Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, if delicate pop-up book
Just purchased this book after hearing about it on NPR (I live in the US). Beautifully illustrated, with some wonderful, if delicate pop-ups and other constructions. Robert Sabuda truly is a "paper engineer", the 3-D depiction of the rabbit hole with the falling Alice, the tea-party are all imaginatively depicted. However, some of the pop-ups are particularly fragile and...
Published on 9 Dec 2003 by A. King

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I am a real fan of Robert Sabuda's minimalist white sculptures illustrating well-known Christmas verses. However, I did not like this interpretation of a classic children's story. I bought it out of curiosity, wondering how on earth he could deal with an entire novel. It is so heavily abridged as to be unrecognisable for the subtlty and beauty of Carroll's original. How...
Published on 6 Oct 2006 by Dr. H. Payne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, if delicate pop-up book, 9 Dec 2003
By 
A. King (Basque region, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
Just purchased this book after hearing about it on NPR (I live in the US). Beautifully illustrated, with some wonderful, if delicate pop-ups and other constructions. Robert Sabuda truly is a "paper engineer", the 3-D depiction of the rabbit hole with the falling Alice, the tea-party are all imaginatively depicted. However, some of the pop-ups are particularly fragile and so I think this is a book better for the older child or even adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 6 Oct 2006
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
I am a real fan of Robert Sabuda's minimalist white sculptures illustrating well-known Christmas verses. However, I did not like this interpretation of a classic children's story. I bought it out of curiosity, wondering how on earth he could deal with an entire novel. It is so heavily abridged as to be unrecognisable for the subtlty and beauty of Carroll's original. How can you have Alice in Wonderland in 12 pages with only a few lines of text on each page?

In contrast to Sabuda's real masterpieces, the pages of this story were cluttered and inelegant. I'm still impressed by his paper sculptures but I wouldn't recommend this book for "Alice" fans or for those who want to see Sabuda at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes the younger child into Wonderland, 28 Nov 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
My six-year old daughter and I read the original in a beautifully illustrated version but couldn't resist adding this to the book shelf as well. It's a visual feast of wonderfully clever paper engineering, with bold bright images that spring right out of the page. They were striking (and strong) enough to entice my four-year old boy into Wonderland whereas the classic version with Oxenbury's illustrations hadn't excited him. Obviously the story is heavily abridged, with about 5000 words to Carroll's 30,000. However, marketed as a pop-up adaptation, surely this is what a reader should expect. The overall feel and flow is pretty true to the original, and there is a wealth of prose and other pop-up features crammed into mini-books on each double page.
It must have been a daunting challenge to compact this complex narrative into just six "scenes" [The Riverbank, The White Rabbit's House, The Duchess's Kitchen, The Mad Hatter's Tea party, The Croquet ground, and "Nothing but a pack of cards"] and I would like to congratulate Robert Sabuda for a fresh and stunning approach to a traditional favourite. What a great way to lead a younger child into Wonderland.
[And if you like this, Sabuda does an equally amazing Wizard of Oz...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Victoriana, 20 Aug 2006
By 
J. Hagerty (Twickenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
This was a gift to my 4 year old daughter. The tale is faithful to the book and the pop-ups are wonderful. A multilayered treat if ever there was one. Not suitable for younger children, but then what pop-ups are?

A really beautiful classic. My daughter has put it in her special corner where no one else can touch it. She brings it out every day for me to read and then puts it away before anyone else can touch it. She loves it, I think it is beautiful and entertaining. Do childrens books come any better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
This is a top notch pop up book of great quality and detail, not just your average children's book. As an adult I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. It made a great gift for a friends daughter even though she is 13. Certainly a book to stir the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book with the most beautiful pop ups I have ever seen, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book which is a must for any little girl or Alice in Wonderland collector. The pop ups are amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great gift, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
Fabulous pop up pictures - just amazing. I would definitely recommend this for children or perhaps for the adult collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
This is the most beautiful book . Got this for my daughter as a present , so pleased i did , from the moment i opened it i was blown away by the detail & beauty of it Every page was really like stepping into another world . The way it comes to life when you turn a page was something special . Hats off to the creator and the designer & of course a special thank you to lewis carroll for bringing it all to life in the first place .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
Beautiful book!!!! All these books are just fantastic. I have bought 2 now and I enjoy them as much as my kid! I bought Alice in Wonderland used because Amazon kept me waiting for months for the brand new one I've ordered in the first place(supposed should've taken only a month to be delivered) I was a bit sceptical but because the description said "like new", I went for it. Sooooo happy I did it! The book is in perfect condition and arrived in a week. Very good service HopeBookStore! I will definetily buy from you again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventure in Wonderland, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up) (Hardcover)
Excellent a book to treasure for many years to come.
My granddaughter will love this.
Bought as a Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Classic Collectable Popup (Classic Collectible Pop-Up)
Used & New from: £12.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews