Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 19 Jan 2009
By 
Colin Benson "colinrbenson" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely one of the best books on the subject I have ever read.

From the opening Chapter detailing the content and effects of snake venoms, to the subsesequent sections providing fantastic (beautiful quality) photos and valuable information of an incredible range of venemous snakes.

In addition to the factual content, there are a lot of Mark's personal anecdotes and experiences, including the effects of numerous bites which provide even more valuable information.

If there is a better book on the subject out there, I have yet to find it - go for the hardback if possible - the prices on this site are ridiculously cheap for a reference book of this unsurpased quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heptologist's Book of Snakes, 8 July 2010
By 
Robin C "Robin C" (Mablethorpe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book showing the poisonous snakes of the world. The book is very well written about these fascinating reptiles, and gives very detailed accounts of where and what habitat they live in. For those people (myself included) who collect venom a useful tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Oct 2008
This book is excellent - it shows every venomous snake in the world with breath-taking images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb book, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for anyone interested in snakes this is a must have book.contains over 180 fantastic pictures.Mark Oshea describes their habitats how they hunt and also of his own encounters with venomous snakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present., 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband has always enjoyed Mark O'Shea's work and was delighted with this book. He feels this booked is pitched just right for anyone who has an interest in snakes and the format of the book is unusual, therefore adding to the interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is awesome, 30 Jan 2013
By 
M. O. Sharif "Rap phan" (Nelson Lancs, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an awesome read, is really informative.

The one thing I don't understand is why the scientific explanations for the species of snakes. We're not all scientists you Know? The book has really clear photo's. I think it's well worth the money, & it scared my mum & sister- in- law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book with superlative photos, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Niloy Mitra "DOCTOR." (LONDON, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another gem of a book from the Mark O'Shea stable.Very well catalogued and with excellent photographs.One of the better books in the world on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, 20 Oct 2011
The book is a unique compilation of updated data about well-known species of snakes. Great illustrations! From Olga Pudovka Gross and Gus Gross, authors of "Management of Snakebites: Study Manual and Guide for Health Care Professionals" that shares latest science on snakebite management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finest pictures, 27 Oct 2009
By 
A. Nielsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book with some really amazing pictures. This is the best book about animals I ever bought. Mark's stories from his own experience with snakes ads personality to the book. Wish he would make the same type of book for non-venomous snakes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can feel my heart miss a beat just looking at the cover!, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Having worked before in South east Asia and had my fair share of close encounters, I must admit I have had enough, but still why do I have to read this book and repeat the mental trauma again? Hmmm just like the jokers who must touch the wet paint despite the sign CAUTION WET PAINT. Once upon a time in Singapore we had a wee dog that will growl and be on alert even if we showed him a picture of a snake. Here in NZ, our dogs have no experiance of snakes. Our border collie did not seem disturbed by the cover while a pix of a tiger can spook him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venomous Snakes of the World
Venomous Snakes of the World by Mark O'Shea (Paperback - 24 April 2011)
Used & New from: 9.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews