Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need in a beautifully photographed & detailed field guide., 31 Oct 2013
This has to be THE BEST book on moths in the market at this time. Its detailed comprehensive with stunning images, well composed pages and chapters. Its easy to read for those starting within the hobby or those more advanced that want as much information as possible on moths and different species.

I found the information fascinating and interesting but it doesn't drown you in scientific talk and is easy to read with charts that enable you to lookup details of your moth quickly when you want to; down to full page detailed descriptions when you want more.

This helpful WILDguide will take you through ID-ing your moth to where to find it and what it feeds on, right down to what plants to put in your garden to help with conservation; it has something for everyone at every level of interest.

I have used this book every week since it arrived and its helped me ID many of my own photographs that have sat on my hard drive for a few years; finally they have a name.
This gorgeous book will make a brilliant gift for any wildlife photographer, insect and wildlife lover, they will appreciate the work that has gone into the making of this comprehensive, stunning book. It has excellent quality glossy pages and I loved that it arrived with a heavy duty plastic sleeve perfect for out and about.

All you could want in one beautifully photographed affordable field guide.

Please see my photo review on gadgetgirlreviews dot com
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FASCINATING AND TRULY INSPIRING BOOK, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
Before reading this wonderful book I must confess that I thought moths to be the “poor relations” to butterflies. How wrong I was – I didn’t realise quite how beautiful, diverse and fascinating these creatures really are and I couldn’t put this book down.

Thanks to the high quality illustrations throughout, easy to use layout and index, the identification of moths is now so easy. I love the information on when and where to look for each species and the wipe-clean jacket is very useful when taking the book outside in the garden or on walks.

This book has been a real eye-opener for me as my own interest in wildlife, both in the garden and on nearby walks, comes mainly through my love for photography. However I shall be looking more closely in future for moths with their fantastic markings and colours some of which seem to be equally as beautiful as butterflies.

This book would make a lovely gift for adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Interesting, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
I had never given a great deal of thought to moths, even when some attacked my best jumper many years ago, but now I have seen this new book I am absolutely thrilled by the diversity, numbers and colours illustrated!

Butterflies have been of interest to me but the moths book has completely stunned me - I never realised there were so many different species.

Having lived on a common I am just off to try and find an emperor moth in local scrubland as I am fascinated by the prominent 'eye' spots on its wings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book in a fantastic series, 24 Oct 2013
By 
A. Shuttleworth "ali" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
I have three of this series now (including Butterflies and Hoverflies)and they are all remarkable. Lots of information presented well in a nice format of book and at a great price. What's not to like? You don't often get so much for so little these days. Even if you never saw a moth, the books themselves are a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
Bought this book because of my love for moth trapping, it's great for identifying day flying moths loads of background info on species and habitats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain'd Day-flying Moths, 10 April 2014
By 
W. E. Gaunt (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For once I chose the Kindle version and do not regret it. All the general details are now available to me and the photographs enlarge to check on the detail. For me as a relative beginner this book is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biolog, 4 Dec 2013
By 
K. C. (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
A must for every enthusiast as a reminder of the moths to see during the day. A well presented book with excellent illustrations, interesting text and data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab day flying moth reference, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
Just the book been looking for. Fits in small rucksack and not heavy to carry. Superb photos with clear text, one per page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy butterflies? And dragonflies? Add day-flying moths to your repertoire..., 27 Sep 2013
By 
Christopher J. Sharpe "Chris Sharpe" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
Roughly 60 species of butterfly and about the same number of dragonflies are found in the UK. These two groups of insects have become popular targets for study by amateur naturalists in recent years - not least by birders, lured by anything that can regarded as an honorary bird. While out studying these groups, the observer is bound to come across day-flying moths - if only a Six-spot Burnet or Silver-Y - and with perseverance many more species will be encountered. Indeed, Butterfly Conservation's ever more popular annual Big Butterfly Count asks observers to record day-flying moths as well as butterflies. Since there are only about twice as many day-flying moths as butterflies, they are a logical progression for the birder-turned-entomologist.

Butterflies and dragonflies are well-served by field guides, including companion guides Britain's Butterflies and Britain's Dragonflies, and with the appearance of the magnificent Britain's Hoverflies earlier this year, WILDGuides have most of the easily-identifiable diurnal insects covered. Up until now identifying day-flying moths has required the use of detailed field guides like Field Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland and Field Guide to the Micro-Moths of Great Britain and Ireland - and finding the relatively small number of day-flying moths amongst the 900 species of macro-moth or 1,000+ species of micro-moth in these books might be a challenge. Given the numbers, they could be easily covered by a smaller field guide. Enter Britain's Day-Flying Moths...

There is no hard-and-fast definition of a day-flying moth. All moths can fly by day, but some of them do it more frequently than others, and a number of species are clearly diurnal. In all, some 133 species of macro-moth are generally considered to be day-flyers, with an additional 22 micro-moths adding to the list. All of them are covered by this guide. The format of the book follows previous WILDGuides publications. All relevant information is to be found on a single page, images are all high-quality photographs and supporting data is accurate and concise. A line on the top-left hand corner of each page indicates the true length of the forewing. The maps are a useful feature - sufficiently large to allow resolution of distributions at local scales. As with other WILDGuides, there is attention to conservation status: species that are Nationally Rare, Nationally Scarce, UK BAP species and those that appear in the British Red Data Book are clearly indicated. An annotated checklist at the end of the book provides tabulated information on ecology and conservation status.

Like other WILDGuides publications, profits finance an appropriate conservation organisation: in this case Butterfly Conservation.

Another great addition to the field naturalist's arsenal. Highly recommended!

Chris Sharpe, 27 September 2013. ISBN-13: 978-0-691-15832-7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! At last a way into moths for the uninitiated, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Brian J. Cox (Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britain's Day-flying Moths: A Field Guide to the Day-flying Moths of Britain and Ireland (Britain's Wildlife) (Paperback)
Before WILDGuides' "Dragonflies" arrived, I was interested in dragonflies but hadn't a clue about them or their identification. Now I have become a real enthusiast and am increasingly confident in recognising the different species and understanding their biology. "Day-Flying Moths", the latest edition in this superb series, will enable me to do just the same for moths (and will probably then lead me into the huge field of nocturnal moths too). Its format is very clear and easy to use, and the photo-guide (rather than illustration) format much the best way to show the different species. There's also plenty of information about where to find each species, their flying seasons, habitat, moth biology, conservation and literature. If you already own any WILDGuides, you won't need to be told any more before ordering this latest volume. If you've not come across them before, here's a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews