Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The kumar & clark of surgery
This book explains surgery from pre- operative care/ethics, signs and symptoms, theatre, post-op complications- basically all you need to know for surgical finals. It is a good source of information for those learning surgery for the first time and those learning it for the very last time. It even includes medical images for those that need reinforcement. I recommend it...
Published on 2 Oct 2001

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in some places bad in others
For many topics I found this title lacking in detail. For example there were just a few lines on Whipple's and nothing on Hartmann's technique. As I had to use other sources to look things up I thought it a bad buy. I'm going to return my copy and get something else.
Published on 1 Nov 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The kumar & clark of surgery, 2 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Clinical Surgery (Paperback)
This book explains surgery from pre- operative care/ethics, signs and symptoms, theatre, post-op complications- basically all you need to know for surgical finals. It is a good source of information for those learning surgery for the first time and those learning it for the very last time. It even includes medical images for those that need reinforcement. I recommend it to medical undergraduates all over the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook!, 22 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Clinical Surgery (Paperback)
Finally, the Kumar and Clark of surgery has arrived! This brand new textbook really does tell you everything you'll need to know about surgery as a medical student, and probably as a house officer as well.
The book is split into three sections:
Section 1 covers general issues like wound healing, pain control and surgical complications. There are also some really good chapters on basic practical procedures and emergencies.
The 2nd section takes a regional approach, covering just about every bit of the body you could take a knife to.
The 3rd section covers surgical complications, including ophthalmology, ENT and orthopaedics, which are not usually found in general surgical texts (so there's ££ to be saved!).
Each chapter starts with an overview of the relevant anatomy, physiology and investigations. There are loads of really good pictures, with summary boxes and tables all over the place to make the info easier to digest. The book is colour-coded throughout, and whilst there's quite a lot to take in, it's really readable and well presented, so it's not too daunting. I'd say it's less gory than quite a lot of surgical textbooks I've seen (whether that's a plus or minus is up to you!).
The only downside to the book is that there are none of those handy self-assessment questions for the night before that dreaded exam. The book may also be a bit too exhaustive for the average medical student, with a few random sections like 'how to design a surgical department' (but you can just skip over these).
Overall however, this is an excellent textbook, and I'm pretty sure that 'Henry & Thompson' will become for surgery what 'Kumar & Clark' has for medicine. They look quite nice next to each other on your bookshelf as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e (Paperback)
Good book for medical student's doing surgical rotations and enough details to give you an idea once you start working too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e (Paperback)
The surgical version of Kumar and Clarke. Good layout and information is concise and easy to understand. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e (Paperback)
suitable to get an overview of the broad field of surgery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e (Paperback)
excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in some places bad in others, 1 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Clinical Surgery (Paperback)
For many topics I found this title lacking in detail. For example there were just a few lines on Whipple's and nothing on Hartmann's technique. As I had to use other sources to look things up I thought it a bad buy. I'm going to return my copy and get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e
Clinical Surgery: With Student Consult Access, 3e by Michael M. Henry MB FRCS (Paperback - 13 Feb 2012)
£42.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews