Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure and inspiration for budding conservationists, naturalists, and explorers, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
Having grown up watching documentary series such as Survival and graduating to the modern BBC series of 'Life' and 'Planet Earth' I was keen to read this autobiography of someone so involved in business end of the creation of such films. Alan Root's book gives us a wonderful insight into the adventures of the wildlife cameraman. I like to think that if i'd read this book twenty years ago, i'd have given such filming a shot myself, but am probably not brave enough! His narrative style and understated modisty of what must have been some exciting, and in places, truly terrifying events, result in a readable rendition of enviable adventure stories. The contents of the book seem to resemble an account of the Willard Price adventure books I enjoyed as a youngster. Root's obvious love of the flora and fauna come across in each chapter and I am found it a compelling read. For those who love natural history, the story of conservation as well as adventure, and would like to see 'behind the scenes' of those groundbreaking documentaries, this book is well worth it. My wife is now enjoying the book herself! It should come with a warning that it might make you want to say goodbye to health and safety and head into the wilds yourself to see what spots of bother you can get into. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
As a keen photographer and lifetime fan of wildlife and associated documentaries I found this book to be a perfect add on to my interest in the subjects. The writer is humorous and honest and tells a good tale. The subject material is treated fairly and with some sympathy. Well worth a read and for dipping into time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elephants, gorillas, and bird life with funny tails, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
A must read. Breathtaking, enthralling, gripping, thrilling, funny, self-deprecating, laconic, tragic, a veritable page-turner ... think of any term you might use to describe a beautifully written adventure story with larger than life characters and it's not sufficient to do justice to Alan Root's autobiography Ivory, Apes and Peacocks. Household names to my generation like Armand and Michaela Denis, TV Survival programmes, they were only a front for Alan's astonishing wildlife films. Alan and his first wife, Joan, introduced Diane Fosse to her gorillas in the mist; they introduced the world to air balloons for tourists. Alan discovered hitherto unknown characteristics of known and of legendary unseen species. He pioneered so many innovations in wildlife photography all the while honouring and respecting their natural habitat that he has won several lifetime achievement awards as well as the scars of a hippopotamus bite, a hand destroyed by a puff adder bite and life threatening encounters with silverback gorillas and with a motorbike in the vast uninhabited Congo rainforests. And if you want to read more it highlights the two problems with this book. 1: it finishes; 2: there's no promise of a second volume. Please, please somebody make a boxset of Alan's films ... Then we'd have multiple volumes to entertain and educate us. Did I like it? At least as much as you will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, humorous and nostalgic account, 23 Nov 2012
By 
S. Holt "Intellectual Bookworm" (Kiddermiinster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this memoire of those carefree heady days in African learning and enjoying about the fauna and flora of Africa which I have only experienced as a tourist on short holidays.

What a marvellous childhood and young adulthood lead to Alan's immersion in his life as a naturalist and cameraman the product of which we take for granted back in the UK. Thanks so much for this book Alan... marvellous.

I hope Emily the chimpanzee really did clean the house!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read with plenty of cameos, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
One of the best wildlife books I have read. If you are a fan of Durrell then read this. He is mention a few times as are the Adamsons and miss Fossey. Shortley after reading i headed to the DRC to see Ivory (well just elephant ung and footprints) apes (bonobos) and peacocks (congo peacock). Alans a great camera man and very inventive. I plan to recreate some of his ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Autobiography I have ever read., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best written autobiography I have ever read, full of wit and truth. It is the record of a life spent among the people and wild animals of Africa, filming them for the rest of us to see and appreciate. I have viewed some of Alan's films and they are works of patience and endurance, courage and thoughtfulness, this book has the same attributes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight to Africa, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book while in Tanzania, this is an excellent read full of information and great detail. I can remember some of Alan's programs truly great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful life story, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa (Hardcover)
I simply could not put the book down especially as I met Alan Root and was working in Kenya at the time a lot of the story was being experienced and can vouch for the authenticity and the air of East Africa that he recreates so vividly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so much to wonder at, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole book was fascinating, fantastic discoveries described with great detail. What a marvellous opportunity he had, and took with such excitement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A man who has done a lot., 9 Feb 2014
By 
R. D. Mayles (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have looked forward to reading this since I saw him on t.v. talking about it. This is beautifully written about a life of filming adventure. A boy's own life put down in words. It's not exciting nor Tarzanesque just a great report on one mans life filming in Africa. It jumps about a bit is my only criticism but stick with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ivory, Apes & Peacocks: Animals, adventure and discovery in the wild places of Africa
£15.93
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews