Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2008
I was given this book as a birthday present and, not being pregnant or hoping to be any time soon, was a little surprised. My surprise soon gave way to fascination as I began this book - not at all a book for an expectant mother, this tome covers the diverse history of giving birth in gruesome and personal detail. Slightly feminist in tone - and no wonder, considering the topic - this is an intriguing read into an aspect of history you're not going to find in a day-to-day history book.

I love what I call 'personal history' and this book more than delivered. I raced through it in a week, then lent it to my mum who did likewise. I have never been so drawn in by a non-fiction book. A must buy for those who like to learn about the more obscure aspects of our ancestors' lives. There's even a little segment at the end discussing all the upcoming 'trends' for giving birth (and believe me, there are definitely trends in this field) such as hypno-birthing... so perhaps there is a little something for the expectant mums... though on the whole I'd avise those about to give birth to stay away from this book until after the deed is done! Otherwise - highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2008
As a midwife I am fascinated by the history of birth and am amazed a book like this hasn't been written before. Manages to condense the whole history of childbirth from prehistoric times up to today beautifully and comprehensively. Subjects include midwives, pain relief, caesarean section, tools and fads and the role of the father, with some illustrations. It is warmly written by a mother and very easy to read. Although written by an American author, relates it to practice in the UK. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in how we come into the world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2009
This book is so empowering for expectant mothers! It outlines the development of birthing techniques throughout history, and reveals why doctors and midwives are so different in their treatment of labouring women.

This fascinating book explains the reasons behind the development of certain medical interventions, and also looks at the scientific evidence relating to the effectiveness of natural/normal birthing techniques.

I would recommend it to expectant mothers because in order to make informed descisions about the right kind of birth for your child, it is important to understand the reasoning behind each intervention, and why it may (or may not) be beneficial. Don't expect this to be fluffy heart-and-cherubs stuff, like some baby books, but do expect to finish this book in a state of empowerment and clarity.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 June 2013
I raced through this book in just two days, partially because I'm already full term and wanted to make sure I read it all before the baby came along! While I really enjoyed it from a historical perspective as I love a good nonfiction book with lots of interesting facts, I now feel MORE anxious than before about giving birth. There was a LOT of focus on the history of cesareans, forceps and craniotomies (which is the last thing I want to hear about - babies getting stuck in the birth canal and having their heads drilled into the "extract" them). There also wasn't quite enough history about how other cultures dealt with natural childbirth historically -- it was more about the medieval and victorian practices to deal with a childbirth gone wrong. It would've been useful to hear some empowering messages about a woman's ability.

At the end, the author seemed to say that although she admired natural childbirth, she still prefers a hospital and an epidural - something I would fear she would say and might ultimately lead me in the same direction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 27 November 2008
I Have just finished reading this fantastic book which i absolutely love. I had a baby recently and found the experience so magical that I had to read every single book out there on what us women go through to keep the world going! It is great and really brings the whole story and history of birth home with what women went throuhg in the past. Just dont read this if you are expecting!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I'm an avid reader of all things pregnancy/midwifery related, and was surprised that I hadn't heard of this book or seen it crop up on midwifery forums I'm a member of. By chance I came across it in my local library, and I'm so glad I did! The author presents us with a concise yet thorough history of midwifery and obstetrics. It is at times upsetting and frustrating, but always thought-provoking. Tina Cassidy has a real talent at keeping an ever so slight hint of humour (more irony than anything) which does help dispel some of the weight of the subject matter. The book is packed full of facts but you never feel bogged down in the detail. I've learnt alot from this book and have recommended it to several friends. Definitely one to read and hang on to, I don't think you could ever tire of learning about cultural and historical attitudes toward midwifery/obstetrics/pregnancy/childbirth. I don't have a negative thing to say about this book; definitely one I'll buy a copy of to read again in the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book; however, reading it on a Kindle Touch was nothing short of frustrating! There are numerous links in the book which take you right to the end, leaving you having to a) remember exactly where you were up to and b) having to scroll back through chapters and then through several pages to get to where you were. And repeat. Lots of times. It really hindered the reading experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
Amazing book, well written, thoroughly researched. Highly recommend for anyone, especially those interested in the mechanics and history of birth from midwives to epidurals.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
I would reccomend this book to anyone.. Every page was filled with facts i was fascinated with. The writer has answers for things previously unexplained. Loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
My wife found this book very interesting haven given birth to two children but she recommended not reading it before you give birth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

A Social History of Maternity and Childbirth: Key Themes in Maternity Care

Do We Need Midwives?
Do We Need Midwives? by Michel Odent (Paperback - 25 Jun. 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Search Millions of Birth Records Discover New Family Connections.