good condition and is an amazing book - really helps you grasp difficult concepts quite easily with sufficient detail!
Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medical Sciences, 2e
Medical Sciences, 2e by Jeannette Naish MBBS MSc FRCGP (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2014)
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews