Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed
This latest book by Susan Hill is, in my humble opinion, one of her very best, a miniature masterpiece. This is the story of a working-class couple, Tommy and Eve Carr, who live a quiet, modest life somewhere in the north of the England in the early 1930s, a couple who have to face the tragic death of their young daughter and the incomprehensible consequences of Tommy's...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by PT Farnham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Kind Man
I have enjoyed quite a few of Susan Hill's books previously, so looked forward to this one. This is an easy read, less than 200 pages. But I find myself somewhat perplexed as to what it was really all about. Eve grows up believing that "a kind man" would be the best man for her to marry. She finds a kind man, and they marry, and start a family. But when Tommy...
Published 16 months ago by Keen Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, sparsely written novella about life's big events, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: A Kind Man (Paperback)
Read only 2 recent novellas before this third one, out of the 40-odd books Susan Hill (SH) has published so far, including an ongoing detective series. After this third, I will read more of her books. It is mostly told by Eve in a shy, introverted, tentative way. It takes time to gather pace, but readers learn all the more about living conditions, earnings and hopes in the small industrial English town where events will unfurl. When? The 1930s?

Eve is the older sister of Miriam, who bears child after child, six in all, and hates her life. Eve had a beautiful daughter, who died suddenly aged 3. She and her husband Tommy were shattered. But the pair remains totally devoted to each other, without talking much about the bereavement. When Tommy loses weight and appetite at age 31, the local doctor diagnoses him with advanced stomach cancer, but does not tell him. Instead, he gives him medicines and the advice to let Eve care for him, rather than subjecting himself to further research in hospital.

Early on, Tommy is described by Eve's mother as being decent, caring, clean, calm, loyal, sober, but having "no spark". Telling more would spoil the joy and pleasure for many readers. Just one more clue. Tommy has a miraculous remission and although decried as having no spark, he has mysteriously acquired a strange, fire-related talent...

Written in sparse UK-English prose, this wonderful little book deals with a dying man in a dying town full of hardship and poverty. It deals with good, bad and indifference, love and care and their opposites, gossip, generosity and different types of envy. Highly recommended for its re-reading potential. Reading groups will devour it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book by Susan Hill, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Kindle Edition)
Susan Hill's work is always evocative and unusual, and A Kind Man does not disappoint. Fascinating, unsettling and beautifully written. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully constructed simple story, a joy to read, no irritating dialogue , phrases or ill chosen words. Wonderful characterisation, too. Definitely recommend to friends, family and reading group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tale, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Freckles (Knaresborough, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Kind Man (Hardcover)
I loved this little book. The depictions of love, loss and consequences are depicted with care and attention to detail. I found myself moved to tears by the storyline.

Susan Hill has a rare gift of being able to "paint" a tale using few words and I highly recommend this novella. ( )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Paperback)
loved this story, couldn't put it down once I started reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Kindle Edition)
Very good book, as usual. Great read. Thoroughly enjoyable. Would recommend to others. Another story I couldn't put down. What an excellent author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, on the whole, 5 April 2013
By 
Mr. Nicholas P. Senechal "Nick S" (Hitchin UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Man (Kindle Edition)
We read this with our book group and everyone found it a very easy read, and very satisfying on the whole. We argued over which decade the drama was set in, the details are kept vague. However, we all felt it ended rather abruptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Paperback)
This haunting tale is extremely well written, evocative with great imagery and realistic characters that I found easy to relate to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 19 Dec 2012
By 
D. Brothwood (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Paperback)
I purchased this for my wife although she hadn't read any other titles by Susan Hill she had choosen to read it it after seeing a newspaper advertisement for the book and was very pleased as she really enjoyed it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So sad!, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Man (Kindle Edition)
Another fine piece from Susan Hill. This is such a terribly sad story with a touching end.

I recommend you read this, but make sure you have plenty of tissues at the ready!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kind Man
A Kind Man by Susan Hill (Hardcover - 6 Jan 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews