Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and worth the money
As an Elsevier Student Rep I have been provided with a free review copy of this book. I bought the sixth edition when I started medical school back in 2007 and found it useful for looking things up as and when I came across them on our twice-monthly clinical sessions. I used it a lot more in my third year when it really came into its own.

The eight edition is...
Published on 13 Aug 2012 by Cumbers

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with kindle for ipad
Does not work on the kindle for iPad app. I downloaded it to 100%, as soon as I opened it goes back to 0% and starts again...
Published 5 months ago by Clw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and worth the money, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
As an Elsevier Student Rep I have been provided with a free review copy of this book. I bought the sixth edition when I started medical school back in 2007 and found it useful for looking things up as and when I came across them on our twice-monthly clinical sessions. I used it a lot more in my third year when it really came into its own.

The eight edition is updated and has a modern feel. Tables, flowcharts and images are used to supplement the text, which as you may imagine is extremely comprehensive. It will cover clinical medicine in more than enough depth for finals and although the price seems steep, it is actually far cheaper than investing in a separate book for each rotation.

Of course the trade-off is its bulk - it is a reference text and as such it is best employed for looking things up in the evening after a day on the wards. It isn't concise enough to use as a revision guide, though if you haven't understood something it will explain it in far greater depth than a revision guide will be able to.

Personally I would suggest investing in it at the end of your second year, so you have the most up to date edition, and getting a smaller book at the same time to take with you to the ward. This should give you everything you need to know about clinical medicine and will set you up to do very well in exams. However, before making the investment I would recommend that you go to the library and try their copy (or borrow a friend's) to make sure you get on with the layout and so on before committing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bulky and extensive read beyond requirements of undergrad, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
We now see yet another edition of the Kumar and Clark Clinical Medicine book, is it worth purchasing a copy of this book I hear you ask if you have a previous edition of it? Well... The Strong point of the new K&C is more use of guidelines to support treatment pathways. There is a really good section on how to examine a comatosed patient, it gives a step to step guide of what to look for. It also details what is normal and abnormal. I feel in general it gives a good explanation of pathology but its in a lot of detail.

Given the above I would advise that K&C should be more for reference purposes instead of trying to learn it all in medical school even for the medical finals. It includes old and new treatments and other treatments to try for illnesses, but sometimes this is poorly explained and misleading. There is however a good use of pictures for the visual learners amongst us.

Given the above I would personally as this is an expensive purchase for any student, advise that if you have an older edition of this textbook to stick with using that for now but just accompanying it with the NICE/Trust guidelines to check for differences. If you wish to use this book, see if your university has it in the library as a print book or even as an ebook, particularly through elsevier-etextbooks.com which many universities are subscribing to now. This will save you a lot of money as this is not the type of textbook that you will carry around with you on the wards!!!

If you want a textbook to carry around on the wards then I would highly recommend that you use the Pocket Essentials of Kumar and Clark - ESSEN OF CLINICAL MEDICINE 5E (Pocket Essentials) or otherwise the Oxford handbook of medicine - Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine (Oxford Medical Handbooks)/Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine - Mini Edition (Oxford Handbooks).

Overall this is an extensive book that covers far beyond what you need to know at medical school but worth considering using if you want to take things to a greater depth.

Competing Interests: Elsevier Student Rep - Provided with Gratis copy of this textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Grandaddy of (undergrad) Medical Texts, 10 May 2013
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
This is quite possibly the granddaddy of medical textbooks for the medical undergraduate. I've used many editions of this book through from the 5th to the 8th and it's good to see the continual improvement. One thing I've noticed in this edition is there seems to be more images than the last edition which I find helpful.

As a medical student one of the big debates is usually whether to buy Kumar and Clark or Davidsons. Which one is better? Which one's going to help me pass finals? The answer is that they'll both get you through finals and which one to buy depends on the type of learner you are. If you want to have an in depth knowledge of pretty much every medical condition you could be quizzed on in finals then K&C is for you, whereas if you'd rather have a more concise text which contains all the clinically relevant information but may go into less depth then Davidson's would suit you better. Personally I prefer Davidson's as I find the explanations easier was grateful for the more concise content when trying to remember it all for finals! However when doing my dissertation I found K&C great, Davidsons would have lacked the depth that I needed.

I've also found the Student Consult content useful including the figures in several essays, presentations and even my dissertation. It's also nice to be able to search the text on your smartphone if you're on the ward rather than having to carry it around (It's quite hefty!!)

Overall it's a great book, as far as I'm concerned the main decision is whether to pick this or Davidson's.
DOI: Provided with a gratis copy for review purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great balance, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
This modern textbook combines accessibility and complex knowledge. It is readable and helps to get the information to the parts other books do not reach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Internal Medicine Book, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
It is just the most suitable book for any Medical Student, hands down. So easy to understand, so many great pics and also available online. I have suggested it to all my co-students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent general medicine textbook, 31 Dec 2013
By 
DME "DME" (Bideford Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
A comprehensive up-to-date text suitable for students, GPs and for revision for all senior doctors.
Should be on most doctors' bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clinical medicine Kumar and Clark, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
A good book when you think you cannot understand Davidson's as more easy but less authoritative.
This edition is too bulky.
Hav'nt tried the on-line access yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kumar and Clark Clinical Medicine, 25 Jan 2013
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
Cracking reference book for Paramedics and ECPs, gain broader knowledge base, with the confidence of continuous learning at your finger tips. Personally, I keep mine by the side of the bed for a night time read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for any medical students out there!, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
Just buy it. You'll need it through your whole medical course. It's comprehensive enough, and is a good reference guide for anything you might need to look up on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e (Paperback)
A real reference book for doctors as well as for medical students. New edition has a lot more info, especially investigations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e
Kumar and Clark's Clinical Medicine, 8e by Parveen Kumar CBE BSc MD DM (HC) FRCP FRCP(Edin) (Paperback - 20 July 2012)
£51.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews