Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for historians
a good read if a bit too many dates and battles for my taste would have prefered a more personal story
Published 11 months ago by julie cross

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much a curate's egg!
To say that this book is heavy going would be to put it mildly. There are some lucid sections, which is just as well as that was the only thing that kept me going, and allowed me to get to the end, but there were times when I came close to abandonment. I found the final few chapters especially difficult dealing, as they do, and pretty much exclusively, with the political...
Published 7 months ago by Graham James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present for somebody very interested in the Devonshire family, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
GT59 (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
As always in my experience with amazon ... immediate delivery, great condition.
Early indications from the reader suggest the content is excellent... i'll take that as a "she loves it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Saccharine waffle, 20 May 2013
By 
Don D (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
This is a deferential and selective look at the history of the Devonshires. From the fawning tone and superlative laden narrative I can only conclude that Roy Hattersley has an approach to the upper echelons of society that rivals anything in the most grovelling tabloid article.

The extra material referred to does not make the book a more complete picture; if anything the details given here are more distraction than substance. This is not the valuable tome I was hoping for. In fact, you may as well read Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys for an insightful take on days gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chatsworth and all that!, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
Eddie Wilkinson (Ashford in the Water, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
Well worth going for a second hand version which apart from a slight tear on the cover was in pristine condition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devonshires, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
Have only just started to read this book but already I am hooked. It is beautifully written and, as one would expect, very well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 13 May 2013
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
I did not think Roy Hattersley was up to writing a book about the history of the Devonshire's. Many books have been written about various members of the family over the years which have more or less said it all, and far far better. The importance of the role of the present Dowager Duchess in the restoration of Chatsworth should have received due respect and acknowledgement. If it was not for her there would be nothing left of the grand old house. She is a thoroughly useful human being!! This book is a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
Very much enjoyed reading this book, the Cavendish family are incredible ! I have read Bess of Hardwick and so this gave a different view of the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Devonshires., 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately I bought this after reading a favorable review. I am sure that a great deal of effort went into the research, but the result was disappointing to me. The people were confusing and the text was rather heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the devenshires, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation (Hardcover)
It was a little bit boring I even put it down and read a different book. I wwill finish it and hope it gets better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation
The Devonshires: The Story of a Family and a Nation by Roy Hattersley (Hardcover - 9 May 2013)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews