Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another entertaining V I Warshawski mystery.
Once again Warshawski is up to her neck in mystery and danger when she gets involved with arson attacks on seedy hotels. It was interesting to experience the feisty female detective having contact with her family, and battling again with the over protective Lt Mallory, a friend of her dead father. As usual her relationships struggle in the face of her dedication to her...
Published on 19 Sept. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very old book
very old smelly book, crumbs (at least i hope that's all they were) falling out of the pages, good book though
Published on 25 Nov. 2012 by dionne livesey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another entertaining V I Warshawski mystery., 19 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Once again Warshawski is up to her neck in mystery and danger when she gets involved with arson attacks on seedy hotels. It was interesting to experience the feisty female detective having contact with her family, and battling again with the over protective Lt Mallory, a friend of her dead father. As usual her relationships struggle in the face of her dedication to her work, and her refusal to be bought - a rarity in Chicago. Overall, a gripping read complete with familiar characters such as her doctor friend Lotty and well meaning neighbour Mr Contreras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unflinching courage, 4 Dec. 2011
By 
VI Warshawski's investigations take her into local politics, land deals and construction. She faces life-threatening situations with bold, unflinching courage proving once again her worth as an excellent PI. VI's Aunt Elena features in the cast of characters - a welcome addition to the family. An engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complicated outing for female investigator, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set in the really. mean streets of Chicago, with a great sense of the city. VI once again battles the baddies at great risk to herself and those around her. I always enjoy Sarah Paretsky, no one does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Burn marks, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very exciting story kept you on.the edge of your seat.
This is only the second book of hers that I have read I will not hesitate to buy another one very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An intense novel, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a glowing insight into detective workings and personal images that do not appear to any great extent in the other books. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very old book, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very old smelly book, crumbs (at least i hope that's all they were) falling out of the pages, good book though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn marks (Hardcover)
Great writer
EH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Jun. 2011
My first VI and definitely my genre but was left disappointed, nothing surprising or wacky involved in it. Perhaps it's cos I can hear the American in the writer, which isn't necessarily bad but sometimes is as in this case. Didn't warm to the lead character, perhaps it's because she isn't feminine enough for me. Before you start shouting sexist xenophobe, I love other female writers, other American writers and other heroines. This just too ordinary for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn marks
Burn marks by Sara Paretsky (Hardcover - 1990)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews