Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky tale of monsters at sea - a lot of fun.
The second book in a series and probably works better if you read the books in the proper order. The same characters appear in both books and this story, though a different adventure, follows on quite closely from the first. Just in case you hadn't realised; the movie 'The Box Trolls' was based on the first book 'Here be Monsters'.

What my grandchildren enjoy...
Published 2 months ago by JK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I needed to have read the first book really
This is the second of a series, of which the first book, Here Be Monsters, has been made into a film called The Box Trolls. The second book carries on from the first book with all the same characters, albeit a different story. You do though, I think, need to have more information about those characters and what went before in order to make proper sense of this next...
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky tale of monsters at sea - a lot of fun., 5 May 2015
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The second book in a series and probably works better if you read the books in the proper order. The same characters appear in both books and this story, though a different adventure, follows on quite closely from the first. Just in case you hadn't realised; the movie 'The Box Trolls' was based on the first book 'Here be Monsters'.

What my grandchildren enjoy most are the gentle, non threatening monsters floundering around having an adventure at sea. They're too young to read the book for themselves but we had a lot of fun making up monster voices while I read them the story.

The story has a good sense of adventure, plenty of action to keep children hooked and the characters are very easy to like. There are quirky black and white illustrations throughout.

Children under 5 will certainly need a hand to read the book and it perhaps falls better into the 6+ age group as a 'read on your own' story.

The book runs to approx 255 pages broken up into short, choppy chapters which flow nicely and allow for a break without spoiling the action.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worse Things Happen at Sea!, 5 May 2015
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At 255 pages and with 44 short chapters, this is ideal for confident readers of approximately 7+. There are lots of black and white illustrations and, although neither of my children had read the previous book featuring the Boxtrolls, “Here Be Monsters!” they both enjoyed this novel and said they would like to read the first book, as they liked this one so much.

The story begins in the town of Ratbridge, where Arthur and his grandfather are running the Ratbridge Nautical Laundry. The police, accompanied by a mob, shortly arrive, complaining about the laundry hanging out underwear to dry. In court, those running the laundry lose the case and are given a huge fine, with six months in which to find the money. One way of earning the money is to go on an expedition to gather the secret ingredient for a miracle medicine, “Black Jollop.” So, the Nautical Laundry is forced to set sail and off the ship sets, along with the rat-pirate crew, on an exciting adventure. With lots of quirky characters and a fast paced storyline, this book will appeal to both boys and girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! A follow-up to Here Be Monsters!, 7 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun, inventive, silly and exciting - the further adventures of Arthur and his friends are just as good as in Here Be Monsters. The illustrations are perfect, the characters wonderful, and it's a real page-turner, too. It's been nearly five years since Here Be Monsters, and while it's been worth the wait, I wouldn't say no to an earlier release for a third helping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I needed to have read the first book really, 4 May 2015
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second of a series, of which the first book, Here Be Monsters, has been made into a film called The Box Trolls. The second book carries on from the first book with all the same characters, albeit a different story. You do though, I think, need to have more information about those characters and what went before in order to make proper sense of this next adventure. There are little snippets throughout the book that allude to what happened previously, but not enough for you to fully 'get it'. As such I found this rather frustrating and I don't know how a child reader would cope with that at all.

Having said that, it is a rollicking adventure with plenty of surreal and funny moments which mean that it is fun and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story for any child with a nautical interest!, 24 April 2015
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although perhaps a little young for this book, my 7 year old nephew is into anything to do with pirates (and monsters) and is absolutely loving this story!

There are quirky and very amusing illustrations on almost every page, which catch the child's interest and encourages them to read the events which lead up to the picture - a clever technique.

Amongst the comedy and fantasy elements are genuine educational facts about geographic locations and nautical customs such as the Neptune ceremony when one first crosses the equator.

All in all, this is the sort of book which could well ensure your children are bitten by the reading bug at an early age.

A "barrel of fun" indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and hi-jinks on the high seas!, 6 May 2015
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Packed full of adventure and engaging illustrations, this story moves along at a cracking pace, helped by the fact that it is broken up into short chapters. It is handy that this works well as a standalone book as I haven't read the first (Here be Monsters) or seen the film based on it.
This adventure begins with serious matter - the owners of the Nautical Laundry are arrested and taken to Court as the display of clothing drying in public (particularly underwear) has upset a visiting dignitary and therefore damaged the town's reputation. Faced with a huge fine, the only option left open is to sail the seas in search of the secret ingredient for Black Jollop, a miracle medicine. This is when the adventure really begins ...
'Worse Things Happen at Sea!' is a fun story which should appeal to quite a wide age range. Younger children will enjoy having it read to them, (especially if there are funny voices added in during the telling of the tale), older children will relish the challenge of the small print, the 255 pages to read through and the great vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worst things happen at sea, 26 May 2015
By 
Romreader "pawsperson" (Gosport, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is suitable for both boys and girls and is the second book in the series but easy to follow on without reading the first as most children are familiar with boxtrolls, pirates and monsters. I also found my daughter found it easy to read a chapter as they are just a few pages long and gradually read the chapters one a night before bed.
The story is based around the adventures of Arthur and his grandfather , My child's favourite characters were kipper the Pirate and the Boxtrolls .As most children do my daughter also likes having the illustrations in the book which I found also helped encourage her to read. The book is well written and I found Alan Snows book gave a good understanding of adjectives and speech to a child about 8 to 10 years old and helps then learn in a fun way.The part when Arthur was taken from a barrel that was dismantled and looked like a giant cheese was highly amusing.'
I gave this a 5 star rating due to my child reading and keeping interested in a book the whole way through which is hard to do, Its a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One for a wide age range, great fun for all, 28 April 2015
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this for my nine year old grand daughter to read to herself, my five year old grandson to have it read to him and the eleven year old grandson to glance through for a laugh. We have all been to see The Boxtrolls, the movie version of Here Be Monsters, together at the local cinema and so we already friends of these gentle, goofy creatures. I love it being about a Rats Laundry Ship, as I seem to be constantly washing, pegging out, ironing etc...

Having a paperback like this to read is a step up from the old favourite picture books we have grown to love over the years. This feels more meaty and entertaining, with proper chapters each headed, no need to pile up a stack of books, just this one will keep the children amused. Handy to have an introduction to the characters in the front, with pictures to identify them better. There are constant illustrations throughout, in black and white, no two pages without a jolly drawing, which help the story along no end. Pages from the local paper sum it all up and strengthen the tale. The occasional shouty CAPITALS emphasise the important bits and wake you up.

It is very popular in our house, we all love it, particularly as we are very big on Pirates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great yarn., 6 May 2015
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This sequel to 'Here Be Monsters', the inspiration for the recent Boxtrolls movie, continues the story of the odd bunch of characters from the first book and finds them in trouble right from the start.

A good children's author is able to create strange and wonderful characters. A great children's author makes them believable, and that's what Alan Snow has managed to do here, mixing laundry with pirate rats, Boxtrolls and strange (and often hilarious) monsters, along with a quest which is put into gear by the arrest of the crew for flaunting the underwear of customers on the masts of the ship (to dry it, obviously).

My kids, a recently 9 year old and 10 year old) both enjoyed this book and they loved the adventures and, in particular, the characters. They'd watched Boxtrolls but hadn't read the previous book, so some of the characters were unfamiliar. It didn't spoil the story but it's obvious that some background is missed unless you pick up Here Be Monsters first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Read the first book, first!, 10 May 2015
By 
Curlynob (Eastleigh, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've just read "Worse Things Happen at Sea" to my 8 year old son (Yr 3). He was attracted to the book by the recent “Boxtrolls” film, which he hasn't seen, but has heard about through friends. This is the second book in the series - the first being "Here Be Monsters!", which the film was based upon. Often you can get away with reading books in the wrong order, but not so here. The story gets underway very quickly with little introduction to the characters or their rather surreal world. If you have read the first book, I'm sure you'll love this - it's entertaining and well written with lots of illustrations. If you haven't read the first book, search again for "Here Be Monsters!" by the same author and start your adventure there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews