Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good informative read
This book has certainly given me food for thought and provoked thinking. So refreshing to get an unbiased, honest and knowledgeable read with real points of view and life experience on points of which people would otherwise be oblivious or try to ignore.
Published 12 months ago by Ms C Long

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sex and the Citadel
This is an intriguing subject and it is dealt with thoroughly and in a sympathetic manner. A good introduction to this complex subject.
Published 4 months ago by Richard Cohen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good informative read, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World (Paperback)
This book has certainly given me food for thought and provoked thinking. So refreshing to get an unbiased, honest and knowledgeable read with real points of view and life experience on points of which people would otherwise be oblivious or try to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Eileen Mitchell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World (Paperback)
Ordered it as it had such good reviews. I''m in the middle of reading it now, and it is indeed excellent. Fascinating subject, thoughtfully and intelligently handled, beautifull;y written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mecca-nik bonking, 11 Nov 2013
By 
D. Lye "David Lye" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really useful and eye-opening insight into the minds of (mainly) younger Arabs, seen through the prism of Shereen El Feki's study of sex and sexuality in the Arab world.

The book describes how people balance their own natural desires and inclinations with the temptations of pop culture and the pressures of family and social conformity (and the hypocrisies sanctioned under Islamic Law). The book describes peoples' hopes for the future, as well as referring back to the tolerance and enlightenment that flourished around the high point of Islamic civilisation some 5-600 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World (Paperback)
Really great introduction to the topic of sex and sexuality in the Arab world. Very clear and articulate in it's wording and it explores the topics at hand without managing to sound patronising or orientalist- a trap many writers fall in when writing about the Arab world.

My only qualm is that it focuses almost entirely on Egypt, which i feel is something that should have been disclosed on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sex and the Citadel, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an intriguing subject and it is dealt with thoroughly and in a sympathetic manner. A good introduction to this complex subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Elmhurst92, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book the day it was published, excited that finally here is a book that will lift the lid on Arab sexuality pariculary females and their hopes and desires . What a let down, the author concentrated too much on Egypt and with occasional mention of Lebnon. Chapters were devoted to gay men hiding their preference and marrying women. This is nothing new its common knowledge. The only females were the author aquaintances or working girls . So quite dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World (Paperback)
I was a bit in mixed feelings of the title when i ordered the book. But as I have met Shereen on a number of occasions in Egypt, and although we work in very different fields we both are heavily engaged with understanding, sharing and supporting the change in the Arab world.

I absolutely love the book, her voice is incredible, her background research magnificent, her upfront lovely way of describing and untangling stereotyping and prejudice inspiring. I sincerely wish Shereen all the best in her continued work in opening the box of the untold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious indeed!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World (Paperback)
My sister asked me to purchase this book for her. As she seems interested in most things, she thought she would like to find out more about this. I cannot comment for her personally, but I am sure she will find it intriguing. Product arrived within time-scale and was packed well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World
Sex and the Citadel: Intimate Life in a Changing Arab World by Shereen El Feki (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews