Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book!
As I'm studying veterinary medicine, I wanted a book that I could keep and use...so I opeted for 'Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook'.

It starts off with basic biology and chemistry, such as cellular structure and function, and goes on to tissues and such. I found this particuly useful in brushing up on anything from A/AS level and a bit...
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by A vet student!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic errors
Overall a nice book, easy to use and just enough detail but some basic errors, the most notable being in the horses gait.
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. Victoria Payne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book!, 16 Feb 2010
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
As I'm studying veterinary medicine, I wanted a book that I could keep and use...so I opeted for 'Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook'.

It starts off with basic biology and chemistry, such as cellular structure and function, and goes on to tissues and such. I found this particuly useful in brushing up on anything from A/AS level and a bit beyond. all relavent to application in veterinary. The rest of the book covers mainly dogs and cats- skeletal, muscular, nervous, urinary, respiratory, endocrine and reproductive systems. And it's easily applicable to to other species...it helped me to learn the names of bones and different planes especially, as the diagarams are well thought out and very eay to follow; and they are often accompanied by x-rays pictures...so you can actually apply them to real-life.

The last few chapters cover exotics, other mammels, reptiles and fish, and horses; covering the same systems but applying them more directly. Again very useful.

At the end of the book is a 'test yourself' section where you can pick from the different chapters and check you know the stuff. Good if you want to check you covered everything.

Overall I found this book very useful for getting a basic grasp on many different topics, and it's been my first port-of-call on anything new. It explains everything clearly and is well thought out in my opinion. Ideal for a first or second year vet student/nurse (and other animal degrees I would imagine too...or if you have an interest but don't want anything too difficult to understand)...and useful if needed to look back in later years (I would imagine). Definetly worth the price, which is really good for a vet book!

Good Points:
Easy to follow and understand
Good diagrams
Covers alot of topics
Index is actually useful

Bad Points:
Only basic coverage of other animals (eg. horses)

However, I would still recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Essential for all Veterinary or Animal Nurses., 30 Jun 2010
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
This is essential reading to refer to over and over and over again. Clearly written with excellent diagrams. No-one can be without this who is in the vet nursing industry. Fantastic value, don't hesitate, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simplified, 17 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
This book is the best book I have read in Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology. Everything is very simplified in an interesting way. What makes it wonderful is that it adequately covers most relevant topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to veterinary anatomy and physiology, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
This book is value for money. I am studying animal science and am about to start anatomy and this book includes all of the inforamtion needed. The information is easy to understand, read and is explained with illistratoins which is ideal. It covers the different systems: skeletal, muscular, nervous, respiratory, digestive etc of dogs, cats, exotic species. I also liked the fact that it has questions and answers at the back of the book.
This book also came earlier than expected which was ideal.
I would recommand this book. Peace!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Veterinary Students, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
One of the best anatomy and physiology books out ! It is easy to read and understand and the diagrams make the explanations so much clearer ! Any veterinary student must have one of these books ! Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to all vet students!, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
This book is really helpful when studying to be a vet, everything is written is clear and simple language so it's really easy to understand. It has loads of really good diagrams and anatomy pictures too. It's not a really thick book meaning that not everything is covered in any great detail, however it is much easier to use for revision than a big, scary looking text book! I used this book a lot over first and second year and even now as a 4th year, it's still handy to have a quick flick through every now and then. Highly recommeneded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Brother who is a trainee veterinary nurse. He is finding the book very useful and using it all the time as reference as well as for his studies.
Delivered in excellent time :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great :), 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
this book was exactly what i wanted! really easy to use and great to learn from, thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book was perfect for my studies, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
this is a good book and much needed if you are training to be a veterinary nurse it helped me tremedously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e (Paperback)
I love this book! It was in great condition. If I have any worries about a topic or feel I have gaps in my notes then this is a brilliant resource. I would recommend this to anyone on a veterinary related course. It has all the essential anatomy based on the cat and the dog. Also in the back sections there are species specific chapters to highlight the differences in anatomy. These include, the horse, the bird and small mammals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e
Introduction to Veterinary Anatomy and Physiology Textbook, 2e by Melanie Cappello BSc(Hons)Zoology PGCE VN (Paperback - 28 April 2009)
£25.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews