Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars William Blake's Masterpiece
Rating a book like this is like rating the poems themselves, which i am incapable of.

Language-art experts already have recognised William Blake's poems as something extraordinary.

This 2 sets of poems compares the naiveness of being young (songs of innocent) with the way you see things when you grow older (songs of experience). Most poems thus have...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by George Spiros

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Blake, but not as we know him...
First of all, let me say I'm a fan of Blake, so no book containing his poetry will get a truly awful mark. However, this book comes with a fair few caveats:

- There are errors. Typos and layout issues, like others have said. I've used this in a degree-level course and found it difficult to navigate.
- There's none of Blake's artwork. To really appreciate...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Lewa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars William Blake's Masterpiece, 2 Jun 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rating a book like this is like rating the poems themselves, which i am incapable of.

Language-art experts already have recognised William Blake's poems as something extraordinary.

This 2 sets of poems compares the naiveness of being young (songs of innocent) with the way you see things when you grow older (songs of experience). Most poems thus have their counterparts, such as the LAMB vs THE TIGER. Trully unique work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blakey baby!, 25 Sep 2010
By 
R. Williamson "r3w" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Used it in year 13 for literature. Would reccomend buying a used copy then you might get someones notes ;) some lovely poems, great for studying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Poems to Compare and Contrast, 16 May 2003
By 
Interesting poems to compare and contrast - definitely a must for any literature student. Moreover, if you're interested in the different movements, as Blake was a key figure in bringing Romanticism into poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely delightful!, 28 Jun 2001
Blake the poet or Blake the artist? The two are inseparable, and this book combines the two sides to his genius by having the Songs and their colour plates side by side. Blake's longing for reform stands out a mile within the pages, particularly in his most powerful poem 'London'. Poetry has never been the most popular with lovers of literature, but this is a worthy exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars printing is dreadful, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was looking forward to receiving this book, but was really appalled at the dreadfull way the book has been printed, in places it is absolutely illegible so it is a complete waste of money, dont buy this item go for a better option
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars College Studies, 13 July 2013
By 
B. G. Rooke (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This volume was purchased to assist our Granddaughter in her A level studies and so far she has found it to be most useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this second hand for my A2 English literature course. It came with minimal notes already in it, which was great! Also, Blake's poetry is brilliant. I recommend this edition for the A Level course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most reasonable, arrived most promptly, packaged well, not a single notation of error. MInor blemishes in pencil nbut nothing unanticipated. I was most pleased and would purchase a product woth you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Blake, but not as we know him..., 23 Mar 2012
By 
Lewa (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
First of all, let me say I'm a fan of Blake, so no book containing his poetry will get a truly awful mark. However, this book comes with a fair few caveats:

- There are errors. Typos and layout issues, like others have said. I've used this in a degree-level course and found it difficult to navigate.
- There's none of Blake's artwork. To really appreciate quite a few of his poems, they need to be read as part of the images that surround them or much if not all of the meaning is lost.
- Many assertions (such as Burke's 'swinish multitude' quote being linked to 'The Tyger') are unreferenced, so there's no chance for further study.

If you're looking for a Key Stage Three study guide to Blake, this is excellent. It provides key themes such as 'motherhood' or 'despair' and provides a way into some poems (such as 'The SIck Rose'), but would be vastly improved with image analysis too, as the explanations given rarely mention the art.

So, if you're doing Blake at secondary school or A Level, and are seriously struggling: give this book a try, but try to avoid quoting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - This edition contains no illustrations, 11 Aug 2009
This editions does NOT contain the original illustrations and is very poorly laid out. It also does not match the 'look inside' feature in the description which also indicates the original edition including Blake's artwork and an added introduction. - £3.99 isn't a lot of money but I feel ripped off.

Unless you want a simple text version of the poems with plenty of white space to make notes I'd look around for an illustrated version especially as Blake was as renouned as a fine-art printer as much as a poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews