Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it
Not having read any reviews of this book it came as a splendid surprise to have some of the old characters back. David Talbot was always one of my favorites. To learn about his experience with magic and to have him introduce such a provocative and mystical witch was fascinating and quite a departure from the Rice that we know. She is no passive dabbler in mind-reading...
Published on 5 Jun. 2010 by Rebecca

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Plotless Fluff
Anne Rice is a writer with whom I've spent a lot of time over the years. In my mid-teens, I read nothing but vampire fiction for six months. Novels by Ms. Rice became part of my staple diet. Since my period of gluttony, I've read few vampire stories, but thought that I would return to the genre. Picking up where I stopped, I found a copy of 'Merrick' and read it cover to...
Published 6 months ago by English Teacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh well...., 23 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles) (Hardcover)
First, let's make it very clear that I adore Anne Rice, I think she's absolutely fantastic. The way she finds beauty in the most unexpected things, how she without effort turn all your moral views and vows up side down, her prose, her fantasy, her characters. All her works are exquisite, no doubt about it.
But she should have put an end to her Vampire Chronicles after "Memnoch the Devil", of that I am sure. The Chronicles are just not the same without Lestat's outrageous and tragic and passionate narrative. They are...flat, lifeless, although still vaguely interesting. The stories of Pandora, Armand etc should have stayed untold, the mysteries embracing these characters should have been left untouched. They makes me think of fan fiction, or something similar to the numerous spin-off books following Star Wars and Star Trek. Some of them good, some of them not so good, none of them the real thing.
And now, "Merrick". The langauage is, of course, beyond exquisite. David Talbot are in charge of the narrative, and even though the story are supposed to belong to tragic Louis, David are also in charge of the story. In fact, the whole book are a written love exclamation to David's secret and lost love,beautiful wodoo witch Merrick Mayfair. I think it's quite obvious that Anne herself is enchanted by her new character and got carried away. And sadly, all this marvelling over Merrick's beauty and skills and powers, with David dreaming over lost times all through the book, results in two things: First, it makes me dislike the character Merrick pretty damn much, and second, the real story, the interesting story, gets lost. The story about Louis' grief over Claudia, a grief so tremendous that he's prepared to call her back from death - with Merrick's help. In fact, Claudia's brief resurrection only gets a few pages in the whole book, and the terrifying and devastating consequenses of this action is hardly mentioned at all. It is as if Anne lost interest when she wasn't writing entirely about Merrick. Quite sad, because it could have been a very good story, although not up there with the first five books in the Vampire Chronicles, the "original" books, as far as I'm concern. As it is now, you go by on the wonderful descriptions of Anne's beloved New Orleans, the exquisite and full bodied language, and the brief mentions of characters other than Merrick. And Lestat? Back to sleep, my friends, he's still asleep. I still enjoyed the book, it's good, but nothing more, just "good", and probably only for Anne's most devoted fans, or people that have never read her books before. Oh, and please do ignore my spelling and grammar. Not a English native, you see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing porridge, 30 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This is by far the most insipid and boring Vampire tale I have read yet. Utterly uninspired and drowning in sentimentality, this novel offers nothing new for true fans of the Vampire Lestat. Keep away from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good but not the best instalment in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent addition to the Vampire chronicles, 17 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles) (Hardcover)
The story had us waiting to see the outcome of Merrick's wishes almost until the last chapter - she will be an interesting and powerful addition to the team of Vampires, with a great deal of potential for future adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voodoo, Vampire and Ancient Relics. Can only be Rice!, 31 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
I waited a long time for this book to appear in paperback and, when it did, the wait was worth it. A great story beginning with David Talbot meeting Merrick in New Orleans, where else could Rice get them to meet up! As the story unveils discoveries about Merrick's history with David come forth and the power she possesses becomes clear fairly early on, and it's this power that Louis is intersted in. Louis has gone mad, so to speak, and wants to know if Claudia's spirit is at rest or whether she has any 'unfinished business' to complete. Merrick helps and a spirit does appear.
I don't wish to spoil the end of the story but you will not be disappointed. A must buy for fans of the chronicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed., 9 Mar. 2001
By 
Ms. Kim Brown (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles) (Hardcover)
I don't know what to say. I was expecting something grand, something on the scale of her other works. Something about Louis - it's supposed to be his first starring role since Interview, so where is he? And when he is there, who is he? Not the Louis we all loved anyway. The novel is about David, it's about Merrick. She's a witch, he's a vampire, but then if you've read the synopsis you know that.
Louis' strength was his weakness, his mourning for Claudia and his general sensuality, of which he seemed completely unaware. Where's he gone? His mourning has overtaken everything leaving him kind of flat.
But this novel isn't really about the Vampires. It's about Merrick and it's about the Talamasca. It's about witches, revenge and majick. It's not as rich as the other novels, although it is plain that Anne Rice loves to write about New Orleans.
I read it and digested it, and then decided maybe it wasn't all bad. I mean, I like David. I find David interesting. I found the concept interesting. The set pieces were good, just not the best I've seen. But Louis is a contradiction, and the plot is obvious. Still, read it anyway - just wait for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
Great product great value :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Journey; just about congruent, 9 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
This book at first struck me with the deep sultriness of the previous novels, the character of Merrick was well rounded, complex and described a lot in terms of her abilities, magical and otherwise, the story also have some travel which was hard to fathom but just about blended into the story line, there were many threads and nationalities interwoven into the characters, all in one book. The youthful and elderly romance dynamic seemed to repulse the mind even if was acceptable practice for the characters, I think I would have liked to see more of Merrick, her uniqueness as a witch taking on some project, the duality of Merrick's power and that of the men looking after was confusing. If you are fed up of reading about vampires then read about a witch and travel into the peruvian jungles with the unique twist on Anne's Rice's usual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story in the Vampire chronicles series, 30 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
Having also read the book, this audiotape loses none of the charm of the litary version.Although this book/tape has been published as one of the Vampire chronicles,I believe it would be best suited to the Mayfair witch series;Its focus is mainly on the witch Merrick,and the story of her life,rather than a continuation of the adventures of Lestat & co.It has an interesting storyline but tends to be dull and draging in a few parts as the reader/listener anxiously waites for the action to continue.Some of the detail entered into about Merrick's childhood is unessaserily long for this type of book.In such a series as The vampire chronicles,action,descripton and a fast moving plot are expected,but this latest release-Merrick does not fully live up to those expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A continuation of the Vampire Chronicles, 20 April 2004
By 
Ian D. Pope (South Croydon, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
I read this book when it was first published in the UK, and it is a goodbook in it's own right. Basically, I felt it was Anne Rice's farewell tothe characters of Louis and David Talbot, and a intertwinning of her otherset of stories of the Mayfair Witches (which, as yet I haven't read) - Thewriting is eloquent and clear - Louis is still wrestling with his ghostsand his guilt, and this is why he asks David to arrange to meet withMerrick, a beautiful witch from the infamous Mayfair family. It moves ata pace, yet strikes one as a book in itself - those familiar with theVampire Chronicles will be subject to a lot of revision - yet this adds tothe flow of the book. It isn't as broad a canvas as others in theChronicles series, not as sprawling as "Blood and Gold" (in which I feltRice had lost her way, with trying to cover too much "history" of theVampire Marius!) yet re-affirms our very first character of the wholeseries, Louis de Ponte du Lac, who we realise has never really moved on asa character from the day Claudia was killed by Armand's denizon ofvampires. A good read if you are already familiar with the VC, and alsofor those new to the series - but do go and buy the rest of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles)
Merrick (The Vampire Chronicles) by Anne Rice (Hardcover - 26 Oct. 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews