Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good experience
it's a very clear book about anatomy. It's also our school's required text book. I bought a second hand edition but it is good.
Published 9 months ago by Laura

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only buy it if you're examined on it
This was recommended for my course and is fairly poor, the lecturer that wrote it isn't poor however...The pictures are all black and white until you colour them in, which to be fair some people find useful, but I don't. The pictures are to be found on separate pages from their explanatory text, and solid text up to four pages at a time can be quite daunting...
Published on 15 Feb 2006 by JuniorDoc


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only buy it if you're examined on it, 15 Feb 2006
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
This was recommended for my course and is fairly poor, the lecturer that wrote it isn't poor however...The pictures are all black and white until you colour them in, which to be fair some people find useful, but I don't. The pictures are to be found on separate pages from their explanatory text, and solid text up to four pages at a time can be quite daunting. The detail is insufficient to get a proper grasp on the subject - you'll end up reading around it anyway. It might be good purely as a revision guide, but there are better anatomy revision tools out there - Whitaker's instant anatomy comes highly recommended. I use this series only because I know come May I'm going to be examined on their contents, but if it weren't for that I wouldn't be using them. I think it's definitely worth out forking out a little bit more for something like netter's, which works out cheaper anyway given that there are three of these to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile anatomy book, 2 Oct 2003
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
This anatomy book covers all of the vital areas that are needed by medical students, but it is not at all reader friendly. With it being purely black and white with little interest on the pages, this book is hard work. But Persevere as it is worthwhile as it covers all the necessary areas. Although I would definatly recommend supplementing this with another book, such as 'fundamentals of anatomy and physiology' by Martini, as this will broaden your understanding immensely. but it is ok as a basic anatomy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only buy if you are a UCL student, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
The book itself is pathetic, however, the author is a UCL professor and he sets his questions almost word for word from this book. The pictures are pretty awful so I would recommend that you buy an atlas as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good experience, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
it's a very clear book about anatomy. It's also our school's required text book. I bought a second hand edition but it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mix up with title but customer services 5 star, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
The company sent the wrong book and when I enquired they did not have a copy of the one i ordered. They refunded the money very quickly and allowed me to keep the book that they sent.

As far as customer service goes they were 100% spot on, dealing with my issue as quickly as they could and always ensuring that the customer is not out of pocket.

Shame they didn't have the book but mistakes happen. You can either be bloody minded and kick up a fuss or accept their apologies and agree to the recompense they are offering. I chose the latter and I am satisfied as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a ucl esential, 5 Jun 2007
By 
H. Stevenson (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
technically you could pass the first year using just this as you only anatomy text at UCL, all the diagrams are used in exams and the people setting the exams wrote this book, there are even examples of multiple choice exams questions at the end of each chapter.

looking up a specific fact for reference is difficult, which is why many students use another text such as netters or grays for students in conjunction, which explain things in greater detail with colour diagrams, or even a colour atlas and text with photographs of dissections.

the problem many people have in relating this book with a real cadaver is the diagrams are very neat and student dissections generally arn't and in preerved bodies everything seems to be the same colour.

this book is useful, and a must have for a first year medical student, just as the other two volumes are essential for second years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor book, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
The only credit this book can be given is that it does contain the information required. However, the writing style is often verbose and the presentation of the book is ill thought. The entire book is set out as solid blocks of prose, with no use of bullet-points which would make reading and summarising key points easier.

The diagrams are of poor quality and lack clear resolution. They are black and white drawings, with the intention for people to colour them in, however there are anatomy colouring books which better serve this purpose.

The summary T/F questions are truly "probing" as stated in the book, which certainly does help you learn things inside out, however they all are of an extremely challenging nature and do not have a gradient of difficulty which is often unsettling.

For all those thinking of buying this text, I would strongly recommend you try and flick through a copy first and try and read a few pages on a relevant topic. If you are a university student, your library might have a copy. Definitely look through first as this is a very expensive book considering text's such as Gray's for Students can be bought for nearly double the price and include the WHOLE body, colour pictures, better layout, online resources, e-copies (included with the purchase), animations and imaging photos - whereas you'd end up paying for three volumes of Core Anatomy (which turns out to be more expensive) to just get black and white pictures and solid sections of prose of the whole body without any of the additional material Gray's provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Core Anatommy for Students, 2 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
Perfect in everyway- arrived in perfect condition and had all contents required for my anatomy classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 18 Jan 2005
By 
Alex Ashman (University College Medical School, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Core Anatomy for Students: Vol. 2: The Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum: Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum v. 2 (Paperback)
This book is ideal for use while performing dissections, as it shows and describes the different parts of the anatomy clearly, allowing you to determine what it is you are looking at on a real body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews