Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best recording yet - ignore the cover
What a pity this recording comes with such a wishy-washy illustration, guaranteed to put children off. It is pure joy, not least because it will keep any child of 8+ completely quiet for 3 hours. Nesbitt's classic tale is being filmed, and perhaps this will encourage more children ot try her wonderful stories, told in the voice of the kindest mother imaginable.
Five...
Published on 4 May 2004 by A. Craig

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the rest of it?
This Audio CD of the classic children's tale written by E. Nesbit is a bit of a disappointment. It's well produced, the narration by Lynda Bellingham is good but I can't help but think you'll feel a bit ripped off.

It comes to you on a single CD with a running of around 1 hour long and just too much has been taken out. In fact, it's been butchered. I suppose an...
Published on 30 Oct 2012 by The Truth


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best recording yet - ignore the cover, 4 May 2004
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
What a pity this recording comes with such a wishy-washy illustration, guaranteed to put children off. It is pure joy, not least because it will keep any child of 8+ completely quiet for 3 hours. Nesbitt's classic tale is being filmed, and perhaps this will encourage more children ot try her wonderful stories, told in the voice of the kindest mother imaginable.
Five children- one of the a baby, known as the Lamb (whose delightful and frightful characteristics are honestly portrayed) leave London for their first holiday in two years at the white house in the country. It isn't long before they discover a "Psammead" in the gravel-pits, a sand-fairy who has not surfaced since dinosaur days (Nesbitt's paleontology a bit shaky here) when children used to ask it for a nice Megatherium for breakfast. Our own children of course ask for all the obvious things - beauty, riches, wings, adventures. They all go hilariously wrong, and if the long-suffering maid Ellen gets a husband out of it, it's only by accident.
There are no tedious moral messages, except perhaps that it isn't wise to try and tell adults the truth, and that you should always have your dinner before you have an adventure, but the freshness of this enchanting book is undimmed. The reading is first-rate, and interspersed with perfectly chosen music from Naxos's archives. Much, much better than the BBC recording. I also recommend the Cover to Cover audiop version of The Phoenix & the Carpet. Let's hope the third book in the trilogy, The Sotry of the Amulet, isn't long in appearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - both my children love this CD version, 10 May 2005
My six year old daughter says "It is the most best CD ever!" My 8 year old son says "It's better than watching the film, my heart broke at the end! I'm going to listen to it over and over again"
Need I say more, the children love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent version of childrens' classic, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is an excellent version of the book. Samantha Bond is an excellent reader and this is an unabridged version of the book so all the better. We listened to this on a long motorway journey and it went down extremely well with both children & adults. Check for cheap price copies which are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the rest of it?, 30 Oct 2012
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Five Children and it (Audio CD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Audio CD of the classic children's tale written by E. Nesbit is a bit of a disappointment. It's well produced, the narration by Lynda Bellingham is good but I can't help but think you'll feel a bit ripped off.

It comes to you on a single CD with a running of around 1 hour long and just too much has been taken out. In fact, it's been butchered. I suppose an abridged version has it's place, but I think most parents and children will want to hear the full tale of the five children who stumbled across the sand fairy that grants wishes. Sadly, you won't find that here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best childrens trilogy of all time, 8 Oct 2001
By A Customer
I am now 40 years old and I remember these stories like they were yesterday, they have stayed with me all my life as some of the fondest memories of my childhood, complete escapism. A three part story about five kids who dig up a sand fairy called a Psamyiad who grants them wishes, whisking them off on all kinds of adventures in time, to exotic places like ancient Egypt meeting strange and historic people and mythical creatures like the Pheonix. All children should read these books, some adults would even benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 12 Oct 2012
By 
M. HENNING (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't remember how many times my kids have listened to this.. just great! It is a good listen for young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first child friendly book of the 20th century, 7 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Five Children and It (Paperback)
E. Nesbit may have written this 100 years ago but her writing has retained it's freshness and humour because she saw children as people, not as empty vessels waiting to be filled with life deadening facts. Not so usual in 1901.
Social realism and humour abound in her books and like her laws of magic, there are no set rules to how she wrote her books. She established new territory that all subsequent good writers for children have had the freedom to explore.
National Curriculum Literacy strategists take note. Nesbit did not learn to write by investigating non-fictional texts. She had a vivid and exciting childhood, free of of academic constraints.
Read this book and all the Nesbits. Her books of full of the true magic of childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read!!!!!, 31 July 1999
By A Customer
This is a wonderful book! I strongly recomend it for teachers and students! This is a book for all ages. This book is humorous but keeps a good plot. Just try this book, I guarentee you'll be hooked from the first page. The Sand Fairy has a way of making the wishes, not as you expected. A wonderful read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the puffin audio - pity..., 5 Mar 2008
By 
Yes, a great story, but to manage your expectations, this is not a patch on the Puffin tapes of the book read by Samantha Bond. This abridgement lacks colour compared with the Puffin one - you jump to the Psammead after about 3 minutes, and a lot of the Edwardian charm has been dropped. Anna Bentinck is just not as good either. But as this is the only audio available, I suppose you'll have to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps scary for under 8-9 year old children, 8 May 2013
By 
Jinnica (West Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is very well dramatised, maybe my 7 and 5 year old are too young for the story, they said it is scary. I'll just keep it on the side for a couple of years, still great to have dramatised books, so much better than just read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Five Children and It (Books of Wonder)
Five Children and It (Books of Wonder) by E. Nesbit (Hardcover - Sep 1999)
Used & New from: £1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews