Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book for beginners
This is a book that does makes sure that you are able to grasp the basic before you go into more detail. I am at UCL right now and this helped me a lot
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by ben stamford

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neuroscience can be hard, but this book makes it impossible!
I purchased this because it the recommended reading for the neuroscience module at my medical school (UCL). I would strongly recommend that you look at other texts before buying this book, as there are much better options.

For a start the Neuroanatomy chapter is abysmal, anatomy is a visual subject and the pictures are poor to say the least. A much better...
Published on 28 May 2010 by JR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neuroscience can be hard, but this book makes it impossible!, 28 May 2010
I purchased this because it the recommended reading for the neuroscience module at my medical school (UCL). I would strongly recommend that you look at other texts before buying this book, as there are much better options.

For a start the Neuroanatomy chapter is abysmal, anatomy is a visual subject and the pictures are poor to say the least. A much better introduction to Neuroanatomy can be found in Crossman and Neary.

Many chapters try to include relevant pharmacology. The reality is, that you will need to refer to another pharmacology text anyway as the material is inadequate and poorly explained, so it is pretty much a waste of space.

The self assessment questions are pointless, as they usually consist of three questions at the end of the section, barely enough to check the knowledge of the entire chapter. Again, many other texts provide good self assessment questions, notably the crash course series.

Descriptions are unclear and confusing, and diagrams rarely add anything to the explanation. The diagrams often consist of names of brain parts with lines between them with little or absent explanation.

Overall, the book does try to unify different disciplines related to neuroscience into a systems based approach but fails to create anything useful. My personal recommendation would be `neuroscience exploring the brain'. This book looks big and scary but is not overwhelmingly full of detail, it's size is a reflection of fantastic explanations and memorable analogies, so that after reading you actually understand the material rather than just remembering brain parts and how they connect with each other. Also you don't have to read it cover to cover, just the bits that are relevant to your course. This book has a fantastic Neuroanatomy section with very extensive and useful self test. Trust me and take it out of the library and give it a try.

For pathology and pharmacology, use any of the standard texts. For pure Neuroanatomy then Crossman and Neary.

I would also recommend `Concise text of neuroscience' by Kingsley, This covers just about everything at the right level for medical school, although is out of print so you may have some trouble getting your hands on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Poor Neuroscience Text Book, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
As a medical student at Barts and The London I was strongly advised to buy this book, in part because all three authors teach sections of our neuroscience module. I have found the book extremely frustrating... It provides poor explanations, useless diagrams and jumps from one concept to the next without thoroughly discussing important areas. There are other, better sources of information out there and I would strongly advise against using this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really annoying, 11 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was advised by the University. I must say I wish I hadn't. I really hated and still do hate it. I've done GCSEs and A-levels and am studying medicine, so I'm not a total beginner and still the book was hard to read. It has so many errors and typos it's embarassing. I had to read Bears neuroscience before reading this book just to understand it. With the errors discovered it was hard to trust anything written in it. The theme of the colours yellow grey and black starts to become very dull and boring after a while too. In short I didn't like this book at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Minor Errors, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
It's quite a good book except there are quite a few errors in the book.
Not all that great for neuroanatomy. It's got a good flow but sometimes
you may need to cross check facts. Otherwise the book was sent in mint
condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
It is a good tool for revision. I get taught by the authors of this book so it did help me to understand a few things in lectures i did not fully understand at the time. I hear there are a few mistakes but on the whole it is good to get an overview for topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars useful but not perfect, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
The Nervous System should be considered one of many core texts required for students studying the nervous system. It provides explanations of the key concepts in neuro-anatomy and physiology, as well as going into detail in places where other texts won't venture. Such chapters include epilepsy, dementia, schizophrenia, depression and anxiety and addiction.

Criticisms regarding the lack of illustrations and the large bodies of text are not unfair; the text would benefit greatly from more diagrams to further aid the student's understanding of concepts. However, once the reader has got to grips with the large text bodies (and often over-complicated sentence structure), it becomes easier to digest.

Unfortunately, there are several mistakes or indeed contradictions in the 2nd edition that have escaped the proof-read; to highlight just one:

"For example, colour is detected by cones, which activate P cells...Cones, on the other hand, see only in black and white..."

The only good that can come from errors of this sort, is that they check whether the reader has properly understood concepts; however, it renders the textbook incomplete, and causes the reader to search for other sources for clarification.

Simply put it is a necessary text for studying the nervous system, with in-detail clinical chapters that you won't find anywhere else. The errors and, what can be at times a too complicated sentence structure do not outweigh the positives of this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book for beginners, 31 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
This is a book that does makes sure that you are able to grasp the basic before you go into more detail. I am at UCL right now and this helped me a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning Neuroscience, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. D. J. Paul (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This text book is fantastic for any medical student.
The book covers the nervous system and associated clinical problems, and any required knowledge from outside the nervous system, to the perfect level for pre clinical medicine.

Clearly laid out with a clear and steady progression from chapter to chapter this was the first text book I would consider 'easy reading' in that the logical progression backed up with case studies takes the reader through the complete nervous system and associated neuroscience easily and logically.

The provided case studies and questions allow the reader to review each chapter effeciently and sum together the information learnt.

A must for any pre clinical student. Do not be put off by any of the other books in the series as in my experience they are not as good as other texts for the appropriate study area.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommened to medical students from all years studying the nervous system, 7 Feb 2010
Comprehensive and clear textbook on the nervous system. A couple of mistakes if you look carefully but nothing dramatic. Definitely a useful book, I won't be looking to get rid of mine anytime soon. Easy to read and use, covers physiology and major pathologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e
The Nervous System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e by Peter Shortland (Paperback - 29 Mar 2010)
ú24.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews