Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is one of the most interesting and stimulating books I have in many years. I already had some idea of the subject, but I learned a great deal. I feel that people, historians, diplomats, scientists, should read it, and I hope many have, but I fear that many of those who see Europe, and of course the USA, as the greatest source of knowledge and wisdom , will not read it, or not have their prejudices broached.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
This is a fascinating and over do you work on one of the most interesting period of Central Asian history. Most readers will not be aware of the intellectual brilliance exhibited over the centuries in what is currently seen as one of the most backward regions on our planet. The book would have benefited from more careful proofreading and attention to detail, but is nevertheless strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
A real eye-opener. Very readable. Having read it, I must admit I had harbored a wholly illogical and ignorant prejudice which this book sets itself to exorcise. I hope this invaluable treatise will be translated into Central Asian languages as well as Persian, Urdu, Hindi etc.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
Very well written and researched book on this extraordinary lost Enlightenment.
Very pertinent to the problems posed by the forces of radical religious bigotry and the
destruction they could wreak again, on the progress of science, freedom and knowledge today.[I think]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
A classic. Most comprehensive book on the subject with a fluent writing style. A must read for those interested in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Extremely readable, if sometimes a little sad because so much was destroyed over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Great book! I read a lot about Central Asia but this book was the best book so far!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
This is a brilliant book. Brilliantly written, it shines brightly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
This is a well researched and highly informative book. It showed that up to 800 years ago, Persia was the world's center of knowledge in math, astronomy, philosophy, medicine, architecture, geometry, poetry and civilization. It was the persian mathematicians such as Biruni who first theoretically discovered and proved that the earth was round and calcualted the diameter of the earth, which is only 2.3 miles less than what it is today, and proved that there must be a continent on the other side of the atlantic ocean and approximately where and he invented a sun dial/compas that was later used by Columbus to discover America. He then concludes that Arab invasion and islam ended this age of enlightenment. Highly recommended reading.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Good reading on history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)