Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood and Marian are both wonderfully human heroes
In Robin McKinley's retelling of the legend of Robin Hood, Robin is a complex character who wants neither to be legendary nor heroic. He finds himself declared an outlaw and a murderer, though the truth is that he meant only to wound, not kill, the man who sought to murder him. The wind betrayed him and his arrow killed his enemy. Fleeing into Sherwood Forest, he is...
Published on 11 Jun 2003 by BookWoman

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern RH
I remember reading this in the 80's during my school days and I had half-forgotten it until stumbling across it on my search for Robin Hood material.

It's a whimsicle tale written by an American who of course loves the story of Robin Hood, but its pure fantasy, unrealistic and can not be regarded as anything other than 'fairytale' - or perhaps one of the...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by D. Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood and Marian are both wonderfully human heroes, 11 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: The Outlaws of Sherwood (Paperback)
In Robin McKinley's retelling of the legend of Robin Hood, Robin is a complex character who wants neither to be legendary nor heroic. He finds himself declared an outlaw and a murderer, though the truth is that he meant only to wound, not kill, the man who sought to murder him. The wind betrayed him and his arrow killed his enemy. Fleeing into Sherwood Forest, he is joined by his true friends who would rather share his exile than labor on in "respectable" society under the greedy Sheriff of Nottingham. Not the least of these is Marian, who leads a double life as both one of the outlaw band's best archers, and as a noblewoman in her father's house who can keep Robin informed of the Sheriff's plans.
McKinley's characters are believable because they are full of human flaws, yet they keep their grip on an admirable moral code that makes them very sympathetic protagonists. The romance between Robin and Marian is understated to an almost painful degree, but still McKinley portrays their love as so deep and true it can't be denied. Later in the book, she introduces a parallel romance between Little John and the younger sister of Will Scarlet -- but I won't go into details because you should have the pleasure of reading it yourself. I'm so pleased this Firebird edition came out in 2002 so that more readers can enjoy it.
McKinley specializes in heroines who are as brave as their male counterparts, and in her version, both Robin and Marian are the heroes of the story. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant And Original Retelling Of A Classic Folktale, 29 Jun 2001
By 
T. James (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Robin Mckinley takes a supposedly well known tale and turns it on its head with great effect.I first read this book when I was 14 and it took me another 11 years to get hold of a copy but it was well worth the wait. I read this book straight through from cover to cover yet still couldn't get to the end fast enough, however when I did, it was still a surprise. The writing is great, as with all her books, and the imagery fantastic. If you are going to read 2 books by Mckinley make this at least 1 of them (the other is the Blue sword). If you do take this home you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: The Outlaws of Sherwood (Paperback)
I love this book. I read about 5 times and i found it better each time. this story brought the tale of robin hood to life for me. at the beginning when i got it for school i thought it was going to be boring but to my amazement no it was actually very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Take on Classic Story, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outlaws of Sherwood (Paperback)
Interesting take on the Robin Hood story. I like Robin's qualms about the long term prospects of living as an outlaw in the woods vs the optimistic confidence his followers have in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A modern RH, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Outlaws of Sherwood (Paperback)
I remember reading this in the 80's during my school days and I had half-forgotten it until stumbling across it on my search for Robin Hood material.

It's a whimsicle tale written by an American who of course loves the story of Robin Hood, but its pure fantasy, unrealistic and can not be regarded as anything other than 'fairytale' - or perhaps one of the 'modern' RH tales. It's worth a read though, and certainly better than some of the other RH tales out there such as Robyn Hood: A Girl's Tale

David Cook, author of Liberty or Death (The Soldier Chronicles Book 1) and Heart of Oak (The Soldier Chronicles Book 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Outlaws of Sherwood
The Outlaws of Sherwood by Robin McKinley (Paperback - May 2002)
£5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews