Customer Reviews


319 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ONLY BUY ONE COOK BOOK THIS YEAR, MAKE IT THIS ONE!!
I am a huge fan of cooking and I'm at my happiest when I am in the kitchen, whizzing up gourmet meals for ten dinner guests. However, I also have a toddler, baby and husband to feed every evening. Not only is time precious, but the food has to be tasty to be accepted!

Cue Nigella Express.
I have made dozens of recipes from this book and so far every...
Published on 11 Mar. 2008 by Kim Busby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
It's a nicely presented book with great pictures.... but doesn't have that many recipes for the size of book. The recipes are also difficult to find because of the way the book's put together. I keep having to look things up in the index as not all meat recipes, puddings, etc, are put together, like most cookbooks. I like the introductions Nigella has done to each...
Published on 21 Sept. 2011 by Lulu


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Recipes & Delightful Food, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
AlexKrycek "I Believe..." (Sheffield - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
My wife loves her cooking - and from time to time I buy her a new cookery book. I don't tend to stick with the same celebrity chef - I tend to buy her a selection.

This was my first by Nigella and it's an absolute cracker. The book is full of wonderful recipes that you can do in say a half hr or so. Very easy to follow and beautifully illustrated. My wife has some firm favourites in there - Moroccan meatballs with pomegranate seeds...mmmm (may sound not nice but trust me - wonderful food when its cold outside). Having said that, as I think you have with all cookery books, there are recipes in there that are not attractive an so I can't see my wife using them. On the whole, we must have at one recipe or so each week - so a very worthwhile investment.

If you like cooking, and want a book that you can pick up and knock something together quickly - this is an ideal book for you.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quick cook, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
This is a great book, with lots of appealing and quick to cook recipes. It does have some calorific dishes, but it would hardly be Nigella if it didn't. The chicken and bacon schnitzel is a big hit in our house and the breakfast section is interesting. If your short on time this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My most cooked from book!, 9 Jan. 2009
By 
A. Ashton (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book! It is an excellent resource for making good food, fast. It's a pleasure just to read, and the recipes are all the sorts of things you really want to cook and eat. I cook from this book more than any other recipe book in my collection, and use it frequently for mid-week meals after a long day, when I want something tasty to eat, but haven't got the time or energy to cook anything too complicated.

Covers a wide range of foods, from different cultures and for different meals, including breakfast, food on the go, plenty of chapters on meals you could make mid-week or the weekend, and special occasions.

My only criticism is that Nigella sometimes assumes we all have access to the wonderful food shops she must have in London, and some of her ingredients are a little 'out there'. She quite often writes, 'you should be able to find this in your local supermarket', and I have to admit to saying in my head 'have you tried shopping in Morrisons in Yorkshire for that, Nigella?' A minor niggle though, I would still recommend this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 21 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
It's a nicely presented book with great pictures.... but doesn't have that many recipes for the size of book. The recipes are also difficult to find because of the way the book's put together. I keep having to look things up in the index as not all meat recipes, puddings, etc, are put together, like most cookbooks. I like the introductions Nigella has done to each recipe though and I suppose you have to expect this kind of presentation because of the way she cooks. I'm also sure my store cupboard isn't as large and extensive as hers' and I don't have a deli on the corner or time to pop to the butcher on the way home so although some things are quick if you plan way ahead you're stuck if you don't. Some of the ingredients aren't cheap either. On the whole it's a nice read though, offers some inspiration and kind of what I should have expected so I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nigella to the rescue, 8 Jun. 2009
By 
M. WALTON "who wants a cuddle !" (Calne, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
this book is fantastic, and does what it says on the cover, "good food - fast". it's simple and straigtforward, concise, easy to follow, and fool-proof. The pics of the dishes make your mouth water, this book is ideal for those who have no inspiration when it comes to cooking, this will turn that around, and your friend and family will be impressed with the dishes... the singapore noodles is gorgeous,.... so is the flourless brownies, french doughnut toast, rocky road, olive and lamb tagine, smoked trout pate, etc. i have bought this book, and bought it for my friends and family also. they are so impressed with it, and so am i

i was never a nigella fan, but after this book.. i am now a nigella lawson worshipper

"hail queen nigella" xxx

BUY THIS BOOK, trust me.. you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cook but I am not a cook, if you see what ..., 7 Sept. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
We have a large selection of cookbooks at home, many bought after watching television programmes about dishes we are never likely to cook. Some are very practical and fun, e.g. Oliver's meals in thirty minutes. This fits into that category, although the timings are not quite as fast or deliberate.

It is lavishly produced with glossy pictures which have that Pavlov effect and recipes described effectively and succinctly. Fortunately, there is not the constant reminder of how inadequate the kitchen is in comparison with ... and we are still planning the walk-in pantry but that is not featured either.

It has many mouth-watering recipes and the enthusiasm of Nigella still inhabits the pages. We will not cook all the recipes, but there are a few favourites now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, no-nonsense recipes, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was my first Nigella book, but won't be the last. I have made quite a few recipes, 99% of which turned out really well and proved very adaptable (Nigella is also very good at suggesting alternative ingredients, which I found helpful and interesting). Nigella's prose can be a bit grating, particularly when she goes on about being so greedy she sometimes has to eat things straight out of the pan, etc... Only one word of warning: avoid the 'roquamole' recipe like the plague. It must be the worst thing that I have ever tasted - the guests I served it to all thought it was horrible too, as did other friends who also made it. However, don't let that put you off - there are lots of brilliant recipes, including the BEST rocky road you'll EVER eat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed, 5 Dec. 2007
By 
E. Price (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
If you found Nigella's latest TV series a little irritating ('I'm just as busy and stressed as you even though my husband's a multi-millionaire') then you could be forgiven for thinking Nigella Express isn't up to the standard of her other books. Wrong! Nigella may have forgotten that we all prefer her being unashamedly posh, languid and goddess-like on screen, but she hasn't forgotten how to write brilliant recipes.

What makes Nigella Express so good is that it has the potential to be in constant use in the kitchen. Apart from How to be a Domestic Goddess (which has tons of great baking and dessert recipes), Nigella's other books tend to be the sort that you dip into now and again (such as when you've got people for dinner or when you need a fix of food writing that makes you drool!) This book contains much more straightforward recipes with the same fabulous results and lends itself very well to mid-week meals.

Nigella is great at sumptuous feasts, flavoursome roasts and slow-cook dishes that taste divine, but they are often best tackled at weekends. What's great about Nigella Express is that the recipes can be made on a weeknight with little effort (and the food is proper!) or you could make them for more formal occasions and they would still be a hit. The recipe for Coq au Riesling requires minimal ingredients and is ideal for eating after work, but it would be perfectly acceptable at a dinner party or as a Sunday lunch dish (it's got a whole bottle of wine in it!). I recently went for a meal at a friend's house on a Saturday night and they served the delicious Lamb, Caramelized Onion and Olive Tagine. The Quick Chilli is really tasty (you put chorizo in it, which gives a lovely flavour) and makes a great family meal, but it could be made for any occasion where something spicy is called for and it wouldn't require the preparation that making a chilli from scratch usually demands.

I know lots of people who have found recipes in Nigella Express that they intend to make regularly. A friend has made the Chicken Cacciatora several times and my sister swears that the Sweetcorn Chowder is the best soup she's ever tasted!

The book is great for sweet recipes too. It's surprising how few cookery books have recipes for bananas, so the Banana Muffins are a really useful way to use ripe ones up. They really are quick to make (you use vegetable oil, so no weighing out butter and melting it) and are fab. The French Doughnut Toast is amazing (and nicer than stale shop-bought doughnuts). I'm dying to have an excuse to make the Ice-Cream Cake, which looks like it could be the best dessert ever, yet one of the simplest to make.

There's something for everyone in this book. Keen cooks and fans of Ms. Lawson will love being able to incorporate Nigella's culinary wisdom into more everyday meals and novices will find the recipes easy to follow yet classy enough impress others. This is a book that is destined NOT to sit around on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


164 of 207 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Views from a half arsed cook, 9 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Nigella Express (Hardcover)
A misssed opportunity. I think that this book demonstrates Nigella's complete lack of awareness of the pressure of most people's daily and working lives. Many of the recipies are lovely and probably very time saving if you happen to live in palatial surroundings in central London and are married to one of the richest men in the UK. If however like me you are staggering through daily life and the thought of entertaining people on a Wednesday night would make you reach for the machete then this is not the book for you. I feel that this book was a missed opportunity - there are plenty of inspired time saving recipies out there (I know, I have nicked them all from my mother!). Nigella has made the mistake of assuming that her readers share her rarefied world and her budget - is it really helpful to suggest that you too can save time when providing a feast for friends by going to your local deli and spending hundreds of pounds? More emphasis on quick meals using store cupboard faithfuls would have made far more impact on my domestic routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, layout could be better, 9 Nov. 2014
This book is quite brilliant as a trove of good ideas for food you can cook simply. I live overseas, so can't get all the ingredients for many books, but this makes you feel OK about cheating, and has helped me rediscover a whole range of simple but delicious things to do. I find myself just reading through it for ages.

The problem is that the indexing and layout is rubbish. The sections don't really make sense if you want to browse for things to cook, and look like they've been devised by a clever PR person who spends their evenings in wine bars rather than using a cookbook. A well thought through book should actually make it easy to find stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nigella Express
Nigella Express by Nigella Lawson (Hardcover - 6 Sept. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews