Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars40
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2010
I am a second year medical student and I was advised by some peers to buy this book to help me with my studies. Ordered off Amzaon, dispatched within 24 hrs, recieved within 3 days. Very quick, very reliable service that I now associate with Amazon.co.uk, but not with all their handlers.

Opened the book and immidiately found the layout intuative. The index is very clear cut, and chapers are arranged in a sensible order. One of the things that caught my eye was how well presented and explained the diagrams are. I have found, using other anatomy books, that diagrams can often cause more confusion than they give clarity. In this book diagrams tend to underpin the text explinations and are a joy to look at.

As far as the depth of information goes this book provides an overview of neuroanatomy, intermingled with a dash of physiology and the occasional box explaining a specific clinical conditions. Over all, it is great to gleen an understanding about basic neurology and detailed eough for the reader to gain a good knowlege base of neuroanatomy.

Speaking as a medical student I can only recomend this book as it has helped me greatly in gaining an understanding of neuroanatomy and neurophysiology. If you require a very in depth explination of the components and functions of the nervous system I would recomend buying seperate books. "Snell: Neuroanatomy" gives a much more detailed account of the anatomy of the nervous system and "The nervous system by Bear" gives a detailed insight into the neuroscience behind the anatomy.

Over all I could not live without my Crossman and would instantly replace it if lost or stolen. I hope this review has been helpfull.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2005
This book simplifies the subject making it easier to get the depth of understanding that you want. Concise, not too much waffle, just gives you the facts that you need. I used it for 2nd year medicine and it got me through it.
Good level of science with clinical situations thrown in too.
Good illustrations of lesions at different levels make picturing what is going on.
Good job,
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2006
If you're starting out as a specialist reg in neurology, this book is a must have! It clearly outlines neuroanatomy with excellent colour diagrams, and is the best stepping stone to being able to name the structures on an MRI brain. You could read and learn all it has to say in a few days, but what you learn will stick with you for life!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
This is definitely the best textbook to use when starting neuroanatomy. Its clear, concise and has colour in all the right places and has most of what you need to know (not all though!)
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
I use this to teach neuroanatomy to medical students in Cambridge. It doesn't cover all that is in the lectures but then most of the students don't want/need to know that much. If you read this book you get a clear view which you can build on if required. I thoroughly recommend this book.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Neuroanatomy: AnIllustrated Colour Text is suggested as supplementary reading for the Neuroscience module at my Medical School. The fact that it's not recommended as our main Neuroanatomy textbook is probably down to its size (180 pages). However, this portability means that Crossman and Neary continues to be a popularly used as a revision book by the medical students in my school. The authors have carefully set the level of detail in the book so as to be readily accessible to students who are new to neuroscience.

The book is full of colourful, labelled diagrams of the brain and spinal cord. These diagrams are often supplemented with high-quality photographs of specimens, as well as images obtained from MRI scans of the brain. It's an easy book to find your way around; after a short introductory chapter, there are a further fifteen chapters, each dealing with a different aspect of the anatomy of the brain or nervous system. This organisation is particularly useful for revision.

Each chapter has subsections dealing with regional neuroanatomy, and following each subsection there is an orange box summarising the main points. Another attractive aspect is that the book is pitched directly at medical students. Blue boxes punctuate the text and describe medical conditions and procedures relevant to the topic under discussion. The book concludes with a useful, clinically-oriented, problem-solving chapter. This tests the student's understanding of the preceding material and underpins the importance of a thorough knowledge of neuroanatomy in interpreting the results of neurological examinations.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 1999
It cuts out all the crap and sticks to all the basic stuff you really need to know set out in a nice clear colourful way...everyone should have it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 1999
This book is very useful in more than one way. I know of medical student, psychology students and osteopathy students who swear by it. It is clear, concise and accesible.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2007
This book is an excellent introduction to an interesting but difficult subject. Filled with diagrams and colour dissection pictures I would highly recommend it as an accompaniment to a medical course in Neuroanatomy. At times the sentence structure could be clearer, but overall a very good investment for medics in their early career.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2001
An excellent book that i would recommend to all medical students starting neuroanatomy. It is what you need to know!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)