Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!
This is a lovely book, truly lovely. Beautifully produced and packed full of information this is NOT a spotter's guide. It is a wonderful evocation of the vast variety of insect life to be found in Britain, not just habitats and habits but a record of their interactions with humans, as the book itself says "where bug lives and human experience meet". There are stories...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Big Jim

versus
20 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Coffee Table, not reference book
This is a beautiful book to look at, but the title seems very misleading to me: I expected a book a bit like the "Encyclopedia Britannica", including every BUG in Britain with lots of photographs and identification information - this certainly is not that book! It has few pictures of bugs, but lots of crustaceans, which surely are not classified as bugs - and...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Dr. Sally Tonge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!, 10 May 2010
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book, truly lovely. Beautifully produced and packed full of information this is NOT a spotter's guide. It is a wonderful evocation of the vast variety of insect life to be found in Britain, not just habitats and habits but a record of their interactions with humans, as the book itself says "where bug lives and human experience meet". There are stories galore in here concerning ants to woodlice, ladybirds to leeches and bees to fleas. But that's not all. By including such diverse beasties as amoebas, jellyfish and slugs, this book is a comprehensive melange of all things bug.

Unless you are at all phobic about creepy crawlies, you will find loads to fascinate and delight in here.

Be warned though, like its sister volumes, Birds Britannica and Flora Botannica it is a mighty tome so you won't be taking this one to the beach or on the train with you, but a "Coffee Table Book" it ain't. It's not for show, it's a dipper into, it's a book for losing yourself in, it's a book you will love if you are in any way interested in the fauna of this country. Sometimes the smallest characters have the best tales to tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Brittanica, 26 July 2010
By 
D. Thomas (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
This is a book as much to browse for pleasure as to learn hard science. Under the "bugs" umbrella are included most of the invertebrate groups (so a much broader range than just insects), but some groups get more detailed coverage than others. For example, crustaceans and arachnids are covered in a fairly general way compared to butterflies and moths, for which many individual species get an entry on their own. I don't think this is a bad thing: readers are more likely to want to read about animals they are more likely to notice. Entries (at least, all the ones I've read) have useful and fascinating material about the biology, ecology and behaviour. In addition there's a delightful collection of more anecdotal material that rarely appears in more formal texts, which you normally only get by chatting to specialists. It's a great book to pick up and dip into at random (there's sure to be something entertaining) or in which to look up information about a species or group of animals. Illustrations are good quality and imaginatively chosen: pictures of animals always help one visualise what you're learning about, but there are also a good range showing the relations between "bugs" and people (such as a graphic poster warning of the risks of malaria-carrying mosquitos, or incorporation of bugs in works of art or trademarks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Britannica, 9 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
Easy on the science, but fascinating detail about folk history and literary references. Basic, but practical information on health (eg mosquito/tick). Helpful references to each insect's British range with brief, contextual information about foreign species. Entomologists, insectophobes and everyone inbetween will both enjoy and learn something from reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New World, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
Dr. R. J. Atkins "Dr. Richard John Atkins" (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
As a child I became fascinated in butterflies, common larger moths, snails, bees, flies and wasps. But mostly I disregarded the smallest ones. At that time I knew there were 50 odd native butterflies, 2000 or so moths, and lots of hoverflies. That said it didn't take long as a curious child to observe insects that were not illustrated in my "Observers' Book of Insects". However, this book really brought home to me the immensity of the insect variety just in Britain. Now I know there is not just one greenbottle fly, not just 3 social wasps, one water boatman, one pond skater, and not just 3 or 4 water beetles based on the limited books previously at my disposal. And now I know how so many groups of bugs have their followers and societies. As for the fascinating stories, history, anecdotes and sheer facts about these organisms, this book can engage you in a way no other can. My sole criticism is that being greedy I would have liked even more illustrations than the huge number already present. I would ideally want one to match every descriptive element that Peter Marren includes for a number of species, but that is real nit-picking for such a wonderful, and lavishly illustrated tome, which is weighty enough as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Britannica - Excellent, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
This book, like the rest in the series, is excellent and informative. It is NOT a field guide for instant identification but still useful for these purposes. On the other hand it is crammed with information more in the line of an encyclopedia of bugs and so is actually readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of my book list, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
I. Dutton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
An excellent book, which includes a few pages on slugs, unusual in this type of book but indicative of the wide range of coverage the book gives to British "bugs". As well as some great pictures, each section gives a general commentary, often including history and observations made by well-known naturalists, as well as what I'd describe generally as "just enough" science, i.e. better in some parts than others but overall very good coverage. Very well-presented, well-structured and very well-indexed, this is both a great reference book and really nice to just dip into for some fascinating information. A really good book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 29 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
This is such a a wonderful book, crammed full of facts and trivia! I first started reading the part on butterflies and enjoyed it so much that I am now reading it cover to cover. Highly recommended if you want to learn about the marvellous invertebrate life that is all around us, yet which few of us ever notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars invertebrates, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
This excellent book should have been entitled "Invertebrates Britannica" as it deals with far more than what is usually accepted by the term Bugs.
Species covered include simple life,worms,crustaceans,smallinsects,grasshoppers and crickets,true bugs,butterflies,moths, flys,beetles,shelled life, spiney-skins and "not quite bugs"-in fact pretty well everything that is not animal or bird.
Very well written with a sense of humour and easy to read.
Each species has a short essay with scientific,Welsh,Irish and Scotish names.
A true remarkable book that is well worth the money.I hope the authors have more books in them.
This book is a companion to Flora Britannica and Birds Britannica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britannica excels again., 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
Another excellent book from Britannica.Interesting,informative and sometimes quirky.
I'll be dipping into this book for years to come as I do with Flora and Birds.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Britannica, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bugs Britannica (Hardcover)
Absolutely fascinating. Authors recommend 'dipping in' and it would be great for this, but I couldn't resist starting to read it from cover to cover. It's a big book and I haven't finished it yet but I will! It deals with every kind iof invertebrate, from worms to crustaceans and insects and in particular their impact and interaction with people. And the photos are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bugs Britannica
Bugs Britannica by Peter Marren (Hardcover - 6 May 2010)
£22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews