Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Board book|Change
Price:£6.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2000
Told in Eric Carle's inimitable syle of collage pictures and text, this books tells the story of a year in Hermit crab's life. He has grown too big for his old shell and needs to find some decoration for his new one. By December he has found many friends but is again too big. There is a super, surprising ending... We have borrowed this book countless times from the local libary whilst looking for a copy! Mum and Jonathan (almost 4)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
My son,5, enjoyed this tons. He was able to tackle reading some of it himself,and the pictures are colourful with things to spot from the stories. There is a recurring theme, of the hermit crab outgrowing his house, that is not too repetitive to bore the adult reader.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
A HOUSE FOR HERMIT CRAB is a charming story about the habits of a hermit crab, with a subtheme : the breaking away from the old and venturing out into the new.

When Hermit Crab outgrows his old shell, he has to find a bigger place in which to dwell. His new home is old and very plain. But, bit by bit, anemone and starfish and crusty coral come along to adorn it; snail keep it clean, sea urchin (prickly and fierce) love to protect it and lanternfish light it up. Hermit is a happy crab. Until his cozy quarters become too cramped and again, coming full circle, he has to let go of the shell (along with the comfort of the sweet and familiar).

"I couldn't stay in that little shell forever," said Hermit Crab as he waved goodbye.

The ocean floor looked wider than he had remembered, but Hermit Crab wasn't afraid....."Sponges!" he thought. "Barnacles! Clown fish! Sand dollars! Electric Eels! Oh, there are so many possibilities!...."

So many possibilities : the important message about accepting the cycle of change with an open mind, a message made simple and gentle as only Eric Carle can. I learned a lot about hermit crabs too (stuff I didn't know - I'd actually never heard of a hermit crab until reading the book) and the illustrations are attractive and easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
The writing in this book is way too small for enjoyment with a little one - especially one grabbing the pages or an older one learning to read. Big writing is what is needed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Lovely story and good for helping remember months of the year. We bought this as a gift as it is one of my sons favourite stories. Smaller and flimsier than the one we have but still good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
What a lovely story....Goes beautifully with our Rainbow Fish topic at school! Will be great for story time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2001
An absolute marvel, wonderfully illustrated, colourful and very friendly. Suitable for younger children, or even adults! Short and sweet, but a lovely tale.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Love this book. great way to teach months of the year
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
i love eric carle and now my child is also a big fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Good quality lovely story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.