Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Beware. This book may be fatal to your blind faith"
I'm quoting one of the reviews on the back of this book and it is a warning to some of the sort of Beatles fans who frequent fan clubs and Web forums. I know this from bitter previous experience of trying to start a debate on this and getting utterly cold-shouldered because the book trashed the reputation of 'our John'. I would tend to agree with the other reviewers in...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Antony

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth can hit you hard if you believe anythng easily.
Well what can I say I`ve been looking for this book for years, when I found it for a couple of pounds in a secondhand bookshop.
It`s been christened the most shocking Lennon biography ever,Mr Goldman had a bad history also with an Elvis insight which resulted in Cynthia Lennon having nothing to with him or the book which says a lot. The author says he...
Published on 20 July 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Beware. This book may be fatal to your blind faith", 6 Jun 2005
By 
Antony (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
I'm quoting one of the reviews on the back of this book and it is a warning to some of the sort of Beatles fans who frequent fan clubs and Web forums. I know this from bitter previous experience of trying to start a debate on this and getting utterly cold-shouldered because the book trashed the reputation of 'our John'. I would tend to agree with the other reviewers in this section. It is a highly interesting and provocative read and is certainly in line with many other books that have subsequently been published. Of course, it is impossible for someone born in 1975 to have an inkling of whether any of this is true, i was 5 when he died,you can only go on gut feelings and other things you've read or heard.
So let me deal with a few points.
'Our John' trashed his own reputation repeatedly in interviews as he admitted to hitting women and massive LSD use. Ray Coleman's book, good as it was, didn't go into hardly any detail about drugs and seemed to suggest Lennon gave up everything by the mid 70's. So could he suggest why John looked so painfully thin at the end of his life? and why his nostrils were caving in more and more ( a very large clue to cocaine use). I think Goldman does overdo it though as he does on other points. He says Lennon was so weak from drug use by 1978 he could barely hold a guitar and he also suggests the Beatles were taking cocaine/heroin cocktails during Sgt Pepper. He also suggests Lennon was in a trance during Pepper and would snap out of it with an outburst. Where did these ideas come from? And how was Pepper so good and cohesive under these circumstances?
As far as sex goes, Pete Shotton's affectionate book revealed a lot about the Spanish holiday but again Goldman went over the top. On the Bob WOoler episode, Goldman suggests he nearly killed him but i actually asked Wooler himself at the Liverpool convention one year and he told me the incident was overblown. Goldman actually doesn't mention the idea that John and Stu Sutcliffe may have been intimate, which is mentioned in Pauline Sutcliffe's book, but he suggests that John and Epstein were intimate for years. I wonder why Peter Brown didn't mention this in his 'sensational' book, published in 1982?
There are numerous points, i fully suggest reading this book with an open mind and making your own mind up.
Musically of course, we have all the Beatles songs and outtakes to listen to so we can judge the music and on this i believe Goldman is harsh. He criticizes Lennon's guitar playing and uses the Toronto concert in 1969 to judge his performing. Well as a guitarist of 15 years, i can tell you John was a good rhythm guitarist. He wasn't a viruoso guitarist as wasn't George Harrison but he used the guitar effectively to back someone up while he sang. If you see the video of the Toronto concert, Lennon and Clapton both look sick and in the grip of drug addiction (as well as the band having minimal rehearsal)so it's hardly fair to criticize his singing and say his singing had lost its power. why not judge on the 1972 Madison Square Garden concert, he seemed to have got his powerful voice back then. He also slags off 'Imagine' but can so many millions of people who adore that song be wrong?
I could write about numerous other things but if you compare this book and Ray COleman's, i think the truth is in the middle but more to Goldman's side.
Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JOHN LENNON THE VICTIM, 20 July 2006
By 
ALP (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am a Lennon fan. So much so, that at the time of this books publication, I refused to read it on the grounds that Albert Goldman trashed the great man's reputation. 26 years after his murder and as a middle-aged man myself, still trying to make sense of Lennon's life and what he meant to me, and that of generations of fans, I realised that I had to read this and other such works to obtain a truly rounded picture of the great Beatle. What you have to put into context is that this book is the summation of over 1000 contributions.

Everyone has his or her own unique take on an event. How many times have you shared an experience, even with close friends and yet you find that each of you has a different recollection of the event?

The fact that Cynthia Lennon refused to be interviewed for this book only means that she had vested interest in publishing her own work. Had she collaborated with this book, it would surely have diluted her own sales.

Goldman makes some quite stunning revelations; He claims that Lennon was uncontrollably violent, rages that climaxed in near murder, and yet one such victim speaks of gross exaggeration; that Lennon was so uncoordinated that he could barely drive nor play the guitar well, a claim I put down more to the drink and drug abuse, rather than a physical affliction. Goldman also makes some blatant mistakes notably referring to The Magical Mystery tour movie as Sgt Pepper's lonely-hearts club band, to name but one.

Goldman doesn't really discuss the music in great depth, nor does he appear to try to understand Lennon.

By reading this and other works, you are able to get a better perspective, which enables you to make your own conclusion. Mine was very different to how I started out, the man that I thought of as a likeable, self assured and loving individual as portrayed by the Dakota PR machine, turned out reclusive, self loathing, drug imbibing, often cruel and indifferent of the feelings of those that loved him most.

Like most people rocketed to fame, Lennon found few people he could really trust, behaved childishly and sometimes an outrageous drunken thug. He could be completely out of touch with reality (the gaff in the "Imagine" video where John sings of "No possessions" whilst being surrounded by opulent wealth is one such example) and he wasn't really the "working class hero" that he set himself up to be. But that aside, John was immensely talented, intelligent and above all he entertained, and I for one loved the music. Yoko Ono completely exploited and used that talent to her own ends, even using his death to bolster sales of her record and "Career". Yoko comes off the worse in all this and rightfully so. You can't help thinking that if only John had stayed with May Pang, maybe he would still be alive and making music. Maybe the ex-Beatles may have been reconciled...imagine...

Upon finishing this book, I truly felt that John Lennon was very much the victim.

Goldman doesn't make enough of Lennon's talent, and it's not a feel-good book,

If you want that, read Ray Coleman's offering, but in doing so, you'll only get one side of the coin. The true value of this book was to re-acquaint me with the genius that was John Lennon, the greatest Rock star ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Albert Goldman - The appeal hearing, 1 Aug 2002
By 
Andrew James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It is with some irony that this biography of John Lennon, when it was published in 1988, created such unease, it led to death threats to the author and its ritual burning at Beatles conventions. The book's subject, had he still been living may have sympathised. He provoked similar displays of hatred from Christian groups after he commented to an American journalist in 1966, that the Beatles were now more popular than Jesus Christ.
Such was the hatred for Goldman following its publication that he was virtually excommunicated from the music and publishing world. The case for the prosecution having now been drawn up in detail, the defence (backed by the rock establishment's heavyweights) went into action; McCartney called it a piece of trash (although it s unlikely that he read it). Elliot Mintz (Yoko Ono s Spin Doctor), then produced a rebuttal using evidence (at first convincing) that two of the sources were unreliable as they axes to grind, having fallen out of favour with John and Yoko.
Fourteen years on, maybe it is time for a reappraisal of this Satanic Verses of rock biography. Criticisms of the book have been well documented and are not without substance. It is often factually incorrect, the authoratorial tone appears excessively one-sided in his portrayal of both John and Yoko. Sometimes it is not clear if it is supposed to be read as a black comedy (although if it is, it succeeds; some of the passages are hilarious)and it is hard to imagine two living people that are alternatively, so twisted and so Maciavellian as the John and Yoko that are portrayed here.
However, there are many reasons why this book should be read. Unlike, say Ray Coleman s semi-official biography of Lennon, Goldman did not just take what John and Yoko said in public at face value. Nor did he rely on the co-operation and support of those who had a vested in keeping the Lennon image in the saintly realms (partly because he was denied access by those people). Instead, he drew on 1,200 interviews of various friends, helpers, musicians and aids who had known Lennon at certain stages of his life. Most of what is said in the book is attributed to one of these sources.
The book deals with huge chunks of Lennon s life that have otherwise been left uninvestigated (or conveniently ignored, as they deal with the less than godlike side of Lennon and Ono ) by biographers; the attempts to retrieve Kyoko, his meetings with Jerry Rubin, the lost weekend and Yoko s growing infatuation with numerology and acquisition of wealth.
On the music, Goldman is keen to give Lennon his praise where he feels it is due. For example, of Working Class Hero he writes, "What makes the song so radical is not its politics but rather the singer's determination to smash through politics in order to come to grips with the unchanging human condition".

Elsewhere he is sometimes rather too intent on dissecting in order to make a point. Nevertheless he is also often poignantly accurate as is comments on the Imagine film sequence show;
"..there is one momentary gaffe when John, seated in his lavish mansion, sings the joy of owning nothing, but as the room grows brighter and brighter, the effect of emergence from the gloom of the present into the light of a utopian future is gracefully conveyed".
By far the most exploratory (and entertaining) work on Lennon, The Lives Of John Lennon is a devils advocate of a book. John was not around to defend himself over its allegations and neither is Goldman here to answer any more of his hate-mail. Before his death he replied to a damning review in the New York Times and its assertion that he had deliberately set out to give Lennon a literary second assignation.
He fiercely condemned this, stressing that when he started he was a Lennon fan but when he started delving, he became appalled by what he was finding.
After Goldman filed his prosecution papers he was soon to be the one to stand on trial in the defence box. Now it is time for the case to be reopened. Let the debate continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Albert Goldman - The appeal hearing, 1 Aug 2002
By 
Andrew James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It is with some irony that this biography of John Lennon, when it was published in 1988, created such unease, it led to death threats to the author and its ritual burning at Beatles conventions. The book's subject, had he still been living may have sympathised. He had provoked similar displays of hatred from Christian groups after his comments to an American journalist in 1966, that the Beatles were now more popular than Jesus Christ.
Such was the hatred for Goldman following its publication that he was virtually excommunicated from the music and publishing world...
Fourteen years on, maybe it is time for a reappraisal of this Satanic Verses of rock biography. Criticisms of the book have been well documented and are not without substance. It is often factually incorrect, the authoratorial tone appears excessively one-sided in his portrayal of both John and Yoko. Sometimes it is not clear if it is supposed to be read as a black comedy (although if it is, it succeeds; some of the passages are hilarious) and it is hard to imagine two living people that are alternatively, so twisted and so Maciavellian as the John and Yoko that are portrayed here.
However, there are many reasons why this book should be read. Unlike, say Ray Coleman s semi-official biography of Lennon, Goldman did not just take what John and Yoko said in public at face value. Nor did he rely on the co-operation and support of those who had a vested in keeping the Lennon image in the saintly realms (partly because he was denied access by those people). Instead, he drew on 1,200 interviews of various friends, helpers, musicians and aids who had known Lennon at certain stages of his life. Most of what is said in the book is attributed to one of these sources.
The book deals with huge chunks of Lennon s life that have otherwise been left uninvestigated (or conveniently ignored, as they deal with the less than godlike side of Lennon and Ono ) by biographers; the attempts to retrieve Kyoko, his meetings with Jerry Rubin, the lost weekend and Yoko s growing infatuation with numerology and acquisition of wealth.
On the music, Goldman is keen to give Lennon his praise where he feels it is due. For example, of Working Class Hero he writes, "What makes the song so radical is not its politics but rather the singer's determination to smash through politics in order to come to grips with the unchanging human condition".

Elsewhere he is sometimes rather too intent on dissecting in order to make a point. Nevertheless he is also often poignantly accurate. Goldman wrote of the pre-video film sequence to Imagine;
"..there is one momentary gaffe when John, seated in his lavish mansion, sings the joy of owning nothing, but as the room grows brighter and brighter, the effect of emergence from the gloom of the present into the light of a utopian future is gracefully conveyed".
By far the most exploratory (and entertaining) work on Lennon, The Lives Of John Lennon is a devils advocate of a book. John was not around to defend himself over its allegations and neither is Goldman here to answer any more of his hate-mail. Before his death he replied to a damning review in the New York Times and its assertion that he had deliberately set out to give Lennon a literary second assignation.
He fiercely condemned this, stressing that when he started he was a Lennon fan but when he started delving, he became appalled by what he was finding.
After Goldman filed his prosecution papers he was soon to be the one to stand on trial in the defence box. Now it is time for the case to be reopened. Let the debate continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The truth can hit you hard if you believe anythng easily., 20 July 1999
By A Customer
Well what can I say I`ve been looking for this book for years, when I found it for a couple of pounds in a secondhand bookshop.
It`s been christened the most shocking Lennon biography ever,Mr Goldman had a bad history also with an Elvis insight which resulted in Cynthia Lennon having nothing to with him or the book which says a lot. The author says he interviewed over 1,000 people involved with Lennon, none of which were his two wives,his sons, his Auntie, any of the Beatles or his close friends.
One of the two people he did interview was a close friend of Yoko`s who had had a bad falling out with her after John died.
It`s a very difficult book to make our mind up about,I am a very big fan of Lennon and this book has crushed a couple of childhood memories,some of the things match to what I`ve read in other books on Lennon,(ie) he stayed in his room all day watching TV, John and Yoko`s relationship was practically at a dead end.
He also states in the book that Yoko had a $5,000 a week drug habit,Lennon kicked Yoko in the stomach when she was pregnant, he could not stand his 5 year old son sitting on his lap in case the child planted a smacker of a kiss on him.
All in all Goldman portrays John Lennon as an Uncontrolable,aggresive,junkie/alchoholic,womanizing,wife beater. I don`t think Goldman even met Lennon???
This book is very a interesting read and leaves you to make your own mind up.Paul MCcartney classes it as trash.
A must read for every big fan or a critic just to see what all the fuss is about. But don`t buy it, just rent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, but this is essential reading for the Lennon/Beatles completist, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Lives of John Lennon (Hardcover)
Albert Goldman has long been reviled, and there may be some shaky things in this (depending on who Goldman was speaking to at the time), but it's stood the test of time because of Goldman's exhaustive research and intelligent if gossipy treatment. I don't think it's as mean spirited as lots of critics would have you believe.

I've long been a fan of Lennon, and I still am despite having read this twice. Lennon himself said "We're all Christ and we're all Hitler." Goldman shows him to be true to his word (if you know what I mean). But even with that, this is more of a hatchet job on Yoko than John Lennon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a skewed portrayal, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, I am a huge John Lennon fan and had avoided this book for years due to its vile reputation among Beatles and Lennon fans. I finally succumbed and sort of wish I hadn't. To be honest, this is a well written and entertaining book. However, to John's fans it's extremely hard to read. Some 'facts' I cannot see how they were verified as they seem like pure speculation. In this way it seems almost like reading a fiction novel. Something else to bear in mind is that only the negative seems to be focused on and grossly exaggerated. Any good points about John's character (which surely exist as he was much loved by those close to him) are so my glossed over or not mentioned at all. If we are to believe Goldman's versions of events John was borderline psychotic from a young age and a monster by the end. Goldman seems to have been digging for dirt and found those with an axe to grind only to happy to oblige (and, dare I say it, willing to stretch the truth somewhat) I am NOT one of those fanatical fans who thinks John was some kind of saint. He clearly was a troubled man with a vile temper who did many questionable and down right bad things. But he was also intelligent, capable of enormous kindness and compassion and incredibly honest. I refuse to believe the ogre portrayed by Goldman is anything like the real John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a long search for one of my favourites, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Murray Walters (stockholm,sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i thought that this book had been forced out of print as a result of litigation. i am glad i was wrong,
it is a remarkable book.
no matter if you take the facts as gospel (always dangerous) ,or with a nip of salt, well advised, it is a fine example of a biographical nature, and not at all as demeaning as the less discerning folk who write for a living would have you believe:, my goodness how can one exist on white bread and black tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 19 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a lot of truth in this book but there is also a lot of exaggeration and unfounded allegations. Some of it seemed to be wild speculation from the author himself and other stuff from friends of friends. It's a good book if you are interested in Mr Lennon and keep an open mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good research, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of John Lennon (Hardcover)
fascinating to find out about the guys life - didnt know much about lennon and was fascinated by a well researched book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives of John Lennon
The Lives of John Lennon by Albert Goldman (Hardcover - Sep 1988)
Used & New from: £3.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews