Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fish guide for divers
An excellent, compact, guide to over 2000 species of fish you're likely to see whilst diving on coral reefs. Each fish is illustrated in colour, with pointers to key distinguishing marks. Brief text covers where you are likely to spot the fish, and describes its habitat and lifestyle. You're further helped with identification by the book's diagnostic notes on the fish's...
Published on 8 Feb. 2012 by SCUBA News

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Identical with the Collins Guide!
Comprehensive but some of the pictures are quite poor making identification difficult at times. It is the same book as the Collins Guide, so buy the cheaper one (but not both!).
Published 13 months ago by David Potts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fish guide for divers, 8 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
An excellent, compact, guide to over 2000 species of fish you're likely to see whilst diving on coral reefs. Each fish is illustrated in colour, with pointers to key distinguishing marks. Brief text covers where you are likely to spot the fish, and describes its habitat and lifestyle. You're further helped with identification by the book's diagnostic notes on the fish's family (wrasse family, angelfish family, etc).

An extremely useful book that manages to pack tons of information into a small, easily carried, volume. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to identify fish in the Caribbean, Red Sea, Andaman Sea, Pacific and Indian Oceans.

Now in its third edition, I have taken the first version on every journey I've made to the tropics and it is still the first book I turn to to discover what I have just seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that can be carried around with you, 25 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
I brought this book for a marine conservation project in Fiji I was going on and it was great. It's small enough to carry round with you and take on the boat and it contained all the species I came across and needed to identify. Since then I have also used it in other parts of the Indo-Pacific - Borneo, Australia, Kenya and found it very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This guide is illustrated throughout with drawings, not photos, and as such is an excellent compliment to any photo guides that anyone might have. It is particularly useful for helping confirm identification where a photo guide might have a photo of one species of a family, but not the one seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and easy to use, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Nicely compiled compendium of species, broken up by region for ease of reference. Not yet found wanting, by me, identifying fish and other creatures seen and photographed on holiday.

Good illustrations populate the pages, although my only criticism is that they could be a little sharper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 28 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This was a gift for my boss's birthday. He was going abroad to do his padi licence . He thought the book was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Can be a little confusing as there are two ways of grouping the same fish. Useful size to take on expedition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for an amateur like me, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Bought this for a holiday in the Maldives, as I knew I'd be doing lots of snorkelling.

It's easy to use, and quite portable.
Images and descriptions are very good.

I can't really comment on the range of species covered - suffice to say that every 'interesting' fish I saw was in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full list of fish, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
T. J. Moxey "Timo" (Basingstoke, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
This is a great resource when trying to identify fish. It can be a bit difficult to match the "paintings" with your pictures or memory of a new fish seen as the colours and contrast can be different. However, with a bit of care it is the best book to add to your identification library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but, 13 Dec. 2012
By 
les61 (waterlooville) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Really good book lots of very good pictures but if like me you just want to identify what you see on a snorkeling holiday, this is way too much. I also wanted to see coral and sea creatures etc. this is not included a shame but I would think for a serious diver this is one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Identical with the Collins Guide!, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides) (Paperback)
Comprehensive but some of the pictures are quite poor making identification difficult at times. It is the same book as the Collins Guide, so buy the cheaper one (but not both!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coral Reef Fishes: Indo-Pacific and Caribbean (Princeton Pocket Guides)
Used & New from: £10.13
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews