Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it
Not having read any reviews of this book it came as a splendid surprise to have some of the old characters back. David Talbot was always one of my favorites. To learn about his experience with magic and to have him introduce such a provocative and mystical witch was fascinating and quite a departure from the Rice that we know. She is no passive dabbler in mind-reading...
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by Rebecca

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to cast a spell on me.
I find this book to be a massive improvement on the turgid prose of its predecessors, The Vampire Armand and that attempted re-write of Dante's superior work, Memnoch the Devil. However, this book is by no means anywhere on a par with the first three novels in a previously compelling series.
Although Rice's prose has improved a little, the characterisation of Louis...
Published on 5 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 5 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
Not having read any reviews of this book it came as a splendid surprise to have some of the old characters back. David Talbot was always one of my favorites. To learn about his experience with magic and to have him introduce such a provocative and mystical witch was fascinating and quite a departure from the Rice that we know. She is no passive dabbler in mind-reading. Unlike the Mayfair Witches of First Street, the exotic Merrick is a priestess of ceremonial magic, a spirit conjurer of the highest order.

Although Rice departs from her usual vampiric adventures, delving more into Voodoo and witchcraft, she moves the story of her much beloved blood drinkers along seamlessly. If you are a fan of The Vampire Chronicles then you will be pleased by some of the revelations in this episode.

NOTE: It is unnecessary to have read The Lives of the Mayfair Witches trilogy to understand and appreciate this book. While many say that this is a union of the Rice's witches and her vampires is not entirely accurate. Only a single character from the First Street Mayfair bloodline is mentioned and only to make the most flimsy of connections. It would be a truer statement to say that this novel is a melding of Rice's vampires (read: characters) with the world of her witches (read: rules, physics, and powers).

However I do suggest you read this AND the witches trilogy before reading Blackwood Farm or Blood Canticle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merrick, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
Good points: the usual Anne Rice talent for atmosphere (especially historical or weird atmosphere); fast-paced adventure that can make for a real page-turner; fascinating knowledge of ancient cultures and magic rituals; good plot line and variety. Like others, I find the mixture of witches and vampires makes for a refreshing change.

Not so good: for me she tanks on romance and "love interest", veering into sentimentality that's just not believable - l suppose it appeals to some but not to me (imo her treatment of gay attachments tends to be more credible); in this novel the transformation of the title character in Eliza Doolittle fashion by the Talamasca is cliche verging on the risible. It may appeal to those identifying with her of a narcissistic bent. From impoverished, neglected waif to brilliant scholar of "perfect Greek" and ability to speak conversational Latin in 4 years? but not without weaknesses such as a liking for the bottle (no goody-two-shoes she!) come on, Anne: in your dreams.

The original quest of Louis for Claudia also gets lost in the jungle before re-emerging towards the end almost as an after-thought. And then.....after all that, it seems to lead to a dead end as far as Louis and Claudia go. But still, an engrossing read; her pluses far outweigh her minuses for those on the same, offbeat wavelength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling tale of a young witch and her unfathomable powers with the dead., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Great read, and a great addition to the series. A sequel hopefully can be found later on to this book, as it made a fantastic pre-text!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merrick, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
I read this book in a day an found it enjoyable an very well written. If readers like Anne Rice Novels I would recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT ADDITION TO THE VAMPIRE CHRONICLES, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the seventh book in Anne Rice's vampire chronicles series, and even though it is not the best of the series, it is still a great read.

The story is narrated by David Talbot and focuses on David's relationship with the powerful witch Merrick Mayfair. Lestat is withdrawn in a deep sleep and David has become the companion of Louis de Pointe du Lac, who is tormented by the memories of the child vampire Claudia. In order to ease his pain, David asks his old protégé from his Talamasca days, the beautiful and dangerous Merrick to call the ghost of Claudia.

Although Louis' encounter with his long lost beloved child is brief, the story of Merrick is fascinating and powerful. Rice has wonderfully enriched her vampire world with ghosts, spirits, voodoo traditions, Mayan magic and interesting adventures in the jungles of Guatemala. This haunting and atmospheric book, is excellently written, with well developed characters, suspense and fantastic descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Failed to cast a spell on me., 5 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
I find this book to be a massive improvement on the turgid prose of its predecessors, The Vampire Armand and that attempted re-write of Dante's superior work, Memnoch the Devil. However, this book is by no means anywhere on a par with the first three novels in a previously compelling series.
Although Rice's prose has improved a little, the characterisation of Louis and Lestat is totally unforgivable. Louis, that dark, sensual vampire of "Interview With the Vampire" is terribly twisted now. His reasoning-- can there be redemption for a killer-- is discarded because he wants, like any teenager, 'to belong'. Ahh.
And Merrick, well, she drinks rum. And she's spiritually talented. She's clever and loved instantly by *every* character and despite the nasty trick she performs on Louis, is forgiven, because she's so lovable. That's characterisation so shallow that you can see the words on the other side of the page. Or, for the unitiated, it's what many writers call a 'Mary-Sue', a beautiful, amazing person based on the author with no faults whatsoever.
So, are there any strengths?
Well, yes, sort of. What I will say for this book is that, as someone who loves the sheer *feel* of New Orleans-- that mixture of heat and the occult and offbeat history-- it is beautifully portrayed in this book. For that reason alone, it merits the two stars.
I'm also annoyed at those who proclaim that if we don't like these drastic changes, we can lump it. What a silly suggestion-- the people who loved those first books and rushed out to buy them made Rice's career. I think we are right to expect a good adventure, or none at all. Because these new titles are a serious burden to Rice's credibility as a good author-- it is particuarly damaging to the classic "Interview With the Vampire."
In sum, if you don't care for canon, and like your characters changing out of all recognition, go ahead and buy it. If you don't care about the characters anyway, and want some beautiful descriptions of Louisiana, then, yes, buy it, because that is the strength of the novel. If, however, you're expecting a good read on the par with her earlier works, steer clear. You'll only feel cheated at the end.
Go and re-read Interview, or, spend your money on a groundbreaking new author, not a deteriorating one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't dis it until you read it, 16 Aug 2003
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
Merrick is one of the vampire chronicles that stands on its own.
the atmosphere was different.
It caught the spirit of Louis at its best, poor Louis still feeling the loss of Claudia, he needs Merrick to work her black southern magic and invoke her spirit, he needs Lestat to convice her but will he be able to? will love blossom, will Louis survive to feed another night?
Too many questions, read the book and all will be answered.
This is one of the best of the chronicles.
Looking forward to Blood Canticle what will that hold for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent again!, 16 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
This book was a breath of fresh air for the chronicles. Memnoch was, for me, a complete disappointment. Although i thoroughly enjoyed Pandora snd The Vampire Armand, they were not new, we already had a brief knowledge of their stories. So this story was a real come back for Ms Rice in my opinion.
The only disappointment i had, was that it was implied that Louis would be the central character. This is not the case. This is Merrick's story, she merely becomes involved in the chronicles because of Louis and their stoies become intertwined towards the end of the novel.
In this book Ms Rice has been very clever in introducing the Mayfair clan to us but telling us she shall not go into details about their story as it is a different story. Some clever self advertising as i immediatley wanted to read the stories of the Mayfair Witches after this.
A must for any fan of the chronicles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly gorgeous and sumptuous book., 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (Paperback)
This book felt quite different from the other Anne Rice that I've read. I have read only the Vampire Chronicles, and this had a darkness underlying it that many of the Vampire Chronicles lack. The beauty of this book, like all of Anne Rice's works is in its vibrancy and mystery - they introduced to me a view of the Christian religion quite different from any I have ever encountered. A view, as it were, from the inside. Merrick is a truly pagan being, a Catholic witch who wields a darker and more dangerous power than any other of Anne Rice's creations in her submerged alter ego, Honey in the Sunshine. it had all Rice's qualities of immediacy and invocation - even sitting here at my screen, I can think back and feel the moisture of the sacred caves settle on my skin, and the prescence of the guardian spirits prickle down my spine. Merrick herself is a modern woman with the power of the ancients a hairsbreath away - if she dares risk her soul to claim it. Into this melange of the mystical and the mundane comes Louis, the most human and most tragic of Rice's creations. Louis, like Armand in "Memnoch" steps into the morning light and is reborn from the love of a fledgling. I give this book 5 stars only because that's the highest Amazon will let me - I would always give it the highest rating available. There is a truly Shakesperean feel to many of Anne Rice's tragedies, but "Merrick" goes places Shakepeare would never dare to walk - into the realm of shadows and spirits in the most viscereal sense imaginable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing porridge, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Merrick (Vampire Chronicles) (Hardcover)
This is by far the most insipid and boring Vampire tale I have read yet. Utterly uninspired and drowning in sentimentality, this novel offers nothing new for true fans of the Vampire Lestat. Keep away from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42314a4)

This product

Merrick (Vampire Chronicles)
Merrick (Vampire Chronicles) by Anne Rice (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews