Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1
The Spiderwick Chronicles is a great series of five fantasy adventures featuring three normal kids, Jared, Simon and Mallory Grace and their adventures with all sorts of different creatures including elves, goblins, trolls, brownies and ogres. I thought this was a brilliant book and have now read the whole series. I am looking forward to more books coming out soon!
Published on 25 May 2005 by penny5680

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seems like full price for a fraction of a book
Disappointingly, although well-written, what I'd thought was a novel turned out to be only part of a novel. I read this in around 10 minutes and asked for my money back or for download of the rest of the book. Ironically, the last sentence in this download was something along the lines of 'the adventure was only beginning'. Amazon deleted my copy and refunded me the...
Published 17 months ago by Nikki McKay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1, 25 May 2005
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
The Spiderwick Chronicles is a great series of five fantasy adventures featuring three normal kids, Jared, Simon and Mallory Grace and their adventures with all sorts of different creatures including elves, goblins, trolls, brownies and ogres. I thought this was a brilliant book and have now read the whole series. I am looking forward to more books coming out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st book, 17 Aug. 2003
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
This is the first book of the series. It is a really good book. I thought the book would be a bit like A Series of Unfortunate Events but it was completely different. It is about three childen who have just moved to a new house only to find it is filled with Fairies and other Mythical creatures. It is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Field Giude (Spiderwick Chronicles), 17 Jan. 2005
By 
Mrs C J Fishlock (Clacton on Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
My seven year old son read this book and enjoyed every single word of it. He was so excited about what happened next we had to buy the next book immediately. I was intriqued so I read it too, and I could see why he enjoyed it so much. Although it is fantasy the children seem real in the way that they talk to one another. The characters are great and the drawings really help to bring it alive. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book 1., 2 Nov. 2006
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
I am 8 years old I really liked this book and I thought it was fantastic because there were goblins and

faeries .

I am very sad that I have finished it and mummy hasn't got the next book yet.

Lorenzo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutelly very good, 12 July 2005
By 
Elena (Russia, Moscow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
it's strange becouse i thought that all great children authors had lived somewhen in long past. But i was wrong and i have realised it when i bought this book. it's 5 little stories about children and a fairy world, very well written , the author is able to speak with children on their own language. the story is symple but not ordinary, interesting and u never know the ending.
i absolutelly recommemd this book, it reminds chronicle of narnia or alice in wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - Like a book from a Bygone Era, 19 July 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
The Spiderwick Chronicles are the most charming little books imaginable. There is something almost Victorian about the quality of their presentation. Beautifully designed covers, outstanding illustrations and a watercolour frontispiece piece all help conjure an aura of days gone by, when faeries were the standard reading matter for the young.
The writing has a clarity that will suit young readers whilst not being overly simple for slightly older readers. The vocabulary is good, but not off-putting for those still feeling their way through books alone. Pages are small - less than half the amount of words per page found in a standard children's book, enabling younger readers to really feel that they're progressing.
Each book is divided into 7 chapters - making it ideal for a week of bedtime stories. Furthermore, what really makes these little books special is the stunning quality of the line illustrations. The artist dedicates his work to Arthur Rackham - and it is clear that Rackham has been his inspiration. There is hardly a double-page-spread without some little picture and there are plenty of highly detailed full page illustrations too - yet again making it perfect for bedtime reading.
Although the style of the books is intentionally retro, the story is anything but. The plot of the first book: 'The Field Guide' revolves around the three Grace children; nine-year-old twins Jared and Simon, and their older sister Mallory. They move into their Great Aunt Lucinda's derelict house - and soon discover that it is not quite as empty as they thought. While trying to trace the source of the mysterious noises within the walls, Jared discovers a strange hidden room in which he finds an old hand-written book belonging to his long-lost Uncle, Arthur Spiderwick, which contains the terrible truth about the faerie world. Once he opens it, his life will never be the same again.
This book is the first in a series of five. Although the stories revolve around the magical inhabitants of the faerie world - don't assume that these books are just for girls. Jared, the main character, is very much a boy - into fighting, getting expelled from school and generally being difficult! Even the faeries are not the twee Enid Blyton variety - neither are they the like the feisty gun-toting elves of the Artemis Fowl books. No, they seem much more realistic: Strange, magical, slightly dangerous and determined to stop at nothing to protect their world and reclaim Arthur Spiderwick's powerful book. Subsequent stories include a whole menagerie of mystical beasts, including: goblins, griffins, unicorns, boggarts, ogres, dwarves and elves. The Spiderwick story continues with: Book 2 - 'The Seeing Stone'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seems like full price for a fraction of a book, 10 Jan. 2014
Disappointingly, although well-written, what I'd thought was a novel turned out to be only part of a novel. I read this in around 10 minutes and asked for my money back or for download of the rest of the book. Ironically, the last sentence in this download was something along the lines of 'the adventure was only beginning'. Amazon deleted my copy and refunded me the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really spooky, 10 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
The book is the first of five books that constitute one story that is divided up in to bite size books that again are divided up in to bite size chapters. Be sure to read all the periphery notes and charts left in the book. And if you are reading out loud to someone you may want to show them the pictures.

The author really knows how to write creepy stories. It makes you want to sleep with one eye open. There is nothing cutesy yet on the other hand there is not violence for violence sake. The story just squeezes into the realm of possibilities. However it takes an evil mind to write these chronicles. One good advantage is that they are short and to the point enough to holds your attention and then be over before you realized what happened.

Three children (Mallory, Jared and their younger brother, Simon) and their mother move in to a new home (O.K. shack... O.K. more like several shacks staked on top of each other.) There they find strange noises in the walls. Perusing the source of the noises and with the use of a dumbwaiter they locate a secret library and you guessed it a riddle that may lead to "The Field Guide." There is an out write warning that if they find it to get rid of it. However the story is fascinating. All of this comes at a price. I do not want to elaborate but if you have long hair or a suspicious mother then I suggest you read with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit of a Slow Start, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
The Grace Family has been going through some hard times. The parents have divorced. Jared has taken it harder than his siblings and started getting into trouble. It's why a fresh start is what he needs, even if he doesn't want it.

They have moved to the estate of a distant relative. No one has lived in it for a long time, and it is in disrepair. That might explain the strange sounds that Jared, his twin Simon, and their older sister Mallory hear in the walls the first night, right? Exploring a little more, the trio discover an old manuscript. Does it hold the key to all the strange things happening?

Having really enjoyed the movie last year, I finally started reading the books. At just over 100 small pages, this book reads very fast. I finished it in about an hour. Of course, I am a tad older than the target audience.

Even so, I felt the book was mostly set up. Yes, there is a story and resolution here, but it is almost all background that I have a feeling will be expanded on in the next four books. It probably doesn't help that I know where the story is going thanks to the movie.

This is an enjoyable fantasy that will capture kids' imaginations. The price does seem a little high for what you get, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amy Chimes superb book review, 6 May 2008
By 
L. Thayer "MRS THAYER'S CLASS" (Letchworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) (Hardcover)
The Spiderwick Chronicles the Field Guide is the best book in the world!
The main characters were Jared Grace, Simon Grace and Mallory Grace.
It's about a man who writes a book about Fairaes and unknown things. But
Will there be a twist? Mmm..... very tempting to read!!!
My favourite part was when Mulgarath turned into a bird but hogsqueal
Ate him! The author made the book funny and scary at the sane time!
I liked the words the author used such as: crammed, luminous, squabble,
Perched and loomed. I liked the troll because he scared Mallory and Jared
In the tunnel!
Read the Spiderwick Chronicles to find out more!
It's jam packed with fun and adventure great for any children over the age of six years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1)
The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1) by Holly Black (Hardcover - 4 Aug. 2003)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews