Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have we missed the boat?
I found this book incredibly interesting, well written and thought provoking.
My reason for the subject heading is that she raises questions that are possibly passed being answered. The perpetrators and the victims are passing into history.
Take for instance my own profession, have I been remiss or has anybody written a definitive account of the nursing...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. G. Clark

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment
I brought this book based on critics reviews pre-release and it was a huge disappointment. The author seems to have had a handful of details on a few women and built a disconnected, unsupported story from there.
I gave up two thirds of the way through, which is extremely unusual for me, but the sheer frustration at the inclusion of non related pseudo science and lack...
Published 11 months ago by J


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have we missed the boat?, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. G. Clark (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
I found this book incredibly interesting, well written and thought provoking.
My reason for the subject heading is that she raises questions that are possibly passed being answered. The perpetrators and the victims are passing into history.
Take for instance my own profession, have I been remiss or has anybody written a definitive account of the nursing profession and how it acted throughout the nazi period? The idea that the euthanasia programme was transported into the front-lines was also very interesting. I would love somebody to research both those subject areas.
It could be argued that the author tried to cover far too much ground, but I see this book hopefully as a primer for others to follow.
A Goldhagen, a Browning, possibly even a Gilbert, this is rich ground for somebody to make their name.
As stated earlier these are possibly subjects that should have been investigated 30-40 years ago, now researchers will have to rely on documentation with as was mentioned during the book, no chance of talking to the subjects and perhaps elucidating new and potentially more honest versions of events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating but a bit dry ... still relevant today?, 20 Sep 2014
As a woman it doesn't really surprise me that women are capable of such deeds, women are just people, and motherhood is a biological function, most women are born with that physical capability, yet our pasts are littered with emotionally and physically abusive upbringings at the hands of mothers. More recently the horrors of the Magdalene laundries in Ireland have shown us that in certain conditions and contexts women are capable of anything towards other women within a formal cult-like organisation usually headed by a man, down to followers of murderous deluded psychotics. As far as I can see, powerless unstable people with issues and mental health problems, which can linger undiagnosed or dormant for years, will exploit such an opportunity to act out their personal problems, presumably to do with "the mother" if primarily aimed at women. The account in this book sticks to historical facts and is a bit dry in that regard, to the point where I wondered what the point of it was. Personally I would want to know more about the kinds of upbringings these women perpetrators had, what sort of psychology was fostered by the Nazi regime, what this did to gender relationships, and what was the cultural background. I know that in medieval times during the "witch" (aka "women") persecutions the most "witches" were burnt in Germany. I've noticed a difference between generations of older and younger Germans also, there definetely seems to be a problem among some older German women towards women especially in the so- called "caring" professions, such as social work, psychotherapy, etc. presumably as these are quite cloistered environments often with little political awareness, somewhere to take refuge....Apart from that, it just seems to me that the Nazi regime was just another opportunity for mentally unstable men and women with a cultural inheritance I don't yet understand, to unite and vent their spleen on their unfortunate victims, much like in the Magadalen laundries. It didn't surprise me too much that it was nurses that were at the forefront of some of the genocide, as that is where close contact can be formally attained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary Monsters, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my wife, she read it in one sitting.
I am currently reading on her recommendation.
The horror of the acts of these women carried out is beyond belief, but this mixed with details of their lives growing up under Hiltlers brainwashing really shows what humans are capable of in the right conditions.
I hesitate to say this is a good read given the subject matter, but this is very well written and will stop you in your tracks and make you think how quickly society can turn against "undesirables" for the greater good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misconception of Victors' justice, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
Excellently researched and argued,using ,lucid and succinct prose,it was a pleasure to read this book
from cover to cover.Furthermore it tackles a subject that has too long been taboo and which helps
Explain the German character ,at least in modern times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive insight into several German Women who participated in atrocities in Eastern Europe, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
The subject matter of this book was shocking regarding how easily several German woman pursued their perceived duty regarding service as Nurse's, Teachers, Wives, and political bureaucrats in Eastern Europe. The shocking part was how the morals of the woman broke down and they unhesitatingly participated in atrocities. There was no justification for their actions yet they seemed to embrace their roles as murderers with a passion often unequaled by the men. They literally got away with murder at the end of the war and their crimes, for the most part, went unpunished and not even investigated. The book indicated that the German courts and investigative services just weren't interested in pursuing the crimes and bringing the criminals to trial. I would not read this book again as it was difficult to read the first time. The author did an excellent job of providing details, facts, and openly portraying what these woman under the pretext of their professions and roles did in the way of war crimes. The epilogue was particularly interesting as the author detailed how little was done in the way of bringing the woman to justice.Her visit to the crime scenes showed quickly the passage of time erased memories of the events. The STASI in the DDR was a little more aggressive in pursuit of the criminals; however, even their efforts fell short of investigating the thousands of war crimes. It is a tough book to read, but necessary to be aware of what occurred and how zealous woman could actually become under circumstances that were beyond human understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hitler's Furies can only be an initial exploration of the role of 'ordinary' women in the perverse world of the Third Reich... because the subject has been woefully overlooked until recently. Lower explores personal stories of a few women from a wide range of backgrounds and with a diversity of responses to the violence around them. Some are witnesses. Some are murderers. Most of the women studied barely acknowledge their guilt or involvement. These stories are deftly set in the wider context of National Socialist policies. This is no titillating account of extreme monstrosity. It is far more important. It is a highly readable account of a complex era in history, and it is a wake up call for more research about female perpetrator psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evil people, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
A moving account,that makes you stop and think how evil people could be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The final chapters are a sad indictment of postwar European justice, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Stephen O'neill "Stephen" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
This is a very, very interesting book that I hope is given a place in gender studies courses in the future. Detailed and, at times, lurid account of the German Imperial experience, mostly from a female perspective.

The final chapters are a sad indictment of postwar European justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book. I will definitely order from Wordery again ..., 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book. I will definitely order from Wordery again as it arrived within days of ordering.Very prompt and in excellent condition.Thank you and well done. It was an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, 1 Dec 2013
By 
J (West molesey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields (Hardcover)
I brought this book based on critics reviews pre-release and it was a huge disappointment. The author seems to have had a handful of details on a few women and built a disconnected, unsupported story from there.
I gave up two thirds of the way through, which is extremely unusual for me, but the sheer frustration at the inclusion of non related pseudo science and lack of objectivity left me actually angry at the author.
If you want to gain insight into the human story of the holocaust I would strongly recommend Auschwitz: The Nazi's and the 'Final Solution' by Laurence Rees. This was thoroughly researched, is objective and shows the human condition laid bare in the worst possible circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields
Hitler's Furies: German Women in the Nazi Killing Fields by Wendy Lower (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews