Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING AND TRULY INSPIRING BOOK, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Before reading this wonderful book I must confess that I thought moths to be the “poor relations” to butterflies. How wrong I was – I didn’t realise quite how beautiful, diverse and fascinating these creatures really are and I couldn’t put this book down.

Thanks to the high quality illustrations throughout, easy to use layout and index, the identification of moths is now so easy. I love the information on when and where to look for each species and the wipe-clean jacket is very useful when taking the book outside in the garden or on walks.

This book has been a real eye-opener for me as my own interest in wildlife, both in the garden and on nearby walks, comes mainly through my love for photography. However I shall be looking more closely in future for moths with their fantastic markings and colours some of which seem to be equally as beautiful as butterflies.

This book would make a lovely gift for adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Interesting, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
I had never given a great deal of thought to moths, even when some attacked my best jumper many years ago, but now I have seen this new book I am absolutely thrilled by the diversity, numbers and colours illustrated!

Butterflies have been of interest to me but the moths book has completely stunned me - I never realised there were so many different species.

Having lived on a common I am just off to try and find an emperor moth in local scrubland as I am fascinated by the prominent 'eye' spots on its wings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book in a fantastic series, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Shuttleworth "ali" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
I have three of this series now (including Butterflies and Hoverflies)and they are all remarkable. Lots of information presented well in a nice format of book and at a great price. What's not to like? You don't often get so much for so little these days. Even if you never saw a moth, the books themselves are a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need in a beautifully photographed & detailed field guide., 31 Oct. 2013
This has to be THE BEST book on moths in the market at this time. Its detailed comprehensive with stunning images, well composed pages and chapters. Its easy to read for those starting within the hobby or those more advanced that want as much information as possible on moths and different species.

I found the information fascinating and interesting but it doesn't drown you in scientific talk and is easy to read with charts that enable you to lookup details of your moth quickly when you want to; down to full page detailed descriptions when you want more.

This helpful WILDguide will take you through ID-ing your moth to where to find it and what it feeds on, right down to what plants to put in your garden to help with conservation; it has something for everyone at every level of interest.

I have used this book every week since it arrived and its helped me ID many of my own photographs that have sat on my hard drive for a few years; finally they have a name.
This gorgeous book will make a brilliant gift for any wildlife photographer, insect and wildlife lover, they will appreciate the work that has gone into the making of this comprehensive, stunning book. It has excellent quality glossy pages and I loved that it arrived with a heavy duty plastic sleeve perfect for out and about.

All you could want in one beautifully photographed affordable field guide.

Please see my photo review on gadgetgirlreviews dot com
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
Bought this book because of my love for moth trapping, it's great for identifying day flying moths loads of background info on species and habitats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly comprehensive guide, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
An excellent guide, beautifully illustrated with "truly" high quality photographs that make identification, even for me, very straightforward. Identification is also greatly aided by the introductory key and notes on distinguishing features, habitat, food plants and locations.
Unlike many guides, it really is comprehensive as it includes the micro moths as well as the more commonly covered macro members etc., of the species.
I have three of the Wild Guides, this one and the guides to Dragonflies and Hoverflies, all conforming to the same very high standard. All to be highly recommended, a pleasure to browse and quite simply, outstanding value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain'd Day-flying Moths, 10 April 2014
By 
W. E. Gaunt (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For once I chose the Kindle version and do not regret it. All the general details are now available to me and the photographs enlarge to check on the detail. For me as a relative beginner this book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars day moths, 14 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
What makes this book outstanding are the 320 first class photographs of 155 species and 22 others that are much more realistic than with other art forms.
For each of the 155 species there is a photograph,short text,distribution map,where found,when flying,size,similar species and common and scientific names.
For some species there is a statement on rarity,legislative listing and UKBAP priority species.
There is an excellent introduction on general matters and a chapter on micromoths.
Deserves 10 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful addition!, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
A well photographed, presented and informative guide that furthers the study of moths by concentrating on those that are regularly spotted flying during the day. This narrows the list of likely suspects and helps both novice and more learned spotters in their quest for ID. Handy maps, flight season guide, foodplants, suitable habitats,and conservation status provided along with further reading and website lists. A useful addition to the lepidopterists library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biolog, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
K. C. (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (WILDGuides) (Paperback)
A must for every enthusiast as a reminder of the moths to see during the day. A well presented book with excellent illustrations, interesting text and data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews