Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original, audacious, brilliantly clever murder mystery.
Unnatural Fire by Fidelis Morgan
Fan me ye winds! If you're lusting after a great story told by a master (mistress?), buy this book. Anastasia Ashby dela Zouche, Baroness Penge, Countess of Clapham is a new star in the murder mystery firmament. Down on her luck, to all intents and purposes past her prime, the Countess is forced to show her mettle and proves to be...
Published on 16 Nov. 2000 by jill.benedict@virgin.net

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book.
It felt very average, not a novel plot and not interesting writing. I won't other to keep it and won't recommend it to anyone.
Published 1 month ago by celine6


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original, audacious, brilliantly clever murder mystery., 16 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Unnatural Fire (Paperback)
Unnatural Fire by Fidelis Morgan
Fan me ye winds! If you're lusting after a great story told by a master (mistress?), buy this book. Anastasia Ashby dela Zouche, Baroness Penge, Countess of Clapham is a new star in the murder mystery firmament. Down on her luck, to all intents and purposes past her prime, the Countess is forced to show her mettle and proves to be shrewd, resourceful and not above a little wheeling and dealing but always with a strong sense of honour and noblesse oblige. Perfect. The most exciting and original detective since Falco, I loved the Countess and her wily side-kick, Alpiew. In our genre-obsessed culture Unnatural Fire will no doubt be straitjacketed as an historical thriller but it's much more than that - not only a brilliant(often gory)murder mystery, a subtle reflection on the nature of love, loyalty and friendship, a cracking, beautifully written yarn which effortlessly brings to life the seething social and intellectual backdrop of Restoration London (Morgan ingeniously uses the different stages of the alchemical process to structure her book) but it's also VERY FUNNY. I hated coming to the end of Unnatural Fire - always a good sign and I'm praying that there'll be a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witty, clever and enthralling, 15 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Unnatural Fire (Paperback)
Unnatural Fire is the best historical crime story that I have read in a very long time. Packed full of the sights and scents of London and full of fascinating snippets of historical information, the story crackles with life. The characters are funny and well drawn and the plot twists are cunning. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adored this book!, 29 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderfully funny, original book. I thought it was a delight from cover to cover. One reviewer said she found it a 'slog' - I can only imagine she was reading something completely different to the rest of us. I understand there is a series and I will be ordering the rest immediately. Thank you Ms Morgan, for such brilliant entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner!!, 10 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Unnatural Fire (Paperback)
Unnatural Fire is a brilliant crime thriller set in London in the 1699. All the characters are beautifully drawn, but Lady Anastasia and her servant Alpiew will become classic detectives as Fidelis Morgan, hopefully, writes a whole string of these novels. My knowledge of London of the time is very sketchy, but on each page one learns so many fascinating facts, without them feeling spoonfed or that one is being given a history lesson. The plot twist and turns just as the alleyways of London down which the reader is led. Looking forward to the next in the series. A real page turner!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - jobs for the girls!, 14 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Unnatural Fire (Paperback)
Thanks to Fidelis Morgan, the UK's leading expert on Restoration women dramatists, a considerable body of work by seventeenth century women writers has been rescued from obscurity. It is no surprise that she has chosen to set her new novel 'Unnatural Fire' in those turbulent times and to enrich it with her considerable knowledge of seventeenth century social history and manners to produce what is a highly original and more importantly, very funny book. No jobs for the boys here! Her detective duo are a decrepit former mistress of Charles II and her superannuated maidservant. She has very cleverly structured the story around the alchemical process which although it will delight the initiate will not baffle the average reader. It is full of the sounds, sights and smells of another age and Ms Morgan writes with her tongue very firmly in her cheek making many allusions to present-day mores and manners. The characters are larger than life and the mystery is sustained right to the end. Full marks to Ms Morgan for daring to invent characters who are 'ladies of a certain age' at least there are no soppy romantic heroines to get in the way of the plot! One can imagine a very canny producer buying up the rights to what could easily become a comedy classic. What a change to hear the chief sleuth addressed as 'Madam' instead of 'Guv'nor'! I shall certainly look forward to the sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Paul O'Grady!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Discovered Ashby thanks to having read Paul O'Grady's autobiography, in which he mentions how good the Fidelis Morgan books are. I love the mixture of murder mystery and comedy, which mixed with well researched historical facts and brilliant characters make these novels a real delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book., 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It felt very average, not a novel plot and not interesting writing. I won't other to keep it and won't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay read, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting enough not to give up on. It has most of the ingredients one would expect in a good story, humour, thrills etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Countess Fan, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again, this author does not disappoint. I laugh and cringed and would read anything she writes again. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So pleased this was chosen at our book club. It was a cracking good 'romp' and the descriptions were superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unnatural Fire (Us)
Unnatural Fire (Us) by Fidelis Morgan (Hardcover - Mar. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews