Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be ready with the fast forward button!
This book is very much a product of the age it was written in. Jung was describing a weird, ground breaking concept and took exceptional pains to demonstrate that a) synchroncity was real and b) he wasn't barking mad. Unfortunately the pains he took to persuade a sceptical scientific audience, for it was them he particularly wanted to convince, don't always make for an...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by M. Lawton

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read
I bought this thinking it would provide me with some further insight into the alleged phenomenon of synchronicity which I've heard some people talk about but never really experienced myself unless you count listening to Phil Collins in the car and then hearing him again in the supermarket.

Its very difficult to read and I've got so lost with it I've given up.
Published 17 months ago by Jonathan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be ready with the fast forward button!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
M. Lawton (TWells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very much a product of the age it was written in. Jung was describing a weird, ground breaking concept and took exceptional pains to demonstrate that a) synchroncity was real and b) he wasn't barking mad. Unfortunately the pains he took to persuade a sceptical scientific audience, for it was them he particularly wanted to convince, don't always make for an interesting read.

At least a quarter of this book gets bogged down in the tedious maths surrounding his research data. Its not remotely interesting to most people and I found myself skipping large chunks of it. On the other hand a lot of the rest of the book is very thought provoking indeed.

Many people use the word synchronicity, often incorrectly and clearly few of them have read this book. They really should. I'm glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synchronicity à la C. G. Jung, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Synchronicity: An Acausal Connecting Principle. (From Vol. 8. of the Collected Works of C. G. Jung) (Jung Extracts) (Paperback)
Not always satisfied with the causality of things and the underlying statistics, I am reading up on alternative explanations for relationships that are seemingly a-causal in nature, but feel to have more importance than a relationship based on chance. The concept of Synchronicity is surely an interesting one to dive into if you recognize yourself in the previous sentence.

True, there is quite some (basic) mathematics used to explain his ideas and to cement the foundation for his work. I actually like these explanations, because it paints a good picture of the times in which this concept was developed and it also shows that C G Jung is not just a theoretical scientist, but a practical one using common-day examples in his analysis.
The mathematical foundation takes about 25 pages of the 115 pages of the main book; as such it's not that you have to skip half the book if this part does not interest you personally. And honestly; the concept of chance explained by three matchboxes and white ants was an interesting one and I will surely use it as an example when explaining statistics and chance to others from now on. Very visual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synchronicity, 30 Sep 2009
By 
This is a remarkable book but seems to me to get rather bogged down with facts and figures that make irksome reading. For this reason I have not given it a five star rating but the ideas that the book contains are certainly worth reading about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars synchrodestiny from synchronicity explained, 1 July 2010
By 
A. J. M. Broens (Scotland, where else?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and open book on the co-incidence phenomena. Basic explanation on the matter where Deepak Chopra (Synchrodestiny) picks up the thread and turn theory into active design of your life.

A bit thin on forcefull examples but that could be due to the era in which it was written (1927-ish)

Fits in nicely in my growing Jung collections on views and theories on life.

Must-have together with SynchroDestiny...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not sure if synchronicity is real but my intuition tells me so, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Statistically it will likely not be possible for a while to prove that meaningful coincidences, as postulated by dr Jung, exist. Just like statistically it is currently impossible to prove (or more likely disprove) the existence of god. But let's keep an open mind, maybe one day it will happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COINCIDENCE DOES NOT EXIST, 31 Oct 2004
By 
alaskadoggie (Boom (near Antwerp), BELGIUM) - See all my reviews
Things in life happen, "facts occur" so accidentally or hasardous that a concourse of circumstances is so very much "particular", so curious, that one tries to look for a decent explanation. A cause with a VERY GOOD REASON however, is rarely found.
Carl Gustav JUNG (1875-1961), the only competitor as to me for "the genius of the 20th century", esteemed title that went to his friend Albert EINSTEIN, has studied this matter during some decades. By examinating this phenomenon of accidental facts that appear, he has been able to conclude that we may speak here about liaisons, about ACAUSAL connections and conjunctions, "something" almost every human being knows about. HE CALLED THIS "SYNCHRONICITY". He also found out THAT THIS CANNOT REPLACE THE FACT OF THINKING, REFLECTING IN A "CAUSAL" WAY, that is by means of causal thoughts and reflections.
BUT, it is very well possible that "THIS PARTICULAR APPEARANCE" ADDS A NEW DIMENSION TO OUR PERCEPTION. Jung got convinced about this the longer the more, persuaded as he was, that there is "ONLY ONE CLASSIFICATION" that exists as well for the human psyche as for the living matter (= physical substance). In this sense synchronicity refers to a classification apparently arbitrary. The duality between PSYCHE and MATTER has a COMMON BASIS, FOUNDING: A UNITY OF EXISTENCE (already known by the alchemists like Paracelsus and his colleagues as well). This FOUNDING, FOUNDATION IS ACCENTUATED, EMPHASIZED by symptoms, synchronistic phenomenons THAT EXPRESS THEMSELVES IN the unconscious psyche as well as in matter. JUNG DEFINED THIS UNIQUE EXISTENCE AS THE "UNUS MUNDUS".
Very probably we will never be able to clarify this undivided unity, but WE ARE SURE NOW that the empirical world of phenomenons is founded one way or another ON A TRANSCENDENTAL BACKGROUND. IT IS THIS BACKGROUND - CAUSED BY SYNCHRONISTIC PHENOMENONS - THAT PENETRATES, APPEARS "ALL OF A SUDDEN" IN OUR CONSCIENT WORLD.
Of course we heard before about this ENORMOUS GENIUS from Switzerland, a lovable and decent, studious man, ex-friend and student of Sigmund FREUD, friend also - among many others - of James JOYCE and of Albert EINSTEIN. He was however not only a psychanalist by excellence, but also a very devoted scientist, a cultural giant (esteemed connoisseur of China and India, not at least concerning the eastern religions) AND - what far too little people know - a grand, great philosopher of the highest importance, a man who will influence manhood for a long time to come.
THIS BOOK IS A HARD READ. BUT: FOR THOSE WHO "DO" IT, THAT HAVE THE COURAGE TO READ "SYNCHRONICITY", I CAN ASSURE THEM THAT THEY WILL SEE OTHER WORLDS AND OTHER DIMENSIONS. RECOMMENDED - WITHOUT ANY DOUBT - FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show!, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks for posting me 'Synchronicity: An Acausal Connecting Principle'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Synchronicity (Hardcover)
I bought this thinking it would provide me with some further insight into the alleged phenomenon of synchronicity which I've heard some people talk about but never really experienced myself unless you count listening to Phil Collins in the car and then hearing him again in the supermarket.

Its very difficult to read and I've got so lost with it I've given up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews