Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2014
Well I now know a great deal more about Delphi and realise what little I thought I knew about it was hopelessly in error, or on shaky ground at best (much likely Delphi itself considering its unfortunate habit of being wrecked by earthquakes). A great study and it is totally accessible, even to folk like myself who occasionally dip into ancient history without a scintilla of expertise in the subject.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
This book is very comprehensive regarding the history of Delphi and its oracle. If you want an explanation about how and why it became the centre of the ancient Greek world, this is a book to read. The ancient Greek world spread across continents and is not confined naturally to Greece and its immediate environs. This book attempts to explain Delphi's history and why it was so prominent in the ancient world.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
An excellent, thorough history of Delphi. It is wonderfully written, with vivid descriptions and a certain sensitivity which shows Michael Scott really loved his subject. A treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
I enjoy Dr Scott's programs on UK tv and bought this book on Delphi as visited the site many years ago. Dr Scott gives information in abundance and I wish i had had a similar book before I travelled to Greece. I would have appreciated Delphi that much more.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Michael Scott always writes in a clear and concise . very readable and understandable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Excellent exposition for the enquiing historian
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
States in his conclusions, " this book can be little more than a snapshot ..." so there's the problem... Doesn't even attempt the 64K question: "If the Pythia was self-drugged and babbling, who the hell wrote the oracles? Must have been the priests, yes? But how did they know what was happening in anatolia, when they are 1000 kms and several weeks journey apart?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
This is a beautiful book, a really great study of Delphi that can satisfy both the academic and the man in the street.
Aliki Bacopoulou-Halls
University of Athens
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
thank you
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)