Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling story simply written
This tale of a muslim family facing the 'reconquest' of Spain by the Christian rulers is a compelling read that combines a number of threads, as we follow the idealistic oldest son, the hero-worshipping younger son, and a number of particularly strong female characters, in their reactions to the threat of forced conversions.
The reactions vary, and are...
Published on 28 Jan. 2006 by Mr. Paul J. Bradshaw

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject, should have been longer
I heard about this book earlier this year (2010) when Mr Ali was awarded the Granadillo award in my natal Granada. I listened to his speech and was curious about his book, so I want and bought it.

It clearly shows that Mr Ali was in Granada while writing this book. The geographic and historical places are accurately described and positioned.

The book...
Published on 26 Jan. 2010 by J. M. Salinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling story simply written, 28 Jan. 2006
This tale of a muslim family facing the 'reconquest' of Spain by the Christian rulers is a compelling read that combines a number of threads, as we follow the idealistic oldest son, the hero-worshipping younger son, and a number of particularly strong female characters, in their reactions to the threat of forced conversions.
The reactions vary, and are treated without judgement, in a style that is surprisingly plain and without hyperbole. In some ways it would be good to have a more vivid picture of this little-described age of Moorish Spain, but the clarity leaves the story to force itself through without being muddied. An enjoyable story that makes you seek out the sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject, should have been longer, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
J. M. Salinas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I heard about this book earlier this year (2010) when Mr Ali was awarded the Granadillo award in my natal Granada. I listened to his speech and was curious about his book, so I want and bought it.

It clearly shows that Mr Ali was in Granada while writing this book. The geographic and historical places are accurately described and positioned.

The book tells the story of a muslim family in the reconquered Granada, faced with the three possibilites every muslim faced at the time: convert to christianism, leave the peninsula or die fighting. Different members of the family choose different paths and the drama is served. As a background to the dilemma they face, there are dark secrets in the family that we discover as we read. However, all this only takes place over 240 pages. The characters lack depth and events, family deaths and the unravelling of hidden secrets happen too quickly.

It is also worth mentioning that the author has his own agenda here, as it is his right given that it is his book. The one page epilgue bears no relationship to the whole story. It almost seems like a cheap jab at the cruelties commited by the Conquistadores in America.

To my mind, the book would have benefitted greatly by a more extended portrayal of characters and emotions. Granada post the reconquest was a unique melting pot of cultures at the hub of events that would shape Europe in the coming centuries, which is why I think the reader deserves more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of survival and love filled with humour and tragedy., 29 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
A book which I can only describe as very human - the tale about a family's survival and dilemmas in Moorish Spain goes far beyond that. It is a tale of love and pain, of discovery and strength, of deception and honour. The book is beautifully written with humour and style, but always with the foreboding of a heartbreaking tragedy. I would recommend it very highly and am about to embark on the second book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written and balanced historical novel., 15 Oct. 2005
By 
Having just read Kagen's Spanish Inquisition, it was a joy to read this sensitive story of a noble Spanish muslim family embroiled in the final conquest of Granada. Tariq Ali writes beautifuly and this story has everything, love, wisdom, humour, poetry and tragedy. I was impressed how closely the story follows the known events and characters of the time. Tariq Ali puts human faces to this calamatous period of Spanish history through his very well drawn characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid, 14 Feb. 2009
By 
S. Pasha (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Splendind!! Tariq Ali a very gifted and distinguished writer re-creates the lost Islamic Spain. He has given to the world what the Spanish inquisition has taken away from us. You almost feel for the characters of the book about the troublesome times they had to endure without any help from anywhere and were left to fend for themselves. I recommend this very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars However bad we think things are now for the muslims it ..., 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Khalil Rehman (Solihull, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I picked this book up in islamabad after a discussion about the hopeless situation in the islamic world in general and pakistan in particular.

On one level the book recounts the trials faced by a muslim family during the time spain was ethnically cleansing itself of all islamic remnants.

However bad we think things are now for the muslims it is not as baf as the spanish inquisition.

The book presents three options in facing tyranny:

1. Submit to the humiliation and btray your faith

This has already been done by many of the muslim leadrrs who are letting the enemy use sovereign soil to conduct drone attacks on fellow citizens.

2.fight an unwinnable battle.

3.adopt tactics which more inhuman than your enemy.

A very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written and balanced historical novel., 15 Oct. 2005
By 
Having just read Kagen's Spanish Inquisitiion it was a joy to read this sensitive story of a noble Spanish muslim family embroiled in the final conquest of Granada. Tariq Ali writes beautifuly and this story has everything, love, wisdom, humour, poetry and tragedy. I was impressed how closely the story follows the known events and characters of the time. Tariq Ali puts human faces to this calamatous period of Spanish history through his well drawn characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I shall read the other three in the series with great anticipation. It's a bit like "Animal Farm" in ..., 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely fascinating. Although written at least twenty two years ago (first published 1992) it has become very relevant to the present time in the middle east, although everything is now in reverse of the time that this was set, and more global now. If you read it you will see what I mean. I shall read the other three in the series with great anticipation. It's a bit like "Animal Farm" in as much as you read it as a novel but you are having a history lesson almost without realising it. Go on, read it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable and thought provoking, 18 Sept. 2009
A wonderful depiction of Moorish Spain. Very thought provoking as it made you think how very different the world may have been if the Moors were not persecuted and driven out of Spain, it also resonates quite well with the current climate of Islamophobia. This was told through a wonderful fictional story of a Moorish family showing their everyday lives with there hopes, concerns and uncertainties of their fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very insightful..., 5 Sept. 2010
a book full of historical facts...a book every Muslim and non-Muslim should read...an important part of history not talked about much....a family story through which a lot if shown about Spain-the Spanish-war-religion-and much more...a book I would recommend be on the list of must-read-books in high schools and/or universities...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree
Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree by Tariq Ali (Hardcover - 7 May 1992)
Used & New from: £12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews