Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise!
At long last! Someone has actually brought out a (readable / relevant to new style courses) systems-based book on the alimentary system - with all related material from outside the subject, including surgery, neurology and pharmacology! At first glance the book looks like it may be a tad simplistic, but the building-up-on-basics approach - using a particular case history...
Published on 17 Jun. 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good Technical Book
This is a very good book ,probably for someone in training in the medical field. Training to be a nutritional it wasn't really what I was looking for although it does have some useful info in it.
Published 14 months ago by sally holmes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise!, 17 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
At long last! Someone has actually brought out a (readable / relevant to new style courses) systems-based book on the alimentary system - with all related material from outside the subject, including surgery, neurology and pharmacology! At first glance the book looks like it may be a tad simplistic, but the building-up-on-basics approach - using a particular case history in each chapter with clear clinical goals - means that pretty soon the student is well versed in the whole subject. Clear and concise, with oodles of diagrams, CTs, simple tables and explanations make this a worthwhile buy (and cheap for a medical text too!) There are another six in this series, hopefully all as well written and laid out as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect for students..., 12 Jan. 2011
By 
G. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Digestive System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
It's a bold statement, but I think that every Medical student should own the entire "Systems of the Body" series. I'm lucky enough to have them all, and I've found them all utterly invaluable. "The Digestive System" contains all the relevant GI physiology, pharmacology and anatomy required for the studying Medical student, but the way it is delivered is what makes it so unique. Written in easy to read prose, Margaret Smith and Dion Morton make the topics genuinely exciting by including not only the common GI conditions, but also the rarer but interesting ones too. Therefore, each chapter gives the studying student a comprehensive overall picture of an aspect of GI medicine from pre-clinical physiology to clinical signs and symptoms. For clinical students, this book is compulsory reading and is best used alongside a Clinical Medicine textbook such Kumar and Clark or Davidson's; texts which often rush through or brush over important (but less clinical) aspects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise, easy to understand, 13 Feb. 2009
I'm a medical student and found this book really useful. It had everything I needed to know in a clear layout, and principles were well explained. As well as covering the anatomy and physiology of the whole digestive system, it had relevant clinical links too. I highly recommend this book for anyone studying the digestive system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good Technical Book, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book ,probably for someone in training in the medical field. Training to be a nutritional it wasn't really what I was looking for although it does have some useful info in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars systems of the body, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was required for my uni course, it arrived promptly and was great value for money. almost all other versions available were double the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive GI Undergraduate Textbook, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Digestive System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e (Paperback)
This book covers the anatomy, physiology, pharmacology and histology of every part of the digestive system. Each chapter covers a different part of the digestive system. The chapters are interspersed with clinical cases which makes the anatomy and physiology clinically relevant. I find the clinical cases maintain my interest by highlighting the clinical importance. Also included, are rarer diseases for added interest. The book contains many different examples of radiological imaging of the digestive system. I find this particularly useful for OSCE/OSPE exams, when it comes to interpreting and suggesting diagnoses from radiological images. The more images you see, the easier they are to interpret.

The histology is explained quite well through simplified histological diagrams (as well as micrographs). I find these diagrams useful as it makes it clearer what you are actually looking at. Histology can often look like a load of pink blobs!

The final chapter gives an overview of GI pathology. It gives further cases, signs, symptoms and treatments of different GI pathologies.

There are lots of diagrams throughout the book to accompany the text. The diagrams are all very clear. I particularly like the clarity of the diagrams showing nerve pathways, which can often be quite unclear. Throughout the book, the diagrams and pages have two-tone green and black shading. The radiological and histological images are in black and white. This isn't a problem for the radiological images, but for the histological images, the colours of the stains are not shown. This is not particularly a problem, as it is not intended to be an histology book. Overall, this is a very comprehensive book on the digestive system, for undergraduate medical students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Digestive System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e
The Digestive System: Systems of the Body Series, 2e by Dion G. Morton MD DSc (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
£24.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews