Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bible for student nurses
Recommended to me by a psychiatric nurse this book is a must for all student nurses following the mental health programme. Easy to follow, the book is divided into chapters explaining the management and treatment of various psychiatic illnesses and the drugs used to treat them. The latter part of the book explains 'consent, liability and ethics. A convenient size, this...
Published on 4 Feb 2002

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but no need to buy if you have 4th edition
This is a useful book on psychopharmacology, but if you already have the 4th edition be warned that little has changed. It contains no new chapters, little new text, the colour scheme is different but the format basically the same... and the Introduction is the same as the 4th edition (2005) even though they have rather cheekily put 'Bangor, 2008' at the end to imply it...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by jonhaff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bible for student nurses, 4 Feb 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended to me by a psychiatric nurse this book is a must for all student nurses following the mental health programme. Easy to follow, the book is divided into chapters explaining the management and treatment of various psychiatic illnesses and the drugs used to treat them. The latter part of the book explains 'consent, liability and ethics. A convenient size, this is a valuable reference tool for anyone throughout their nursing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything the BNF DIDN't tell you., 15 July 2005
This book is a must have for all practitioners including student nurses. It is easy to read, informative and does exactly what it says on the cover. Psychiatric Drugs Explained clearly, definitively and methodically takes you through each drug catergory leaving the reader with the information they need. One of the few books you'll read, recommend and buy the next edition of. I recommend this book for all student mental health nurses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 12 July 2009
By 
E. Barnes "Student Nurse!" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must for all nursing students on the mental health programme. The book does excatly what the title says, explains everything you need to know about psychiatric drugs. It breaks down the drug, looking at what it is and why it would be used, going on to side effects, and contraindications. For each drug it also lists the generic name it is called, but also the UK (and US) trade name that they commonly use. This I personally think is a great help, as a student on placement it can be misleading on prescription charts when they use a trade rather then a generic name.

The book not only covers all the information regarding medications but the end section of the book looks at the consent involved in administering these medications, ethical issues, and liability. The size of the book is ideal as it can easily popped into your bag to take into placement as a revision tool. I would certainly recommend this book to students who are undertaking the mental health nursing course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Aug 2008
By 
J. Wilson (North England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book as a general nurse moving into a new speciality where a lot of patients have co-existing mental health problems, and I was not dissapointed!

The book takes you clearly through each of the major classes of psychiatric drugs, explaining their pharmacology (in so much as it is known), their history, their side effects and so on, in a way which is very easy to understand. I was seeking something a bit beyond memorising names and dosages, and that's exactly what I got - a well-rounded sense of understanding.

Whilst I read the book from cover to cover, I would imagine that it is equally suitable to be dipped into for info as required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but no need to buy if you have 4th edition, 13 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e (Paperback)
This is a useful book on psychopharmacology, but if you already have the 4th edition be warned that little has changed. It contains no new chapters, little new text, the colour scheme is different but the format basically the same... and the Introduction is the same as the 4th edition (2005) even though they have rather cheekily put 'Bangor, 2008' at the end to imply it was recently written!

Perhaps this reflects the limited progress in drug development but I was a little disappointed as I expected this new edition would contain more new material and would be an 'update', as the 4th edition was compared to the 3rd. However, if you don't yet own this title then it is definitely recommended as an easy to read, wise and thought-provoking companion to practical psychopharmacology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real help, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. S. E. Parkes "Sarah" (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e (Paperback)
I ordered this book after progressing into my 2nd year of mental health nursing. When it arrived I was happy to see it covered all the relevant issues. It has been a real help to dip into, much easier than searching through the BNF! I would recommend any mental health student nurses to purchase this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 9 Mar 2004
Now in its third edition, this is an indispensable book for mental health professionals. It is very clearly laid out for easy reference with a comprehensive index and references for further reading if needed. The "User Issues" text boxes are a great innovation in this edition and will be of great use to any mental health professional, but in particular those organising psychoeducation or medication information groups. The book seems to be purposefully designed for quick reference, the first page of each chapter even has its own contents list with page numbers for issues covered in that chapter. If you only ever get one psychopharmacology text, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handy reference for Adult Nurses - not just mental health., 6 Sep 2009
By 
K. Philp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e (Paperback)
The chapters for this book are organised by disorders which makes it very user friendly.

Chapters have highlighted areas for user issues, which details potential side effects to be aware of, withdrawal management and brand names of drugs.

This book is not simply about psychiatric drugs, instead historical content is discussed so that understanding on how medical progression has evolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice, 4 Jun 2009
By 
T. Dickson "PurpleGurple" (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e (Paperback)
This book is an excellent resource for student nurses. The chapters are clearly laid out, making them very accessable. I'm very happy with this purchase, and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about psychiatric medication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, informative and well written read., 9 Aug 2008
By 
K. Payne "orangekate" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant book that is thought provoking informative. A good formative basis for further study. Good for mental health nurses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e
Psychiatric Drugs Explained, 5e by David Healy MD FRCPsych (Paperback - 5 Dec 2008)
20.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews