Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick and handy guide to interpreting trauma images, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This handy-sized book contains simple schemes to follow when viewing and interpreting trauma radiographs. For staff working in a busy accident and emergency department, there is no time to refer to a 'wordy' book in order to locate the relevant information required. This book is fairly comprehensive with regards to the A&E setting, containing sufficient and relevant information appropriate to the A&E situation in bullet points (not lengthy sentences), and many radiographs to illustrate both the normal and abnormal conditions. It also highlights the common mistakes made by A&E clinicians in interpreting certain normal radiographs as abnormal.
However, as the author also pointed out in the preface, this book is not exhaustive in its contents of trauma imaging as it especially highlights the pitfalls faced by A&E clinicians when interpreting trauma radiographs and deliberately omitting the 'obvious'.
Nevertheless, this book is a good and quick reference tool in the A&E setting, not only to A&E clinicians and trainee radiologists (as it was originally targeted), but also to radiographers and nurses in the A&E team.
A 'must have' for all A&E departments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive coverage, 11 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
Well set out and devised. Useful adjunct for on the floor clinical teaching in the emergency department. Good crammer for exams and for docs in training to get a handle on basic radiology. Could be improved with a little more information pertaining to CT and MRI as it is becoming an increasingly common request for ED physicians to review these scans without a report
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for Radiographers, 9 Dec 2009
By 
J. Saunders (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
I'm a first year Diagnostic Radiography student and this book was suggested to me by my uni!! After going through it and seeing for myself how useful it can be, I would recommend it to any radiographer out there looking to know more than just the basic principles!! It shows you how to read different types of injuries and gets your eyes accustomed to reading radiographs!!

A must have for all (student) radiographers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential bedtime reading., 3 Nov 2002
By 
J. Aw "suprdoc" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When you've already got enough to do, this book really helps to focus on the common cases and the important rarities. Good explanations but some xrays are poor (probably techincal or my inability to see the pathology?!), however the line drawings fill in the gap.
This book is excellent for most grades of junior doctors but essential for casualty and surgical trainees. More importantly it is small enough to carry with you to work or exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for both students and qualified radiographers., 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
Good points:

~ Colourful, well set out and easy to read.
~ Loads of information in a small, relatively inexpensive book.
~ Lots of examples of abnormal radiographs.
~ Covers just about everything you will come across in accident and emergency radiography.
~ clear illustrations.
~ Useful for red-dot training.
~ Companion for radiographer reporting.

Bad points:

~ I have used it so often that it is looking very battered.

Review:

This has to be the best book that I bought when I was a Student, and I still find it very useful three years down the line as a companion when describing fractures and interpreting radiographs. It really is packed full of very useful information, including brilliant illustrations and analogies, to help in the differenciation of normal and abnormal radiographs.

The language is concise, and It is very easy to quickly find the information you are looking for, saving time in a busy A&E situation. It is also a very useful teaching tool, using everyday objects to help the understanding of abnormalities, for ecample the apple and the cup as the capitate and lunate on a lateral wrist view. It also contains checklists for evaluating radiographs at the end of chapters, a simplified way of identifying abnormalities quickly for the beginner.

Conclusion:

Buy it. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for A&E jobs, 3 Dec 2009
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
Having just started an A&E rotation, and not having worked in orthopaedics, this book is excellent for knowing which xrays to order and how to interpret them. The consultants in my department like it so much there are several copies around the department.
It is full of useful tips to make sure you don't miss more subtle fractures and other pathology.
It concentrates mostly on bony and joint injury, the sections on CXR and AXR are not so comprehensive, but it is a great companion for working in the minor injuries area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accident & emergency radiology, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
this book is clearly trying to be the all in1 for the radiographer and it almost is. i think what this book is missing is more details on positioning for those difficult techniques. However, this is still a realy essential buys for the learning and qualified radiographer. It gives good hints on how to look for pathology on certain images.
over all an excellent book and worthy of the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended reading for student radiographers, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
I don't own this book, but there's always a copy in my A&E, and it is fantastic for a student radiographer to understand pathologies in an A&E context, as well as common mistakes and misdiagnoses. The only downside is that the images are difficult to see Well worth buying, if there isn't a copy you can borrow!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book for all students in radiography very simple to understand and the images are quite helpful as well. I would certainly recommend it to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide (Paperback)
Bought for my sister studying radiography, she passed, so I guess it was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide
Accident and Emergency Radiology, 2e: A Survival Guide by Gerald de Lacey MA FRCR (Paperback - 28 Jan 2005)
£36.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews