Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Spiderwick Chronicles so far, 27 July 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
'Lucinda's Secret' is the third book in the Spiderwick Chronicles - continuing from where Book 2 -'The Seeing Stone' left off.
The Grace children are in more danger than ever. Thimbletack their house-boggart has fallen out with nine year-old-Jared because he refuses to give him Arthur Spiderwick's old book containing the truth about the invisible faerie world - only now, it isn't invisible to the Grace kids any longer. A hobgoblin spat in their eyes, giving them 'the sight,' and now they see magical creatures that are invisible to their mother and everyone else. This is perhaps as well, as Jared's twin brother Simon is looking after an enormous injured griffin!
The old house that the Grace family live in belongs to their Great Aunt Lucinda - locked away in an insane asylum for refusing food and claiming she is fed by faeries. Jared realizes that their mad relative isn't perhaps as insane as people think - so he, Simon and Mallory visit her, to ask her advice about what they should do with the Field Guide. But when they return home they are in for an unpleasant surprise. This time their adventure involves a phooka, a unicorn and some beautiful yet sinister elves.
These little books are like something from a bygone era. The writing is a delight - but it is the illustrations that make them truly special. They are amply illustrated with fabulous 'Arthur Rackham' style pictures that will delight children from 8 to 80.
This book is the third in a series of five - about the strange, magical, and decidedly dangerous inhabitants of the invisible faerie world that surrounds us. The Spiderwick Chronicles continue with: Book 4 - 'The Ironwood Tree.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The children meet Aunt Lucy, 21 April 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
By now you have figured out that the Spiderwick Chronicles are actually one story split over several books much as the Tolkien story is not a trilogy but a one story split over three books.

In the last book we see that the children made up a lame excuse for their foray into the magical world around them.

Now they wonder why the Field Guide is of interest to every one and go to Aunt Lucinda for answers. As you recall Aunt Lucinda is in the Nut house, oops, rest home for eccentrics. They get more than they planned on.

We follow them as they discover the mystery of the missing Arthur Spiderwick. The adventure has a sort of Alice feel.

Be he alive or be he dead

They think they know

Which way Arthur fled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book because it makes you believe and it makes you laugh and it makes you have a better imagination.

I gave this book 5stars because it's fab and funny also fun.

I would give this book to Lily-May red fern because she has read book 1and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastical, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has been keeping a young grandson very happy, edgy, scared, wide eyed and enthralled for a few nights as I read him a bedtime story via Skype - a lovely way to keep in touch. Story spellbinding and illustrations magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great set of books, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
We lost the original books so decided to replace them in hardback - a lovely book but not quite to the original high quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
This book arrived quickly,well before the expected date, so was able to give as a Christmas gift. It was well packaged and great value for money. My grandson loves this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing books, 3 May 2011
By 
Steven R. McEvoy "MCWPP" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
I must admit I am addicted to these books, read three of them in 2 days and will more than likely reread the whole series again and again. Some books are like a bottle of Gatorade that you just chug back, some like a nice cup of tea that you sip, and some like a fine wine that you savour slowly. Right now I am drinking these books back because I need to know what happens next. But I know I will go back and drink them in slowly like a big mug of Irish Breakfast tea on my second reading. Black and DiTerlizzi have written a wonderful series that I can highly recommend. Their books are very enjoyable, and much like the Narnia books by C.S. Lewis, will be enjoyed by both the young and young at heart!

In this book the Grace children, Malory, and the twins Jared and Simon, visit their Great Aunt Lucinda and discover that even though she is committed she is not really crazy. In this book we also meet more creatures from the other world, and find out that many different beings want Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide, and they all seem malevolent to some extent. We also discover that something lost for more than 70 years might really be close at hand. And Thimbletack does not appear, but signs of his mischief abound. In this book we meet a unicorn, fairies, and elves. It is another wonderful book in an awesome series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secrets galore, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
They may have dealt with the whole goblin disaster for the moment, but the problems are not over for the kids of the Spiderwick Chronicles. Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi's "Lucinda's Secret" provides a little back history to this brief series, as well as expanding the world of the fairies AND introducing the elusive Great Aunt Lucinda. Also: spooky wood elves.

A fight breaks out among the siblings -- Mallory wants to destroy the Guide, Jared wants to keep it, and Simon is sort of in the middle. To find out more about the fairies and the Guide, the kids go to visit their Great-Aunt Lucinda Spiderwick, and she's more than happy to fill them in on some of the backstory of the fairies and the Guide.

But things go wrong the moment they go home. Thimbletack has stolen the Guide, and while searching for it the kids discover a map of the nearby areas -- which turn out to have dangerous, mesmerizing fairy creatures lurking there. To get what they want, they will have to find the elves who dwell in the forest... but the elves might be just as dangerous as all the other creatures.

The "Spiderwick Chronicles" seems to have an unseen checklist of supernatural creatures to go through -- and in "Lucinda's Secret" we've got phookas and forest elves that are elegant, eerie and very dangerous. What's more, Black and DiTerlizzi unveil some new surprises for their audiences, including a major villain that is presumably going to loom large in the rest of the series.

As usual, Black's prose is a delicate shadowed thing, draped lightly in leaves and filled with sparkling moments ("The fruit smelled of fresh grass and honey, and was enclosed in a papery skin, but underneath Jared could see the red flesh"). And DiTerlizzi's old-fasioned ink drawings have the right mixture of delicacy and otherworldliness to match Black's work.

The twins seem to be a bit more attuned to the fairy world in this book, and are figuring out the loopholes to slip through. Mallory is a bossy pain, though her care for the gryphon Byron and the unicorn is rather touching. The most fascinating character is undoubtedly Great Aunt Lucinda, an aged lady who has spent most of her life seeing (and sometimes being tormented by) faerie creatures, and can't even eat human food any longer.

"Lucinda's Secret" introduces some new supernatural creatures and new plot twists to the Spiderwick Chronicles -- it's a bit short on plot, but a nice middle volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The children meet Aunt Lucy, 26 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
By now you have figured out that the Spiderwick Chronicles are actually one story split over several books much as the Tolkien story is not a trilogy but a one story split over three books.

In the last book we see that the children made up a lame excuse for their foray into the magical world around them.

Now they wonder why the Field Guide is of interest to every one and go to Aunt Lucinda for answers. As you recall Aunt Lucinda is in the Nut house, oops, rest home for eccentrics. They get more than they planned on.

We follow them as they discover the mystery of the missing Arthur Spiderwick. The adventure has a sort of Alice feel.

Be he alive or be he dead
They think they know
Which way Arthur fled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spiderwick stories are phantastic, 29 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) (Hardcover)
better than the movie, the spiderwick books are a phantastic read for kids of all ages. i would say from 5 to 99. they throw you into a world of phantastic happenings with leaving you wanting to read more. the whole set is a good keep sake for children that i found they go back to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle)
Lucinda's Secret (Spiderwick Chronicle) by Holly Black (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2003)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews