Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to medical sociology
This revised and updated version of Sociology as Applied to Medicine promises a comprehensive readable introduction to medical sociology, and certainly does deliver. Its nineteen chapters cover topics ranging from the Doctor-Patient Relationship, through Health and Healthcare of Ethnic Minority Groups, to Organizing and Funding Health Care. Each one is meticulously...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy the hardcover version - NOT THE SAME BOOK
Last week I bought a used copy of this book, because I'm starting Medicine at uni and the 2008 edition featured on my reading list. I only realised when I received the book today in the post that this is a completely different book, from a different publisher and written by different authors, just with the same name. Amazon has combined two books on this page, so if...
Published on 13 Sept. 2011 by NMDW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great companion to medical sociology, 22 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This revised and updated version of Sociology as Applied to Medicine promises a comprehensive readable introduction to medical sociology, and certainly does deliver. Its nineteen chapters cover topics ranging from the Doctor-Patient Relationship, through Health and Healthcare of Ethnic Minority Groups, to Organizing and Funding Health Care. Each one is meticulously referenced, covering both current journals and classic sociological texts. Important theories and studies are summarised, saving busy medical students the chore of trawling through the daunting original papers, and every paragraph is highly relevant. This is the ideal stand-alone companion to most current courses of medical sociology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medical sociology book ideal for medical students, 5 Sept. 2002
By 
Duncan (oxford, uk) - See all my reviews
Good points:
+ *Very* well written - the authors are very litterate in explaining a topic that needs to be explained carefully in order not to be misunderstood.
Bad points:
- Can drag in places.
I recommend this book as well as the subject to anyone studying medicine. I found some things a real eye-opener - it really is applied sociology rather than theory, which I will use in my future career as a doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The answer to a medic's sociology needs., 15 Dec. 2001
By 
ajinkya11@yahoo.com (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A very readable and concise account. It covers all the relevant issues in the undergraduate medical course. This book takes the stress out of studying sociology in the medicine course as it does not overcomplicate anything. A great book and a great buy, I strongly recommend this for any one studying sociology as part of their course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e (Paperback)
Very useful and easy to use. Good reading for first year medicine and very glad I purchased the book. Good concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a great summary for most of the necessary knowledge one'll need to pass basic medical sociology (e.g. for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality and delivered on time, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e (Paperback)
The product was as advertised. Good quality and delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy the hardcover version - NOT THE SAME BOOK, 13 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e (Paperback)
Last week I bought a used copy of this book, because I'm starting Medicine at uni and the 2008 edition featured on my reading list. I only realised when I received the book today in the post that this is a completely different book, from a different publisher and written by different authors, just with the same name. Amazon has combined two books on this page, so if you're looking for the Saunders version, I repeat DO NOT buy the hardcover version. Its from 1986 and useless to me :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nursing, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e (Paperback)
Only used for1 semester about health and society . Useful chapter on stigma and sickness Thought not good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never received, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Dr. MJ Jolley "MJJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered the Kindle version of this for Windows 8 but never received it. Now they want me to type in six more words, so here are a few more - I NEVER RECEIVED IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e
Sociology as Applied to Medicine, 6e by Graham Scambler BSc PhD (Paperback - 27 Jun. 2008)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews